We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very smart hotel let down by lack of wifi.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Le Meridien Hamburg
Ranked #28 of 317 Hotels in Hamburg
Certificate of Excellence
Bergen, Norway
Level Contributor
82 reviews
79 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Very smart hotel let down by lack of wifi.”
Reviewed 4 February 2012

I stayed here for 3 mights for a business course and found it excellent on the whole. The rooms are of a good size with a huge old style bath tub - perfect after a long flight. The staff were numerous and attentive and nothing was too much trouble for them throughout the duration of the course. The vista from the hotel is fantastic with a great views of the lake in the middle of Hamburg - particularly picturesque when frozen and covered with a layer of snow. The only down side was the lack of free wifi - it is difficult to comprehend in today's day and age that aa hotel clearly geared for todays business client does not offer free wifi - instead you have to pay €6 for an hour - if not for this gripe I'd have given a 5* review.

Room Tip: For UK users I booked through Hotels.com using Quidco and got a nice cashback sum
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pjmoorhouse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMHamburg, General Manager at Le Meridien Hamburg, responded to this review, 7 February 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your time and effort to share your lovely feedback with us.
You should see the the Alster lake now, there are lots of ice skater on the ice, it looks beautiful.
It is fantastic that our staff took so good care of you and that you felt comfortable and were able to relax during your 3 nights stay with us!

I would like to introduce the SPG Membership program to you, as you are able to get free Internet (as well as many more benefits) during your stay when you sign up and have at least 10 stays at any our over 1000 Starwood properties in the world. Just have a look at the Starwood website or just contact one of our Starwood staff members when you are next staying in a Starwood Hotel.

When you visit us again, I would like to inform you about our free Internet at our Business centre, which you able to use any time during your stay.

We are very much looking forward to welcome you back!

Warm regards from a freezing Hamburg

Andreas K.
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,423 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    798
    434
    137
    34
    20
See reviews for
168
518
131
429
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (156)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Monaco
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 30 January 2012

Close to the Main Train station and close to St Georg area and Rooms were huge.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MonacoRouguetrooper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMHamburg, General Manager at Le Meridien Hamburg, responded to this review, 3 February 2012
Dear Guest,

It is great to hear that you have enjoyed the rooms and location and we very much hope to welcome you back in the near future.

Yours sincerely

Andreas K.
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NYC
Level Contributor
24 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 January 2012

Recently travelled here for a quick business trip--unfortunately only for 1 night. Since I was only in Hamburg for about 24 hours, I didn't really get to see much of the city--but at least this hotel provided some relaxation and luxury in between meetings! Location is right on the water and provides a beautiful view. I took taxis to and from meetings, train station and airport, so I don't know how immediate area is with regards to getting around to tourist attractions...but i'm sure it's central.

Check in was quick and staff was friendly and accomodating (immediately taking my bags and escorting me to my room to show me room amenities). I stayed in a Starwoods Preferred Guest room which was absolutely lovely and rather large for EU. Room decor was tastefully decorated with a modern feel. Beautiful king size bed, ample seating/lounge area (2 decent size couches with plenty of room). There was surround sound in room and even in bathroom. Bathroom was my favorite-- with inviting clawfoot bathtub and enormous separate rainshower (I took a very relaxing bath while listening to music from the surround sound system).

Nice touch with gourmet tea and french coffee press!

Wish I stayed longer--will definitely be back to this hotel and the lovely city of Hamburg for vacation some day!

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bootowork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMHamburg, General Manager at Le Meridien Hamburg, responded to this review, 3 February 2012
Dear Guest,

It would have been nice to have you at the le Royal Méridien for a little longer but perhaps next time you will extend your business trip and enjoy Hamburg and the Hotel a little longer.
Fantastic to hear that we have made you feel welcome and you were able to relax after your meetings.

Thank you very much for your time to share your feedback with us. We are very much looking forward to welcome you back.

Kind regards
Andreas K.
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
77 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 January 2012

We stayed there for 2 nights around New Year Eve an were quite disappointed.

Room:
- mould in the shower
- the washbasin and the washstand where damaged (pieces were knocked out)
- curtain had damages/wholes
- lights where flickering
- the shower head was not cleaned properly and full of limestone

Service:
- when we arrived the Doormen just left and did not help at all, we took one of the luggage barrows and put our luggage on - than he came, took it off our hands without even saying "welcome at..., may I help you with the luggage".....or anything nice and welcoming....he was just grumpy
- with his grumpy manner he told us that there were no parking spaces at the garage left but we could pay for an outdoor parking space - which was expensive and not necessary at all as it was Saturday/Sunday and you could easily park your car for free on the streets (without a doubt it would have been much nicer being able to park our convertible in a secure garage)
- the check in was kind of fun as the young man at the reception was incredibly full of himself and treated us like kids (definitely not the treatment you would expect at such a hotel)
- we asked the Concierge about the best place in Hamburg to watch the fireworks and he did not know
- there were 3 man at the Concierge desk and they reminded us of headless chickens as all 3 of them tried to help at once so that you had to discuss your matter three times - would have been much more efficient if only one would concentrate on one guest and would give a helpful advise
- we told the lady at the reception desk that there is mould in the shower and that the lights very flickering but nothing had been done at all during our stay

Breakfast:
Breakfast at the Panorama restaurant was quite nice and the food and service were good.
BUT: The breakfast on Jan. 2nd was just an entire joke. They moved the breakfast to a far too small room as the Panorama restaurant was now under refurbishment. (Not the best timing as the hotel seems to be full of people who are on vacation and wanted to have breakfast after 9.30am instead of the business people who would be on their way by that time.) When we arrived at 10am it was completely chaotic. People were queuing, we had to wait for almost 15 min to get a table which we had to share with strangers as they just did not have enough space. The buffet was terrible. Lots of food were missing, there were no spoons or serving forks at quite a lot of the plates/bowls. There were no glasses for taking some juice and so on. Although we have asked for the missing things they just did not do anything to improve it. Quite a lot of people were complaining and the atmosphere was like having breakfast at a canteen. The service personnel were just to slow and completely overwhelmed and we had to wait very long to get coffee or cooked breakfast.
My highlight was when the started to cross the breakfast room with trolleys with many beverage crates stacked on. ???? Absolutely unacceptable!!

As we payed quite a high room rate and we did not have the relaxing and luxury break we intended to have we would not recommend this hotel and we will not come back.

Our impression was that this hotel has not the best Manager and that the staff is not very well trained and badly unorganised.

It's sad to say but this is not the standard we would expect at Le Meridien at all!

Room Tip: Rooms to the front with Alster view are nice but quite noisy as there is a quite large and busy stre...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ILT186338
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMHamburg, General Manager at Le Meridien Hamburg, responded to this review, 3 February 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for taking the time to share your feedback with us. We are very sorry that you did not enjoy your stay and understand your disappointment.

I would like to ask you to contact our Front Office Manager on 0049 40 2100 0 or email info.hamburg@lemeridien.com to discuss your stay with her.

We are very sorry that you have not enjoyed your stay with us and would be very happy to be in contact with you.

Kind regards

Andreas K.
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
30 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 January 2012

Stayed in December and only for one night. Was upgraded to a junior duplex suite and loved it.
Great view of the Alster. New comfortable designed room and a 7 Euro taxi ride from the city centre. The hotel sites on an opposite side of the Alster and thus there is not much in terms of shopping in a short 5 mins walk but the local area offers some opportunities and an immediate walk or morning on the Alster is a must ! Definitely will be returning and pushing for another upgrade. Room was booked directly through spg.com and was the cheapest.

Room Tip: View of the Alster and where possible a duplex
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Neoklassiksoul-yahoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMHamburg, General Manager at Le Meridien Hamburg, responded to this review, 3 February 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for such a lovely review. We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed your upgrade to one of our beautiful Duplex suites and had a wonderful stay with us. It is great that you would choose us again and we would be delighted to welcome you back!

Yours sincerely

Andreas K.
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Munich, Germany
Level Contributor
65 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 240 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 January 2012

A perfect stylish calm hotel next to the Alster in a perfect location, good service, smoking lounge, bar - just everything you should expect from a city hotel for business travel...

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Andreowski
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMHamburg, General Manager at Le Meridien Hamburg, responded to this review, 7 January 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your time to share your feedback with us.

It is fantastic to hear that you had a wonderful stay at Le Royal Méridien Hamburg and enjoyed the calm and stylish atmosphere in the Hotel.

We very much hope we will be able to welcome you back upon your next trip to Hamburg.

Yours Sincerely

Andreas K.
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 December 2011

We stayed here as a family over Christmas......a peaceful and elegant hotel with great service.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank worthin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMHamburg, General Manager at Le Meridien Hamburg, responded to this review, 3 January 2012
Dear Guest,

We are very glad you and your family enjoyed your time with us and hope you had a good start in 2012! Thank you for your time and your positive comments.

We very much hope to see you again very soon.

Yours sincerely

Andreas K.
Generla Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hamburg hotels
Hamburg-Altstadt
Sofitel Hamburg Alter Wall
Park Hyatt Hamburg
#4 of 317 in Hamburg
2,306 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hamburg-Altstadt
Barcelo Hamburg
Barcelo Hamburg
#27 of 317 in Hamburg
1,368 reviews
Neustadt
The Madison Hamburg
The Madison Hamburg
#3 of 317 in Hamburg
998 reviews
Neustadt
Fairmont Hotel Vier Jahreszeiten
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Le Meridien Hamburg? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Meridien Hamburg

Property: Le Meridien Hamburg
Address: An der Alster 52 - 56, 20099 Hamburg, Germany
Region: Germany > Hamburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#13 Spa Hotel in Hamburg
#17 Business Hotel in Hamburg
#18 Family Hotel in Hamburg
#24 Luxury Hotel in Hamburg
#32 Romantic Hotel in Hamburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Le Meridien Hamburg 5*
Number of rooms: 275
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Le Meridien Hamburg, idyllically situated at the Outhern Alster lake in the trendy district St. Georg offers 275 rooms including 14 suites (with Alsterview). All rooms provide LED-TVs and high-speed internet. Free daily newspapers and tea + coffee preparation facilities are featured in the Le Meridien Hamburg's air-conditioned rooms + suites. All throughout the hotel guests can receive complimentary Wi-Fi access. Bathrobes and high-quality toiletries are provided in the elegant bathrooms. Innovative variations of Mediterranean cuisine, inspired by Hanseatic style are served in the restaurant Le Ciel on the 9th floor of the hotel with a panoramic view of the Outhern Alster lake. Guests are offered a free boat trip on the Alster as part of the Unlock Art™ Programme. The hotel spa "Emotion Spa" with a fitness center offers various possibilities for recreation + relaxation. Le Meridien Hamburg owns 13 conference rooms with an event area of total 721 m². Discover ,,Meetings with a View"- conferences and events with a breathtaking view of the Alster lake. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Ebookers, Odigeo, Agoda, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HRS, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Le Meridien Hamburg reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Le Meridien Royal Hamburg Hotel Hamburg
Meridien Royal Hamburg
Hamburg Le Meridien

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing