We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“almost faultless”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Holiday Inn Hamburg
Ranked #90 of 321 Hotels in Hamburg
Reviewed 28 February 2014

This was my first ever visit to Germany and I was not disappointed-though the Germans are worse than the British for smoking !!.
The hotel reception staff were really nice & the rooms were excellent.As has been already been stated on here,the location is 10-15 minutes bus ride from the centre of Hamburg.I have never used buses so much since I left school! Once you pay the driver to town-2 Euros-remember you can use the ticket for the rest of the day.One thing I was unhappy at was the price for breakfast (18 Euros) and -as in many hotels-the bar prices.Why don't hoteliers realise that if they reduce bar prices then more people would stay there for more drinks?Even more so when the bar is as nice as the Windfang.After a round of 4 Cokes & a coffee came to over £20 we decided to go to the bar down the road.As for Hamburg-what a lovely place;and the German people were far friendlier than I expected.We will be back.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Richard O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Holiday_Inn_Hamburg, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Hamburg, responded to this reviewResponded 1 March 2014

Dear Richard,

Thank you very much for your feedback. We really appreciate this. It is good to know that you enjoyed your stay with us at the Holiday Inn Hamburg and we are looking to welcoming you back soon.

Best regards,
Daniela Gorres
Guest Relations Supervisor

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (830)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

165 - 171 of 830 reviews

Reviewed 26 February 2014

Room:
Comfortable
Facilities:
Safe didn't work (maybe just me not being technical enough to understand)
Wi-Fi:
Slow and not very usable, you certainly cannot stream, you can pay extra for a premium service but even when you do, the speed is the same so it is pointless.
Food:
Only did breakfast, which was standard German buffet style
Staff:
Friendly and helpful and most spoke good English
Location:
Too far from the city centre, costs about 15-20 Euro's to get there, suggest if you want a closer Holiday Inn book the Holiday Inn Express instead.
Various:
Annoying door stop on the floor which was right infront of the wardrobe, so very easy to forget it was there and stub your toe on it.

General:
Noticed when I returned home that in my pending payment details on my bank account, 3 spurious payments where waiting payment from the hotel. I had paid in advance, but when I enquired the help desk said it was standard for a deposit? as yet none of these payments have been taken from my account, and they stated it was unlikely they would, but still strange that they take 3 payments instead of one standard?

Room Tip: Get a room on the upper floors as when you are checking out it is easier to get a lift. Rooms over...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Nigel W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Holiday_Inn_Hamburg, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Hamburg, responded to this reviewResponded 3 March 2014

Dear Nigel,
Thank you very much for your feedback regarding your stay with us. We really appreciate this.
We are really sorry that we could not meet your expectations. Regarding the three payments you mentioned we would like to inform you that the first payment has been the payment of your booked hotel room. The other two payments have been authorizations by your bank. When you checked in at the hotel, we have saved your credit card for further costs at the hotel. Your bank authorizes the credit card for the two reservations you have made. Please be sure, that we do not charge antything from your credit card for the authorization.

You can reach the city center in less than 10 minutes by bus. A bus stop is located 200 m away from the hotel and there is a bus leaving every ten minutes. You can buy tickets at our hotel or at the bus stop.

Nonetheless, we hope that you have had a nice stay in Hamburg!

Best regards!
Julia Schliemann
Guest Relations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 February 2014

Stayed for one night with my 8 year old son. Booked online using Priority Club points for a free reward night. Served immediately at Priority Club reception desk and room was ready for us even though we arrived at 10am. Room was large, clean and light. Good facilities though pool a bit chilly and a little small. Windfang pub has a happy hour from 5-6 every day with half price drinks, and restaurant has free food for kids. Hotel is in a drab location but is 5 min walk to bus stop into city centre. Overall very happy.

Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
Thank MarkWorcs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Holiday_Inn_Hamburg, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Hamburg, responded to this reviewResponded 19 February 2014

Dear MarcWorcs,
Thank you very much for your feedback regarding your stay with us. We really appreciate this. Good to know that you and your son had a great time in Hamburg and at the Holiday Inn.
We are looking forward to welcoming you back soon!
Kind regards,
Daniela Gorres
Guest Relations Supervisor

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 February 2014

Had an overnight stay in Hamburg on a business trip. Hotel is about 20 minutes from the airport by taxi on the Southern side of town, when there is no traffic. Not really close to the city centre, but only a short trip on a public bus and you can be the centre of the town to experience the night life. If you want to experience Hamburg's other form of “nightlife” it is a short ride, ca 4 stops, on the S-Bahn from the Hauptbahnhof.

Hotel is typical of the Holiday Inn chain, clean and functional, but without much character. Hotel room was clean comfortable, which is the import part, but with rather dated bathroom with a surface crack in the sink basin! Was on 10th floor so had a nice view of the docks area!!!

Good choice of items for breakfast both hot and cold.

Check in and out was fast and efficient.

So would I stay there again yes.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pair211
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Holiday_Inn_Hamburg, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Hamburg, responded to this reviewResponded 10 February 2014

Dear guest,

Thank you very much for your feedback regarding your stay with us. We are happy you enjoyed your stay. Our hotel is close to the city centre and only a short busride from the main station.

We are lookng forward to welcoming you back soon.

Kind regards,
Daniela Gorres
Guest Relations Supervisor

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 January 2014

very lovely hotel , we up graded so we had tea and kettle lovely clean rooms , bathrobes, slippers , massive bed, very big room , gym and swimming pool on the small size, but better then not having them , breakfast , very
lovely food, ist class hotel , the view from the room was breathtaking

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank karen c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Holiday_Inn_Hamburg, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Hamburg, responded to this reviewResponded 6 January 2014

Dear karen1963,
Thank you very much for your feedback. We really appreciate this and are happy that you enjoyed your stay with us at the Holiday Inn Hamburg. We are looking forward to welcoming you back some time in the future. The beautiful city of Hamburg is always worth a trip!
Kind regards,
Daniela Gorres
Guest Relations Supervisor

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 December 2013

After falling victim to bad weather and subsequent flight cancellations we were put up in this hotel for one night by our airline. It is around a thirty minute drive from the airport and in a rather ‘remote’ location - there is little of interest in the area including a lack of restaurants. Fortunately the hotel restaurant is fantastic. A great varied menu and very tasty food is available in the first floor restaurant with friendly helpful staff. There was a very long wait between courses which was a little frustrating, but the quality of the food made it worth the wait!

Unfortunately we had been allocated a room in what was clearing the smoking wing of the hotel. Due to the hotel apparently being full the reception staff weren’t willing to look for an alternative option or switch rooms. The smell in the corridor was bad but in the room was awful. Even our coats which were hung in the wardrobe had picked up the smell come the following morning. If you’re a non-smoker then this is definitely something which should be checked with the hotel at the time of booking!

The room itself was very dated and in desperate need for an uplift. The 14” TV was an old CRT, for example, with poor reception. The desk units were looking worn and the wardrobe doors in need of tightening. The room also featured a mini bar and remarkably the in-room menu stated that this was complimentary. Just a shame that it contained only a single bottle of beer, coke and two waters.

Breakfast was as impressive as the evening meal - a buffet style with plenty of choices. Again staff were friendly and plentiful to bring hot drinks and assistance. Hot food was replenished frequently and the choice of fruit, pasties etc ensured there is something for everyone. The views out the bedrooms and restaurant are mostly of a main busy road, and a nearby lake; all that can be expected of the area.

We were very grateful for this hotel to be available for the night, preventing a need to sleep on an airport floor, although I wouldn’t chose to stay here again. The location means there is a need to travel some distance to get anywhere and the rooms are very dated with old fixtures. I’ll try not to focus too much on the smell of the room, as it was a last minute booking for a very large number of people, but it was a shame that the staff were so unwilling to even look for an alternative option. A fantastic on-site restaurant, but I’m sure there are better nearby options.

Room Tip: If you're a non-smoker, really do check that you won't be getting a smoking room - you certa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank stevebintley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Holiday_Inn_Hamburg, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Hamburg, responded to this reviewResponded 29 December 2013

Dear MK_Steve_B,
Thank you for taking the time giving us such a long feedback regarding your stay with us. We are glad we could offer you and the other passengers a comfortable room for the night your flight was cancelled. Our house offers rooms in different categories. Most of the are non-smoking rooms. However, we do offer some smoking rooms. We do apologize for the inconvenience this might have caused. But as you mentioned in your feedback, our hotel was fully booked and unfortunately there was nothing we could have done regarding the room.
Our Holiday Inn Hamburg is located near the city center and offers a great view to the harbor. You can reach the Main Station by bus within 10 minutes.
We would be gad to welcome you back some time in the future.
Best regards,
Daniela Gorres
Guest Relations Supervisor

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 December 2013

This Hotel was for years my number one choice when going to Hamburg. I slept in every room category from suite to standard room and enjoyed most of my stays. The rooms were always clean and the breakfast buffet very good. My only complaint is, that the lines at check in, check out are sometimes too long and answers you get from different clerks are different and not uniform. I hope that the management can get a handle on these issues. I also recommend to have a car, it makes life simpler.

Room Tip: depends if you want views or quietness.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank estadosunidos1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Holiday_Inn_Hamburg, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Hamburg, responded to this reviewResponded 27 December 2013

Dear Guest,
Thank you very much for your feedback. We really appreciate this and are happy that you enjoyed your stays with us. As a regular guest you might have noticed that we started to remodel our hotel in the public spaces like lobby and restaurant. Please accept our apology for the waiting time at our reception. Rest assured that we will find a solution to make the check-in and check-out faster.
We would be glad to welcome you back soon!
Kind regards,
Daniela Gorres
Guest Relations Supervisor

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hamburg hotels
Bridge Inn Hotel
#222 of 321 in Hamburg
190 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Winterhude
Holiday Inn Hamburg - City Nord
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Hamburg? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Hamburg

Address: Billwerder Neuer Deich 14, 20539 Hamburg, Germany (Formerly Forum Hotel)
Phone Number:
Region: Germany > Hamburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#62 Luxury Hotel in Hamburg
Price Range: £58 - £158 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Holiday Inn Hamburg 4*
Number of rooms: 385
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Hamburg! A trip to Hamburg is always worth while, regardless of business or pleasure, Holiday Inn Hamburg is delighted to be your host in the famous 'Hansestadt'. Hamburg, has indeed, a vast range of exciting attractions to offer, stunning architecture, famous land marks, nature, culture and entertainment to name a few! The Speicherstadt once the tax free warehouse area located in the harbour now houses many museums and visitor attractions. The German Custom Museum, The Speicherstadt Museum, Spicy s Spices Museum, The Harbour City Info Centre, Miniature Wonderland famous for the worlds largest model railway and not forgetting Hamburg s Dungeons with its historical and gruesome attractions. An outdoor alternative and not to be missed is a boat trip around the harbour itself. Afterwards you still have time to explore Hamburg s shopping mile, the famous Moenckebergstrasse or Jungfernstieg, a shopper s paradise! Finally to round off a perfect day why not reserve seats in one of Hamburg s many theatres and musicals. With so many to choose from there is sure to be something for all the family. Feel at home in one of our comfortable 385 guest rooms, or enjoy the fantastic views over the roof tops of Hamburg from one of our 12 spacious suites. All rooms have SAT-TV, radio, mini bar, direct dial telephone and a safe for your valuables. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HotelsClick, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Holiday Inn Hamburg reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Hamburg Hotel Hamburg
Hamburg Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing