We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cool design hotel”
Review of ARCOTEL Onyx

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
ARCOTEL Onyx
Ranked #21 of 321 Hotels in Hamburg
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 27 March 2014

Very cool design hotel right at the beginning of Hamburg's party and nightlife area Reeperbahn (not for the faint hearted). Exellent service and nicely decorated rooms with king size bed and a fantastic view over Hamburg. Fantastic place for couples going to Hamburg for shopping, eating, drinking and dancing - the area is great fun and the hotel super located to accommodate a day or two in Hmaburg.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Maymann
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Svantje N, Leiter Front Office at ARCOTEL Onyx, responded to this reviewResponded 29 March 2014

Dear Maymann,
thank you very much for staying at the ARCOTEL Onyx and for writing this feedback.
It is great to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and had a good time exploring the city of Hamburg and nightlife of St. Pauli.
We wish you all the best and would like to welcome you back soon.

Best regards,

JANA SCHMITT
Assistant Front Office Manager
ARCOTEL Onyx

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (856)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

167 - 173 of 856 reviews

Reviewed 24 March 2014

This hotel is very clean hotel,the rooms are big,the beds are nice too,
Its is situition in the heart of the city,plenty of pubs,dicsos and other shuff to see,
It more of a business hotel,not for family or lagre groups of party =heads,
but its was nice

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Patrick O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Svantje N, Leiter Front Office at ARCOTEL Onyx, responded to this reviewResponded 29 March 2014

Dear Patrick O,
thank you very much for stay at the ARCOTEL Onyx and for writing this feedback.
It is a pleasure to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and were pleased with our rooms and had a good time exploring the possibilities of St. Pauli.
We wish you all the best and would like to welcome you back soon.

Best regards from Hamburg St. Pauli,

JANA SCHMITT
Assistant Front Office Manager
ARCOTEL Onyx

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 March 2014

This is a fantastic hotel that I would definitely recommend to anyone visiting Hamburg. A really modern clean hotel in the perfect location – across the road from the U-Bahn station & at the top of Reeperbahn with all its bars, restaurants & neon! And whilst the area has a bit of a reputation it has to be visited – we found it to be quite safe & if you turn off the main street into the quieter residential streets there are lots of more local bars etc which seem a lot less touristy & rowdy. It’s also close to the St Pauli stadium if you’re going to a match. We managed to pick a couple of tickets just before a game – much cheaper than UK football, with a much better atmosphere too!

We stayed in a Superior room which had both a large bedroom (with seating area & massive bed) & bathroom with fantastic shower. We didn’t take breakfast as the cost was a little excessive when there are plenty of much cheaper cafes nearby. We did use the bar though – a nice spot to sit with a drink & people watch whilst watching the big screen TV.

We definitely hope to return to Hamburg & the Arcotel one day.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Brandenburg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Svantje N, Leiter Front Office at ARCOTEL Onyx, responded to this reviewResponded 22 March 2014

Dear Brandenburg,
thank you very much for staying at the ARCOTEL Onyx and for taking the time to write this wonderful feedback.
It is great to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and had a good time, due to our location, exploring the city of Hamburg and all the great things there are to see and to do.
We are committed to making you feel at home when you are away from home and your feedback shows us that we are doing it wright.
We wish you all the best and look forward to welcome you back soon.

Best regards from Hamburg St. Pauli,

JANA SCHMITT
Assistant Front Office Manager
ARCOTEL Onyx

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 March 2014

Only sttayed for a couple of nights but I was really impressed with the design and styling of this hotel. the reception was very smart with a chic array of furnishings. the room was sizable, with modern contemporary feel. the hotel has a night club literally underneath it. not that you would know because you cant hear it and its hidden under the front courtyard. the courtyard lifts up at night revealling secret steps. incredible

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hallmarked
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Svantje N, Leiter Front Office at ARCOTEL Onyx, responded to this reviewResponded 14 March 2014

Dear Hallmarked,
thank you very much for staying at the ARCOTEL Onyx and for taking the time to write us this feedback. It is great to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and that you liked our rooms and the design of the hotel.
We wish you all the best and would like to welcome you back soon.

Best regards from Hamburg St. Pauli,

JANA SCHMITT
Assistant Front Office Manager
ARCOTEL Onyx

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 February 2014

I cannot find any fault whatsoever having recently returned from a two night stay at the Arcotel Onyx, I can only praise and highly recommend the hotel for either a business or, as in my case, a leisure stay.

As I expected everything about the hotel was efficient, clean, tidy and above all quiet, also I must not forget the excellent (interesting!) location. Plenty to see and do in the immediate neighbourhood, easy access to the riverside for a good selection of cafes and bars. The Reeperbahn itself needs little introduction!

A great upper floor room was spotlessly clean, comfortable, quiet and afforded good views across the city. All staff were, as expected, polite, welcoming and if needed I am sure would be more than happy to deal with any (reasonable) request. I cannot single out any one member off staff or department as all were excellent.

When returning to Hamburg I will certainly look to stay here again and have no hesitation in recommending.

Room Tip: Obviously a higher floor room will give you good views across the city!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank System38
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Svantje N, Leiter Front Office at ARCOTEL Onyx, responded to this reviewResponded 23 February 2014

Dear System38,
tank you very much for taking the time to write this wonderful feedback. It is a pleasure to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and had a good time exploring the beautiful city of Hamburg, especially due to our good location. It is also great to hear that you were pleased with our rooms and service.
We wish you all the best and look forward to welcome you back soon at the ARCOTEL Onyx.

Best regards from Hamburg St. Pauli,

JANA SCHMITT
Assistant Front Ofifce Manager
ARCOTEL Onyx

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 February 2014

I booked this hotel last minute and was nicely surprised. It offered great value for money and boasted an excellent location. On arrival the decor theme is modern. The reception area and bar are really quite cool. My room did not disappoint either again modern in appearance and spotlessly clean. The staff were excellent, helpful and friendly.
The sauna area, steam room and gym are worth using the layout is great and again very modern and clean.
If you use the bar area at night you will be well looked after and the prices are reasonable.

Stayed: February 2014, travelled with friends
Thank mbr00ky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Svantje N, Leiter Front Office at ARCOTEL Onyx, responded to this reviewResponded 18 February 2014

Dear mbr00ky,

thank you very much for staying at the ARCOTEL Onyx and for taking the time to write this wonderful feedback.
It is great to hear that you enjoyed your stay and were especially pleased wih our service. We are committed to making you feel at home when you are away from home.
We wish you all the best and look forward to welcome you back soon.

Best regards,

JANA SCHMITT
Assistant Front Office Manager
ARCOTEL Onyx

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 February 2014

This is a very new hotel with an odd take on interior decor - nouveau gothic Lady Gaga chic, it's not clear what its pitch is. It's good value (50 odd quid), but: I asked for a double room but ended up in one with two very skinny single beds (and who wants to trot back down to reception to ask for a change late at night?). At check-in there was only one girl seemingly doing her best to spend ten minutes helping two blokea who clearly walked straight in off the Reeperbahn but who wasn't staying at the hotel. I think they were trying to fix their mobole phone. Another male member of staff stood idly by observing the proceedings and never once offered to assist a paying guest to check in. The room was new, very clean, but I wonder how well it will withstand the test of time? It was also cold; I turned the temperature up to 23C, then 25C then 27C, it all seemed to make no difference. In the morning, shower: you can tell you're staying downmarket when the shampoo comes out of an upside down bucket hanging on the wall. Worse. It was empty. The sink revealed another upside down bucket - of hand wash. Just how difficult can it be to stock a room with shampoo or shower gel? Check out: almost a repeat of check-in, just one girl this time seemingly expounding a thesis on the spread of venereal disease to another walk-in member of the public from the Reeperbahn, but this time not one but two male staff members stood staring into the ceiling and never once stepped up to help. Perhaps they didn't speak English? Or German for that fact. Or may have even have been deaf and dumb mutes. I don't think I'll be staying here again in a hurry. Or a slow boat to China.

Room Tip: Don't request a no-heating room. At least not in winter. Even better don't request anythin...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank simonske35
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Svantje N, Leiter Front Office at ARCOTEL Onyx, responded to this reviewResponded 12 February 2014

Dear Simonske,

thank you very much for staying at the ARCOTEL Onyx Hamburg and for taking the time to write us a note.

Especially due to comments from our guests we are able to continually improve our high level of quality and service.

We regret that you were not completely satisfied with your stay because of several things. We referred everything to the appropriate department.

Our purpose is to give our guests a home while they are far away from their home.

We would like to thank you again for staying with us and hope you will give us the opportunity to show you our high standards and quality at ARCOTEL Onyx in the future.

Kind regards

SVANTJE NAGEL
Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hamburg hotels
Empire Riverside Hotel
#24 of 321 in Hamburg
1,241 reviews
St. Pauli
east Design Hotel Hamburg
east Design Hotel Hamburg
#19 of 321 in Hamburg
800 reviews
St. Pauli
Hotel Hafen Hamburg
Hotel Hafen Hamburg
#71 of 321 in Hamburg
1,070 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Neustadt
The Madison Hamburg
The Madison Hamburg
#1 of 321 in Hamburg
1,053 reviews
Neustadt
Hanse Clipper Haus
Hanse Clipper Haus
#18 of 321 in Hamburg
473 reviews
25hours Hotel HafenCity
#6 of 321 in Hamburg
1,493 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to ARCOTEL Onyx? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about ARCOTEL Onyx

Address: Reeperbahn 1 A, 20359 Hamburg, Germany
Region: Germany > Hamburg > St. Pauli
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #21 of 321 Hotels in Hamburg
Price Range: £67 - £179 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — ARCOTEL Onyx 4.5*
Number of rooms: 215
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The ARCOTEL Onyx Hamburg is located directly on the Reeperbahn, at Millerntor. With its semi-transparent elements, the hotel’s façade alludes to the popular and rare semiprecious stone which gave the hotel its name, and attracts a lot of attention in Hamburg’s trendy neighbourhood of St. Pauli. Located conveniently in the heart of the city, the hotel is the perfect starting point for trips to the harbour, the historical Speicherstadt warehouse district, and visits to musical and theatre shows. High-quality materials and functional design create an atmosphere of extravagance and exclusive flair in the hotel’s interior. 215 spacious rooms and suites provide the best of modern comfort for a new generation of guests demanding a new level of service. The entire hotel has WLAN internet access. Our BAR WIENER CAFE provides the perfect place to socialise in a sophisticated lounge atmosphere. Bar snacks, delicious home-made cakes and refreshing drinks leave no wish unanswered. Guests who want to relax and unwind have free access to the attractive spa and fitness area of the ARCOTEL Onyx. And our high-end seminar room is equipped with state-of-the art technology to create a professional meeting atmosphere. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your ARCOTEL Onyx reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing