We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Basic accommodation and facilities, to me not Holiday Inn standard”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Holiday Inn Hamburg
Ranked #80 of 317 Hotels in Hamburg
Derbyshire, England
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Basic accommodation and facilities, to me not Holiday Inn standard”
Reviewed 19 April 2012

Stayed in a single room, very basic, small bathroom. Room overlooked main highway and very noisy. Difficult to sleep well, although bed comfortable and rooms equipped with everything you need, clean and tidy, well maintained. Free Wi-fi, nice pool, very small gym (4 pc of equipment). Restaurant food was poor for dinner but good for breakfast. Bar Windfang very good, reasonable price.

Not much in the area to walk to, one or two bars at end of the road, food seemed good in these and cheaper drinks, worth the walk.

Hotel is attached to a cheap Bridge Inn, which does impact the quality of the hotel overall, the hotel can be full of families and children running about because of this.

Stayed on business and the location was convenient, but I would not stay again due to noise and not sleeping - the only reason.

One morning at breakfast we sat down and were asked to move as we were in the exec area, wasn't marked well and the "exec" area was very large and only 1 person using it, meanwhile the rest of restaurant no tables, but we were asked to move (sorry, forced to move) anyway, ridiculous and not service expected from holiday inn. Can understand this segregated area (actually I can't) but why so big?

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jane3nc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Holiday_Inn_Hamburg, Manager at Holiday Inn Hamburg, responded to this review, 23 April 2012
Dear jane3nc,

thank you very much for your detailed feedback.

Our Holiday Inn Hamburg offers different room categories. You can specify upon booking, that you would prefer a room off the street. Depending on availability, we will consider this for sure.

Please accept our apology for the inconvenience during breakfast. With high occupancy it is possible that many guests arrive for breakfast at the same time. If your schedule permits it, please feel free to ask our team, when is the best time to enjoy breakfast. Please understand that the executive area is exclusively for guests who stay in one of our executive rooms.

We would be pleased to convince you of our services during another stay with us at the Holiday Inn Hamburg.

Kind regards,
Jochen Zillert & Team
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

766 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    135
    305
    220
    57
    49
See reviews for
155
209
62
243
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (55)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Katy, Texas, USA
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 March 2012

The hotel is located in a residential area about 10 - 15 mins taxi ride away from the main station, a long way from the airport. If arriving by plane take the subway to the main station and then taxi.
The hotel is clean and modern.
Some of the front desk staff are not so friendly.
Make sure you request and get the correct bed size. I arrived only to find out that I had a rooom with two twin (small) beds - I am over 6.5 feet tall and found it uncomfortable to sleep in such a small bed.
The bar was good.
Did not try the breakfast as I had an early start - only stayed one night.
May stay again but would prefer to be closer to the centre and make sure I had a queen or king bed!

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Airlinekits
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Holiday_Inn_Hamburg, Manager at Holiday Inn Hamburg, responded to this review, 30 March 2012
Dear guest,
thank you for your feedback. We are sorry we could not meet all your expectations during your stay with us at the Holiday Inn Hamburg. We are happy to consider all the needs of our guest regarding the rooms, but unfortunately this is - depending on other bookings and availability - is not always possible.
We would be glad to welcome you again during your next stay in the beautiful city of Hamburg.
Kind regards,
Jochen Zillert & team
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rotterdam
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 March 2012

Stayed here for one night in the residence building. Room was besides the main road which leads into Hamburg so the traffic makes you crazy during the day and night. So please ask for a room on the back!
Room is clean but ourdated perhaps because I am in the residence wing and not in he tower.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DUTCHRAY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, ihgcare at Holiday Inn Hamburg, responded to this review, 6 April 2012
Dear DUTCHRAY,

Thank you very much for your valuable feedback and please accept our apologies for the inconveniences you have experienced during your stay.

We rely on you, our guest, to let us know how we are doing and how we can better meet your needs. I have taken note and wish to thank you for all your valuable comments. These are of great importance to us and allow us to monitor and improve our service continually.

We thank you for having chosen our Hotel. We take this opportunity to send you our best wishes.

Regards,
Brenda J.
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
'oop north near lancashire
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 February 2012

Took public transport to this hotel from outside the 'Saturn' music store opposite main rail station. Room wasn't ready ( i was early) and had a bit of hassle getting booked in ( despite booking a double i was offered a single as travelling alone). None the less the hotel is clean and comfortable if not a little 'sterile'.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank blackpoolwhenimsixty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hove, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 January 2012

Fabric of the building and rooms was atrocious. The carpet of the first room was old disgusting and the smell of the room was foul. Not even industrial cleaning could have improved it.

I was moved to a room supposed to be a suite of a higher standard which was not much better. Whilst in bed I could smell rising damp in the walls.

Although the staff were friendly and very apologetic I had the poorest response from the Holiday Inn customer care centre.

The price was over inflated for the quality of the accommodation. This was the least value for money I have ever experienced for hotel stay.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank simone380
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Hamburg hotels

Dublin, Ireland
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 January 2012

We stayed at this hotel to celebrate my stag weekend last May.

Check in was smooth given there was 12 rooms. Staff were professional.

There was a nice small bar but the opening hours were short, think it closed before mid-night. However, this made no odds to us as we were out sampling the Hamburg nightlife until the hourly hours anyway!

Facilities are good with a nice pool and the rooms were comfortable.

Also, there is a good driving range just a couple of hundred meters up the road from the hotel.

Hotel is a little outside the city centre but a 10min taxi ride would get you right into the heart of the action!

Would recommend.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank dxb09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Antwerp, Belgium
Level 6 Contributor
126 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 January 2012

1 overnight, found hotel well located next to Hamburg entry road. Clean rooms, good bathroom excessories. Receptaion staff friendly & polite. Rooms little dated. Stayed on 16th floor, with full heating room remainded "rather" cold during the night. Breakfast is good and reseanable choice. Surrounding area is not great though does not appear dangerous. Parking under hotel at cost but worth to check the surrounding area for free parking space (during the night, not the day!)

Room Tip: Good view over city on higher floors. Watch for cold room, check with reception if problem.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chris3436
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hamburg hotels
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hammerbrook
Prizeotel Hamburg-City
Prizeotel Hamburg-City
#13 of 317 in Hamburg
852 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Hamburg? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Hamburg

Property: Holiday Inn Hamburg
Address: Billwerder Neuer Deich 14, 20539 Hamburg, Germany (Formerly Forum Hotel)
Phone Number:
Region: Germany > Hamburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#55 Luxury Hotel in Hamburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Holiday Inn Hamburg 4*
Number of rooms: 385
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Hamburg! A trip to Hamburg is always worth while, regardless of business or pleasure, Holiday Inn Hamburg is delighted to be your host in the famous 'Hansestadt'. Hamburg, has indeed, a vast range of exciting attractions to offer, stunning architecture, famous land marks, nature, culture and entertainment to name a few! The Speicherstadt once the tax free warehouse area located in the harbour now houses many museums and visitor attractions. The German Custom Museum, The Speicherstadt Museum, Spicy s Spices Museum, The Harbour City Info Centre, Miniature Wonderland famous for the worlds largest model railway and not forgetting Hamburg s Dungeons with its historical and gruesome attractions. An outdoor alternative and not to be missed is a boat trip around the harbour itself. Afterwards you still have time to explore Hamburg s shopping mile, the famous Moenckebergstrasse or Jungfernstieg, a shopper s paradise! Finally to round off a perfect day why not reserve seats in one of Hamburg s many theatres and musicals. With so many to choose from there is sure to be something for all the family. Feel at home in one of our comfortable 385 guest rooms, or enjoy the fantastic views over the roof tops of Hamburg from one of our 12 spacious suites. All rooms have SAT-TV, radio, mini bar, direct dial telephone and a safe for your valuables. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Holiday Inn Hamburg reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Hamburg Hotel Hamburg
Hamburg Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing