We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Clean and value for money”
Review of ARCOTEL Onyx

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
ARCOTEL Onyx
Ranked #19 of 318 Hotels in Hamburg
Certificate of Excellence
Somerset West, South Africa
Level Contributor
30 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Clean and value for money”
Reviewed 10 September 2013 via mobile

Very good service and value for money and room was super clean. The hotel also got its own bar and gym. It is really centrally located and brand new and free wifi included!!! When in Hamburg I will surely stay here always.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ratego
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Svantje N, Leiter Front Office at ARCOTEL Onyx, responded to this review, 11 September 2013
Dear Hannes, It is always a pleasure to read that a guest enjoyed their stay in our hotel, ARCOTEL Onyx. Thank you for sharing your opinion with us. Your intent to make us your choice of hotels for your next trip to Hamburg is most appreciated. We look forward to being of service to you, and remain yours truly, SVANTJE NAGEL / Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

783 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    419
    289
    53
    13
    9
See reviews for
64
327
40
204
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
52 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 September 2013

A great Hotel with a very modern design and very nice facilities...the location is in the heart of the action but not at all anything to be slightly concerned about being at the theatre end of Reeperbahn. Heaps of food choices, the U-Bahn across the road. The only small niggle is the charge for breakfast 22 euro?? Needless to say I didn't try this part of the facilities, preferring to take my chances elsewhere. Overall service was great and the hotel has quite a nice little bar and cafe and you get a discount being a guest. Would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Llamarama63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Svantje N, Leiter Front Office at ARCOTEL Onyx, responded to this review, 11 September 2013
Dear Llamarama63, thank you very much for your feedback on tripadvisor which shows us, that we are on the right way. Such feedbacks are very important for improving our services and for keeping them at this standard. Your comment regarding the price of the breakfast buffet has been sent to the respective department. Please note that the price ensures you of the freshest and highest quality ingredients available. We hope to welcome you again at the ARCOTEL Onyx. Kind regards, SVANTJE NAGEL / Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brussels
1 review
Reviewed 10 September 2013

My husband and me went for the first time to Hamburg last week and we loved it!
This is a great city with a good vibe.If you are not interested in the red-light district scene, you can easily avoid it as the hotel is the first building in the street next to the St Pauli U-babn, one stop away from the city center.The hotel room was clean, comfortable, well insulated and had a great bench to overlook the Reeperbahn (sitting on the bench near the window felt like the famous 'Lost in Translation' scene).
We were charmed by the friendliness of the Hamburg people, but unfortunately we did not feel the same friendly professionalism with the front desk staff as we experienced outside of the hotel talking to waiters, gallery owners, shop assistants, taxi drivers,...etc.

Room Tip: The higher the better
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mieke V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Svantje N, Leiter Front Office at ARCOTEL Onyx, responded to this review, 11 September 2013
Dear Mieke, Thank you very much for staying at the ARCOTEL Onyx Hamburg and for the feedback you wrote on tripadvisor. Especially due to comments from our guests we are able to continually improve our high level of quality and service. We regret that you were not completely satisfied with the service at the front desk. We promise that this is not our standard an that we will train our staff. We would like to wish you all the best and look forward to welcoming you again at ARCOTEL Onyx in the near future. Many greetings from Hamburg, SVANTJE NAGEL / Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lima Region, Peru
Level Contributor
689 reviews
90 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 255 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 September 2013

best location in St Pauli, is my first time , and I will come back always now...the service from the front desk was great, the breakfast very good, the spa perfect after a long trip, the location incredible good, the room was very good, que train station just across the street. Congratulations for the good staff and service.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alex d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Svantje N, Leiter Front Office at ARCOTEL Onyx, responded to this review, 7 September 2013
Dear Alex D.,
thank you very much staying at the ARCOTEL Onyx and for taking the time to write such a wonderful feedback.
It is a great pleasure to read that you enjoyed your stay so much and were especially pleased with our staff and service.
We are looking forward to welcome you back soon and wish you all the best.

With kind regards,

JANA SCHMITT
Assistant Front Office Manager
ARCOTEL Onyx
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zurich, Switzerland
Level Contributor
19 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 September 2013

To the location: It's right on the most notorious street the Reeperbahn. But with closed windows it's quite and also just a couple of minutes to the U-Bahn-Station St.Pauli, which has connections to the "Landungsbrücke" and the Hauptbahnhof (Main Railway Station).
The rooms are excellent.Great design, with a water cooker and a free tea/coffee-bar, comfortable bed and included WIFI. They have even a wellness-area, which I didn't use, because there is too much to do in Hamburg.
Downside of this place is the expensive breakfast (20 Euros) and that at Check-out they
tried to charge me for something out of the minibar, which I have not used, but they didn't insist that I have to pay for it....

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Onyx007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Svantje N, Leiter Front Office at ARCOTEL Onyx, responded to this review, 5 September 2013
Dear Onyx007,

Thank you very much for staying at the ARCOTEL Onyx Hamburg and for taking the time to write this feedback.

Especially due to comments from our guests we are able to continually improve our high level of quality and service.

We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. We are committed to making you feel at home when you are away from home.

We would like to wish you all the best and look forward to welcoming you again at ARCOTEL Onyx in the near future.

Yours sincerely,
ARCOTEL Onyx Hamburg

SVANTJE NAGEL
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC
Level Contributor
111 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 118 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 August 2013

Where to begin. I rate this hotel a 4/5 because the hotel itself was lovely. The rooms were spacious and clean (with free apples!); they had parking underground, and the elevators had secure access. That being said, however, outside the hotel doors was a different world altogether. It was advertised as the "theater district" but it was definitely more of a "red light district." Prostitution is legal in Germany and very prevalent in Hamburg. On our way to find dinner we passed numerous "adult" shops, brothels, and "adult" clubs. At the same time, we saw numerous clean-cut looking family with kids walking all over the place, so apparently the atmosphere didn't make them feel unsafe. Come to think of it, the view outside of our window was of a children's playground; go figure. The hotel was fine for one night, but we did have to drive to the things we wanted to see the next day. It was just as well since we were on our way out of the city anyway. For one night, this was a good, decent priced hotel.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rinnegirl143
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Svantje N, Leiter Front Office at ARCOTEL Onyx, responded to this review, 30 August 2013
Dear Rinnegirl,

Thank you very much for staying at the ARCOTEL Onyx Hamburg and for taking the time to write this feedback.

Especially due to comments from our guests we are able to continually improve our high level of quality and service.

We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. We are committed to making you feel at home when you are away from home altough you did not really like the area around the hotel.

We would like to wish you all the best and look forward to welcoming you again at ARCOTEL Onyx in the near future.

Yours sincerely,
ARCOTEL Onyx Hamburg

SVANTJE NAGEL
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kilmarnock, Scotland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 August 2013

Great hotel,great location and friendly staff. Someone said not enough value,for 68 quid try getting this location and style in the uk, and see what you get! No proper restaurant but plenty of cracking eateries on the doorstep,try manwah's or the hanoi to start or 5 minute walk to the portugese district and all that has to offer!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Scott S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Svantje N, Leiter Front Office at ARCOTEL Onyx, responded to this review, 30 August 2013
Dear Scott,

Thank you very much for staying at the ARCOTEL Onyx Hamburg and for taking the time to write this feedback.

Especially due to comments from our guests we are able to continually improve our high level of quality and service.

We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. We are committed to making you feel at home when you are away from home.

We would like to wish you all the best and look forward to welcoming you again at ARCOTEL Onyx in the near future.

Yours sincerely,
ARCOTEL Onyx Hamburg

SVANTJE NAGEL
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hamburg hotels
Neustadt
The Madison Hamburg
The Madison Hamburg
#3 of 318 in Hamburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 985 reviews
Empire Riverside Hotel
#24 of 318 in Hamburg
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,152 reviews
St. Pauli
Hotel Hafen Hamburg
Hotel Hafen Hamburg
#64 of 318 in Hamburg
4.0 of 5 bubbles 997 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
St. Pauli
east Design Hotel Hamburg
east Design Hotel Hamburg
#23 of 318 in Hamburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 754 reviews
25hours Hotel HafenCity
#8 of 318 in Hamburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,359 reviews
Eimsbüttel
NH Collection Hamburg City
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to ARCOTEL Onyx? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about ARCOTEL Onyx

Property: ARCOTEL Onyx
Address: Reeperbahn 1 A, 20359 Hamburg, Germany
Region: Germany > Hamburg > St. Pauli
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 318 Hotels in Hamburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4.5 star — ARCOTEL Onyx 4.5*
Number of rooms: 215
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The ARCOTEL Onyx Hamburg is located directly on the Reeperbahn, at Millerntor. With its semi-transparent elements, the hotel’s façade alludes to the popular and rare semiprecious stone which gave the hotel its name, and attracts a lot of attention in Hamburg’s trendy neighbourhood of St. Pauli. Located conveniently in the heart of the city, the hotel is the perfect starting point for trips to the harbour, the historical Speicherstadt warehouse district, and visits to musical and theatre shows. High-quality materials and functional design create an atmosphere of extravagance and exclusive flair in the hotel’s interior. 215 spacious rooms and suites provide the best of modern comfort for a new generation of guests demanding a new level of service. The entire hotel has WLAN internet access. Our BAR WIENER CAFE provides the perfect place to socialise in a sophisticated lounge atmosphere. Bar snacks, delicious home-made cakes and refreshing drinks leave no wish unanswered. Guests who want to relax and unwind have free access to the attractive spa and fitness area of the ARCOTEL Onyx. And our high-end seminar room is equipped with state-of-the art technology to create a professional meeting atmosphere. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Hotel.de, Booking.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, HRS, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your ARCOTEL Onyx reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing