We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“unexpected stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Holiday Inn Hamburg
Ranked #85 of 321 Hotels in Hamburg
Reviewed 9 December 2013

after our flight back to England was cancelled due to a storm Easy jet put us up in the holiday Inn. Couldn't fault the service. Rooms were clean, staff friendly and helpful. Even supplied spare nappies, bibs etc. for baby as well as a travel cot. The view was amazing, especially when the containers disappeared into the water. Clean and functional, excellent breakfast.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dirdit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Holiday_Inn_Hamburg, Leiter Gästebetreuung at Holiday Inn Hamburg, responded to this reviewResponded 15 December 2013

Dear dirdit ,
Thank you for your feedback. It is good to know that you enjoyed your stay with us in this unpleasant situation with your flight being cancelled.
We are looking forward to welcoming you back in Hamburg and in our Holiday Inn.
Best holiday wishes,
Daniela Gorres
Guest Relations Supervisor

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (813)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

168 - 174 of 813 reviews

Reviewed 6 December 2013

We got placed here when our flight was cancelled by easyJet.

It is a functional hotel and the location is not the best. There are no good food places in the vicinity. That said, the restaurant, although small, served food of an excellent quality. There is a cosy bar too.

Breakfast was good.

Rooms are very dated, but clean.

I wouldn't recommend it for a quality central stay in Hamburg, but I would stay there again!

It did smell of cigarettes.....

Best features - dinner and the excellent, efficient staff in the reception area.

Room Tip: Ask for an executive room if you can.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RobskiStaffs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Holiday_Inn_Hamburg, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Hamburg, responded to this reviewResponded 10 December 2013

Dear RotherLad,
Thank you very much for your feedback. We really appreciate this. Our hotel is located near the city and you can reach Hamburg Main station within 10 minutes by bus. The renovation of our hotel already started and we were able to finish the renovation of the public spaces like lobby and restaurant. Soon the remodeling of our rooms will begin.
We are looking forward to welcoming you back soon!
Kind regards,
Daniela Gorres
Guest Relations Supervisor

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 November 2013

I was at the Holiday INN Hamburg for 2 nights in the end of the Month of October. First of all I was given a room that was on the complete other side of the Hotel, you have to walk at least for 5 mins in order to reach your room. Second of all the TVs in room are still from the 90's like those big fat ones. Third of all the bath room wasn't inspiring at all as the sink was very old and rusty. Finally the location of the Hotel is away from the city center and there are no good restaurant near by except maybe a McDonalds which is about 10mins away by walking distance. Soon enough all costumers won't be coming to the hotel if they don't restore it...

Room Tip: Make sure to take a room in the reception building as the other building is terrible !!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DuncanMcLe0d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Holiday_Inn_Hamburg, Leiter Gästebetreuung at Holiday Inn Hamburg, responded to this reviewResponded 19 November 2013

Dear Duncan,

Thank you for your feedback. We are sorry we did not meet your expectations. Our hotel is a short distance away from the city centre and you can reach the main station by bus within 10 minutes. Our hotel offers a restaurant and a pub. Beyond this, there are two restaurants down the street, only 250 meters away.

We would be glad to convince you of our services during another stay with us at the Holiday Inn Hamburg!

Kind regards,
Daniela Gorres
Guest Relations Supervisor

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 November 2013

Not what I expected from a vibrant and well appointed city. We stayed for one night after a short cruise on the Queen Mary (Fantastic). We checked in the hotel and was told that our room would not be ready until after 2pm. We took a tour of the city and arrived back to hotel at 2.30pm. I entered the room and I choked on the smell never in all of my life have I ever experienced anything so disgusting. The room smelt of 1000 ashtrays and after a few minutes I felt ill. Thank God I did not suffer from asthma. Called down to reception to be told no other room except the pent house at a cost of 160 euros !!!! Young man brought a can of air wick and agreed that the smell was vile. We were with another couple and therefore I could not check out and move to another hotel. I informed hotel by email and they claim no other rooms. This was a lie other people checked in after us at 4pm and they were given non smoking rooms. Do not stay at this hotel. Not suitable for travellers, ok if you are a construction working smoking 60 cigarettes per day.

Room Tip: Do not go there.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank trolley-dolly1959
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Holiday_Inn_Hamburg, Leiter Gästebetreuung at Holiday Inn Hamburg, responded to this reviewResponded 19 November 2013

Dear Trolley-dolly,

Thank you for your feedback. We are sorry we did not meet your expectations. Unfortunately - as mentioned in our e-mail conversation - there were no non-smoking rooms available in the category you booked during your stay. If you would have mentioned your preferences upon booking, we would have taken this into consideration. The people who checked in after you gave us such preferences.

Kind regards,
Daniela Gorres
Guest Relations Supervisor

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 November 2013

My wife and I stayed for one night while on a stop-over in Hamburg. Our room on the second floor was large with very comfortable bed(s) but the one big drawback for us was the smell of stale nicotine which pervaded everywhere. Although the bed linen was fresh the smell of nicotine was exceptionally strong throughout curtains, the bedding and pillows. We tried to get a change of room which proved impossible as the hotel was (apparently) full. The very friendly staff apologised but seemed to consider it odd that we were non-smokers as smoking appears to be the norm in Germany.

On a positive side the food was excellent both in choice and presentation and the restaurant staff were extremely efficient.

Would stay there again providing there were non-smoking rooms!

Room Tip: Check first if there are separate rooms for smokers and non-smokers
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tony A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Holiday_Inn_Hamburg, Leiter Gästebetreuung at Holiday Inn Hamburg, responded to this reviewResponded 10 November 2013

Dear Toy A.,
Thank you for your feedback. We really appreciate this, as it helps us to improve our services on a regular basis. Please accept our apology for the smoking room. Most of our rooms are non smoking rooms, however we do offer some rooms for smokers. Unfortunately there was no preference regarding an non smoking room related to your booking. We would be glad to welcome you back some time in the future and provide you a non smoking room.
Kind regards,
Daniela Gorres
Guest Relations Supervisor

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 November 2013

We stayed here recently for one night after a cruise on Queen Mary and had a great experience. The hotel was a little difficult to get to as there are quite a lot of roadworks around Hafen City where the ship berths. You can literally see it from the ship and it was a nice walk there.
We were early for check-in but waited in reception until 2 pm. The reception staff were really helpful and apologetic that we couldn't get in to our room immediately. We had a great room on the 14th floor and were lucky enough to get a free upgrade plus a couple of free drinks at the bar. The indoor pool is also lovely and the bar food was great too, but we didn't stay for breakfast as we had an early flight. There is a bus stop at the end of the road that takes you in to the city and you can get the train from there to the airport - all for 2 euros. Thoroughly recommended.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank suzy1259
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Holiday_Inn_Hamburg, Leiter Gästebetreuung at Holiday Inn Hamburg, responded to this reviewResponded 10 November 2013

Dear Suzy1259,
Thank you very much for your feedback. We really appreciate this. It is good to know that you enjoyed your stay with us. We will forward your kind words to our team.
We are looking forward to welcoming you back soon - the city of Hamburg is always worth a trip!
Kind regards,
Daniela Gorres
Guest Relations Supervisor

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 October 2013

arrived exhausted after overnight travel. front desk staff show absolutely no willingness to be flexible about letting me check in a little earlier that 2 pm. so a bad experience from the start. it's also in one of the worst areas of hamburg, pretty far from the center of town.

Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
1  Thank pathfinder111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Holiday_Inn_Hamburg, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Hamburg, responded to this reviewResponded 31 October 2013

Dear pathfinder111,
Thank you very much for your feedback. We really appreciate this, as it helps us to improve our services on a regular basis. Please accept our apology for the inconvenience you experienced. However, our check-in time is 2 pm. If the room is available earlier, we are happy to check you in as soon as possible. Please understand that we cannot guarantee an earlier check-in as our guests normally leave until noon and the housekeeping staff needs the time to get the room ready for the arriving guests.
Our hotel is located in a nice and green area, directly connected to the "Entenwerder"-peninsula and surrounded by appartment-blocks. It is a short drive by bus to the city centre (approx. 10 minutes).
We are sorry we did not meet your expectations and would be glad to convince you of our services during another stay with us.
Kind regards,
Daniela Gorres
Guest Relations Supervisor

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hamburg hotels
1.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hamburg City Centre
0.1 mi away
Bridge Inn Hotel
Bridge Inn Hotel
#227 of 321 in Hamburg
185 reviews
1.7 mi away
Novotel Hamburg City Alster
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Novotel Suites Hamburg City hotel
0.1 mi away
Elbbrucken Hotel
Elbbrucken Hotel
#220 of 321 in Hamburg
49 reviews
3.9 mi away
Leonardo Hotel Hamburg-Stillhorn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Hamburg? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Hamburg

Address: Billwerder Neuer Deich 14, 20539 Hamburg, Germany (Formerly Forum Hotel)
Phone Number:
Region: Germany > Hamburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#60 Luxury Hotel in Hamburg
Price Range: £59 - £145 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Holiday Inn Hamburg 4*
Number of rooms: 385
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Hamburg! A trip to Hamburg is always worth while, regardless of business or pleasure, Holiday Inn Hamburg is delighted to be your host in the famous 'Hansestadt'. Hamburg, has indeed, a vast range of exciting attractions to offer, stunning architecture, famous land marks, nature, culture and entertainment to name a few! The Speicherstadt once the tax free warehouse area located in the harbour now houses many museums and visitor attractions. The German Custom Museum, The Speicherstadt Museum, Spicy s Spices Museum, The Harbour City Info Centre, Miniature Wonderland famous for the worlds largest model railway and not forgetting Hamburg s Dungeons with its historical and gruesome attractions. An outdoor alternative and not to be missed is a boat trip around the harbour itself. Afterwards you still have time to explore Hamburg s shopping mile, the famous Moenckebergstrasse or Jungfernstieg, a shopper s paradise! Finally to round off a perfect day why not reserve seats in one of Hamburg s many theatres and musicals. With so many to choose from there is sure to be something for all the family. Feel at home in one of our comfortable 385 guest rooms, or enjoy the fantastic views over the roof tops of Hamburg from one of our 12 spacious suites. All rooms have SAT-TV, radio, mini bar, direct dial telephone and a safe for your valuables. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, IHG, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Holiday Inn Hamburg reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Hamburg Hotel Hamburg
Hamburg Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing