We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Standard, expensive to be so far from the City Centre”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Holiday Inn Hamburg
Ranked #81 of 318 Hotels in Hamburg
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Standard, expensive to be so far from the City Centre”
Reviewed 21 August 2014

For working purposes did I visit Hamburg (again) by middle of August. I had been living in Hamburg for several years, and I did not ever walked through this area: it is too far from the center, and too many rooms face the bahn, full of cars at any time of the day. Anyone sleeping there should make a choice at night: too warm or too noisy.

Room Tip: Avoid rooms facing the bahn.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gabriel N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Holiday_Inn_Hamburg, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Hamburg, responded to this review, 24 August 2014
Dear Gabriel,
Thank you very much for your feedback. We are sorry we did not meet your expectations. As you have lived in the city of Hamburg you certainly know the location of our hotel at the "Elbbrücken". We do offer rooms in different categories and the room in the category standard plus and up do offer an a/c. Whenever it is possible, we will take care of your wishes regarding the location of the room (e.g. a room facing the courtyard.). However, this depends upon the availability.
We would be happy to convince you of our services during another stay with us.
Kind regards,
Daniela Gorres
(Guest Relations Manager)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

766 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    135
    305
    220
    57
    49
See reviews for
155
209
62
243
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (55)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Nis, Serbia
1 review
Reviewed 19 August 2014

I was in this hotel in jun 2014. on a business trip. Company paid in advance, but when we came they told us that it has not been paid. Girls on reception were very unpleasant. So I paid in cash on spot and they told me it will be refunded if it is double paid. Later they confirmed that it was already paid (double paid) but until now they have not give us money back, nor has anyone from hotel made effort to resolve the issue or contact me. So regarding this hotel.. don't pay in advance.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 701Barbara
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Holiday_Inn_Hamburg, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Hamburg, responded to this review, 28 August 2014
Dear Barbara,
Thank you for your feedback. As you know from the e-mail correspondence with your german contact person, we stayed in close contact with the company. Unfortunately there were some problems with the transaction to a foreign country. However, a few days ago our bank confirmed that the transaction was successful.
Best regards,
Daniela Gorres
(Guest Relations Manager)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Hamburg hotels

Level 6 Contributor
127 reviews
80 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 August 2014

Very big hotel with a few sections. May take you a while to get from the room to the lobby. Hotel is located right on the entrance bridge to Hamburg and hence the room was very noisy from cars driving on the road thought the night..not recommended only because of this. Nice hotel otherwise..

Room Tip: Rear rooms that do not face the bridge
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ukusin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Holiday_Inn_Hamburg, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Hamburg, responded to this review, 14 August 2014
Dear Bentzus,
Thank you very much for your feedback. We are sorry we did not meet all of your expectations. Whenever it is possible, we will give you a room which meets your preferences regarding the location. However this is depends upon the booking situation. Please let us know with your booking, if you prefer a room facing the harbor or a room to the courtyard. We will do our best to fulfill all the wishes.
We would like to convince you of our services during another stay with us.
Kind regards,
Daniela Gorres
(Guest Relations Manager)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rome, Italy
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 August 2014 via mobile

Dirty carpet, curtains with holes, dirty wallpaper starting to peel off in a spot. "Standard rooms" don't have air conditioning, and are very hot in the summer. Half the rooms are right on the highway and are noisy even with closed windows. Will definitely not come back.

Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Giuliano C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Holiday_Inn_Hamburg, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Hamburg, responded to this review, 10 August 2014
Dear Giuliano,
Thank your for your feedback. We are sorry we did not meet your expectations. Our hotel offers rooms in different categories. The rooms from the standard plus category and up do offer an a/c.
The renovation of our hotel already started and we finished the work in the public areas. Rest assured that we will continue our work in the rooms.
Our hotel is located at the "Elb-Bridges" and half of the rooms offer a fantastic view toward the harbor, the famous "Elb-Philharmonie" and the church "Michel". There is a freeway at the hotel where the speed limit is 60km/h.
We would be happy to convince you of our services during another stay with us.
Kind regards,
Daniela Gorres
(Guest Relations Manager)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 6 Contributor
130 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 July 2014

This hotel is old. the owners did not invest in refurbishing, so: long queues at check-in and check-out, no recognition for Priority members. Old rooms, the curtain (615) was full of holes, as if termites had lunch on it. Matresses were old and uncomfortable. Breakfast is a mission almost impossible becuase of the queues, lack of room and lack of personel (expensive I guess). In short: Stay away.

Room Tip: Choose another hotel!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Simon S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Holiday_Inn_Hamburg, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Hamburg, responded to this review, 3 August 2014
Dear Simon,
Thank you for your feedback. We are sorry we did not meet your expectations. Please accept our apology for the inconveniences you have experienced. Be assured that we want to make every stay with us a comfortable and enjoyable one.
We would be happy to convince you of our services during another stay with us.
Kind regards,
Daniela Gorres
(Guest Relations Manager)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Avon, CT
Level 6 Contributor
343 reviews
132 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 152 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 July 2014

Paid parking below the hotel. Reception was friendly and efficient

Stayed on the executive floor. Rooms are getting a bit long in the tooth, but everything was fine. Air Cond. was ok, but not great.

Elevators a bit busy.

Ate dinner in the bar (a bowl of chili and a salad) and had breakfast in the hotel. Both were fine and breakfast was varied.

Small sauna area attached to the pool area with only a small dry sauna, two showers, two chaise lounges in the relaxation area.

I'd stay again, but it was nothing special.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank biztrav123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Holiday_Inn_Hamburg, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Hamburg, responded to this review, 3 August 2014
Dear Guest,
Thank your for your feedback. We are sorry we did not make your stay something special and would like ti get another chance to do so.
We are looking forward to welcoming you some time in the future!
Kind regards,
Daniela Gorres
(Guest Relations Manager)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
76 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 July 2014

Stayed here for 2 nights. The rooms were very clean and a decent size. It was very hot when we stayed and there is no air conditioning in the rooms which made sleeping very uncomfortable, you can open the windows, but hardly any breeze comes through the room.

The hotel is about 7 bus stops from the main train station and the nearest s-bahn station is a 15 minute walk away. Although the staff are really nice and so are the rooms, the location for me was a big minus point.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NorthLondonian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Holiday_Inn_Hamburg, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Hamburg, responded to this review, 30 July 2014
Dear Guest,
Thank you very much for your feedback. Our house offers rooms in different categories. The standard plus catagory and the executive category do offer an a/c in every room. Our reservations department will be happy to assist you in finding the right room which matches your expectations the best.
We would be happy to welcome you back some time in the future.
Kind regards,
Daniela Gorres
(Guest Relations Manager)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hamburg hotels
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hammerbrook
Prizeotel Hamburg-City
Prizeotel Hamburg-City
#13 of 318 in Hamburg
853 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Hamburg? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Hamburg

Property: Holiday Inn Hamburg
Address: Billwerder Neuer Deich 14, 20539 Hamburg, Germany (Formerly Forum Hotel)
Phone Number:
Region: Germany > Hamburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#56 Luxury Hotel in Hamburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Holiday Inn Hamburg 4*
Number of rooms: 385
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Hamburg! A trip to Hamburg is always worth while, regardless of business or pleasure, Holiday Inn Hamburg is delighted to be your host in the famous 'Hansestadt'. Hamburg, has indeed, a vast range of exciting attractions to offer, stunning architecture, famous land marks, nature, culture and entertainment to name a few! The Speicherstadt once the tax free warehouse area located in the harbour now houses many museums and visitor attractions. The German Custom Museum, The Speicherstadt Museum, Spicy s Spices Museum, The Harbour City Info Centre, Miniature Wonderland famous for the worlds largest model railway and not forgetting Hamburg s Dungeons with its historical and gruesome attractions. An outdoor alternative and not to be missed is a boat trip around the harbour itself. Afterwards you still have time to explore Hamburg s shopping mile, the famous Moenckebergstrasse or Jungfernstieg, a shopper s paradise! Finally to round off a perfect day why not reserve seats in one of Hamburg s many theatres and musicals. With so many to choose from there is sure to be something for all the family. Feel at home in one of our comfortable 385 guest rooms, or enjoy the fantastic views over the roof tops of Hamburg from one of our 12 spacious suites. All rooms have SAT-TV, radio, mini bar, direct dial telephone and a safe for your valuables. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Expedia, Ctrip TA, Booking.com, Priceline, Ebookers, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Holiday Inn Hamburg reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Hamburg Hotel Hamburg
Hamburg Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing