We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Hafen Hamburg
Ranked #62 of 318 Hotels in Hamburg
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Good location!”
Reviewed 6 April 2012

Stayed 2 nights here in a Lieutenants class room. It was good value for money even though the room was very small-we stayed in the modern tower block with a view of the harbour-and there was no air conditioning so we had to open the window for some air. However it was quite noisy when it was open as we were just above the railway line. I am sure there are quieter rooms in the hotel however. Saying that it could not be better location wise. Breakfast was not included in the price but there was free wi-fi so for my husband and I that is a huge plus!!! They also have a bar in the tower which has a happy cocktail hour and a wonderful view out across the harbour.

Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank catbesom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,010 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    261
    468
    183
    76
    22
See reviews for
87
370
64
340
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (63)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
karlhaddad
Level Contributor
62 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 March 2012

Very German... in a good way Id say! Good location for the night life, smack in the center of the red light district and just off the riverside and docks.

a great breakfast and loads of suits and ties; a business hotel surely!

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank karlhaddad78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West
Level Contributor
61 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 March 2012

Very well located near Landungsbrucken, right above the harbour. Nice dining rooms, impressive breakfast buffet. Pleasant staff. So everything is fine...except I had a "seaman class " room, without the view to the harbour -which is OK with the price; but...at less than 1m from my window, there was a noisy ventilation duct coming from the kitchen: noise and smell when I opened the window before going to bed. I think a room with such a terrible surrounding shouldn't be used. In summer, you will die there...

Room Tip: Avoid rooms near this duct...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bru44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Viersen, Germany
Level Contributor
57 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 January 2012

Everbody that has been at Landungsbrücken has seen this hotel..it is prominent on a hill right across the habour. From the breakfast room one has a splendid view over the docks and the habour. It is wonderfully decorated with maritime themes like ships anchor and other items.. It never appears artificial but always honest and true.. One is at the habour. The rooms are clean and functional. The service staff pazs attention and is willing to help. You have to go to hamburg and need hotel? This is a place to stay and the famous tower bar ist just a few meters away

  • Stayed January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ChristofG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Surrey
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 January 2012

The hotel was in a good location. Good things about it were the room was clean and a fair size, same could be said for the bathroom. The Tower cocktail bar was also very nice and had a clear view of the city, The reception staff were very nice though and even though they made a mistake with the price at checkout, they rectified this quickly and efficiently so we weren't overcharged.
Bad things about it- the bar staff in the downstairs pub were rude and there wasn't much choice of drink unless you drink beer as they don't seem to understand much English. If you are travelling in a group it is likely you could all be quite spread out amongst the complex as well. Another thing to mention was that on our second day the cleaners didn't come to the room until 5pm and they didn't make the bed but on the final day when check out was at 11am they tried to get in the room at 8am and from then on made about 5/6 attempts even though they knew we were leaving at 11. Also they only supply 1 very flat and soft pillow per person per room. The mini bar in each room is also very expensive.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Dink1984
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
England
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 November 2011

I really enjoyed my stay at this hotel. We had a short two night break in Hamburg and as we'd been to the city before we always fancied this hotel overlooking the port. It's got a lot of atmosphere inside the main building but does have new extensions with less character. There is a nice bar full of nautical nic-nacs next to the reception and also the Tower Bar which gives great views across the whole city. However be warned it's next to impossible to get into the Tower Bar at happy hour. I didn't eat inside the hotel so can't comment but I did see the menu which looked a little expensive but with so many eateries nearby it's hardly an issue. I read some people complaining about the steep steps which lead from the street below and that you have to use these when you stop at the Landungsbrucken U-Bahn stop. Admittedly they can become a chore but again it's not a problem because you can get off at the following U-Bahn stop which is St Pauli and walk through for about 3 minutes to reach the hotel if you absolutely must avoid the steps.
Our room was a twin which we found to be quite comfortable and with a pretty new looking bathroom and a view over the port. There was a wide-screen TV and well-stocked mini-bar. The maids clean the room and change the towels everyday and didn't bother us once if we told them to come back later. Also after reading the negative reviews of the staff at reception I wasn't sure what to find but they seemed friendly enough to me although the bald guy in the bar could do with a customer service course.
The hotel itself is situated overlooking the port and gives great views. Also a couple of minutes walk behind the hotel brings you to the notorious Reeeperbahn but I have to say it does make a great night-out! We didn't get hassled at all and had a good few drinks around some bars and a good night in the China Lounge nightclub. The main shopping area of Hamburg is a few U-Bahn stops away and we used the Rathaus stop to get off for here. There is a good choice of shops and restaurants in this area but it's pretty much dead at night.
All-in-all we enjoyed our stay at this hotel and love Hamburg as a city. If you stay at this hotel you can take the S-Bahn line straight from the hotel and get off at the Landungsbrucken station which takes about 20-25 minutes and costs around six euros. You will see the hotel as soon as you leave the station on the hill above.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank marcodimero
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Frankfurt, Germany
Level Contributor
30 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 November 2011

There's no doubt this is the place to stay for the view over the harbour, and if you are planning to get up for the Fishmarkt on Sunday morning. You need to know however that this is not a very cosy or friendly place to stay because it is on two or three sites in a complex, and you quickly get fed up with the slog up a steep flight of steps from the metro station. If you are put in the Tower part of the hotel, be prepared to compete with the public for the lift up to your room at happy hour (they are all going to the Cocktail bar on the 11th bar, and the noise from the lift continues until the early hours), plus there's the noise from the U-bahn below (but they supply ear-plugs so that's ok!). The breakfast is a ridiculous 18 euros, so don't pay it, and go to a local cafe where you can eat your full for less than 5.
This hotel felt like a train station. The staff were smiley, but honestly I wouldn't go back.

Room Tip: Don't accept a room in the Tower unless you are going to be out until very late every night - th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Trixi222
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hamburg hotels
Empire Riverside Hotel
#25 of 318 in Hamburg
1,167 reviews
St. Pauli
ARCOTEL Onyx
ARCOTEL Onyx
#20 of 318 in Hamburg
792 reviews
Neustadt
The Madison Hamburg
The Madison Hamburg
#3 of 318 in Hamburg
995 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
25hours Hotel HafenCity
#8 of 318 in Hamburg
1,383 reviews
Neustadt
Hanse Clipper Haus
Hanse Clipper Haus
#18 of 318 in Hamburg
385 reviews
St. Pauli
east Design Hotel Hamburg
east Design Hotel Hamburg
#22 of 318 in Hamburg
763 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Hafen Hamburg? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Hafen Hamburg

Property: Hotel Hafen Hamburg
Address: Seewartenstrasse 9, 20459 Hamburg, Germany
Phone Number:
Region: Germany > Hamburg > St. Pauli
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #62 of 318 Hotels in Hamburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Hafen Hamburg 4*
Number of rooms: 380
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Above St.-Pauli-Landungsbrücken and the historic Alter Elbtunnel, in the center of maritime Hamburg, is the Hotel Hafen Hamburg located and offers an exclusive view over the Port of Hamburg and the River Elbe. The 380 rooms of the Hotel Hafen Hamburg are divided into six categories and are all equipped with wireless internet, telephone, mini-fridge,safe and flat screen television. The hotel restaurant "Port" with its summer terrace serves regional maritime and international cuisine. Guests may choose between the pub "Willis Bierstube" and the bar "Tower Bar", the latter 60 meters high above the port with a wonderful view overlooking the River Elbe and the St.-Pauli-Landungsbrücken. Since March 2015 the Hafen Diner Burger & Bar upgrades the gastronomic facilities within the Hotel. For business and social events of all kinds there are six conference rooms, among them the "Elbkuppel". The Hotel Hafen Hamburg is located in St. Pauli with acces to Underground and S-Bahn train in only 2-minutes-walk. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotel.de, Priceline, Hotels.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Hafen Hamburg reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing