We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Le Meridien Hamburg
Nearby Hotels
US$323
US$274
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$110
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$162
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Ibis Budget Hamburg City(Hamburg)(Great Value!)
US$89
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
US$94
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$135
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$129
US$121
Orbitz.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$170
US$158
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
The Madison Hamburg(Hamburg)
US$182
US$170
Official Site
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$112
US$96
NH Hotels
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (1,574)
Filter reviews
1,574 results
Traveller rating
874
483
150
39
28
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
874
483
150
39
28
Show reviews that mention
All reviewstop flooralster lakewalk in showergreat hoteldeluxe roomst georglange reiheminute walkspa areaan upgraderooftop barmodern designbreakfast roomsteam roomthe main train stationfitness centerbusy road
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
389 - 394 of 1,574 reviews
Reviewed 14 November 2013

In Hamburg on business, and my second stay at this hotel.... It is perfectly located on the Outer Alster - ideal for gentle walks or runs around the lake, and walking distance from the city centre. The hotel is very well designed, with quality public spaces and excellent large rooms - good beds, furnishings, very good shower! The music play-lists in the lifts and the interesting art works demonstrate the thought that has gone into making this a great place to stay. The restaurant has a wonderful view and breakfast offers good choice... evening dining is similarly of a high quality. One quibble - as with so many other top-end hotels, the Meridien charges a ludicrous rate for in-room wi-fi... On top of a pretty hefty (but acceptable) rack-rate.... These days everyone needs to be able to access internet - it isn't really an "optional extra" and I think we all know that the marginal cost to the hotel is hardly anything. We aren't charged for toilet rolls, so why for internet? It simply leaves a sour taste. Other than this (and this hotel is not alone in this practice) a great place to stay and high quality staff too...

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank trippingferret
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMHamburg, General Manager at Le Meridien Hamburg, responded to this reviewResponded 11 December 2013

Dear Guest,

thank you very much for such an amazing feedback on this online plattform.

It is great to hear that we could reach all your high standards and that we could leave such a very good impression. Did you know that we offer free Internet in our lobby area? There you can have a seat, a drink and maybe a little talk with our Guest Relations Manager about what is on your mind and how we can improve your stay even more.

We hope to welcome you soon at Le Meridien Hamburg!

Kind regards,
Andreas K.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 November 2013

This hotel is very modern and could easily pass for a W Hotel if it were not branded as a Le Meridien. It has a nice location and is convenient to the center of town and lots of good restaurants. The rooms are well appointed and modern. Everyone at the hotel is quite friendly and service-oriented. My only complaint is that the dinner menu in the main restaurant is somewhat limited and the quality of the food in the bar is sub-par. When I asked for the hamburger to be cooked medium rare, they told me the burger was already pre-cooked well done and that they just warm it up. A 5-star hotel should be capable of cooking a hamburger to order based on the customer's preference.

Views of the lake from the bar and the restaurant are wonderful. Breakfast is a free-for-all: you find your own table (not easy at busy times) and then it's a buffet from there. Again, a 5-star property should have a menu, too, for those who do not want the buffet.

Room Tip: Odd numbered rooms face the lake and they do have a very nice view of the lake.
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jon5839
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMHamburg, General Manager at Le Meridien Hamburg, responded to this reviewResponded 10 December 2013

Dear Guest,

thank you very much for taking the time to give us feedback on this online plattform.

We are very sorry to hear that we could not reach your standarts accoring to the food in our restaurant. Your feedback will be taken to improve ourselves within our team and of course our kunilary delights. We would love to improve our first impression therefore it would be great to welcome you soon back at our hotel.

Kind regards,
Andreas K.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 November 2013

We visited hamburg for a couple of days in this past summer, colder than we expected and the second day we arrived it actually started to rain...felt like autumn, but our hotel choice definitely made this visit much more attractive. Our room was facing the lake (outer lake I think - I don't speak German), so it meant on one hand we had fantastic views and fresh air by just opening our balcony door and on the other hand we were able to keep a decent distance from the noise and crowd that happened to be surrounding the inner lake during our stay because of a kind of festival celebration. I did enjoy the firecrackers in the evening and nothing was more cozy than watching a live firecracker show right out of your hotel balcony. I felt it was totally worth every penny/Euro spent!

The hotel was in very good status, as you would expect a Royal Le Meridien would be - actually our captain talked about our hotel briefly as well while we were taking the boat ride on Hamburg's lakes and waters, with admiration.

The breakfast was nice, but we couldn't get in the breakfast room with a lake view because it was full and many guests like us were asked to go to the 8th floor (as far as I can remember) to dine in their function rooms. Even the 8th floor rooms were full at around 9:30 am, peak time for breakfast. We didn't eat anything else in the hotel, but took the chance to try out other things in Hamburg, great experiences.

Room Tip: Book a room with a lake view.
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank WinnieTells
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMHamburg, General Manager at Le Meridien Hamburg, responded to this reviewResponded 10 December 2013

Dear Guest,

first of all thank you very much for your feedback on tripadvisor.

We are more than happy to hear that we could leave such a good impression. It is great that you cold enjoy our delicious breakfast unfortunatly not in our Le Ciel Restaurant but we still hope that you liked it. We will share your excellent feedback within our team and hope to welcome you soon at Le Meridien Hamburg!

Kind regards,
Andreas K.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 November 2013

the ride from the airport took about only 20-25mins and there is a super market near the hotel. the Alster lake is right in front of the hotel and provides nice views if you can get a room facing the front of the hotel. the city centre is also abt 15-20mins walk away and good (branded) shops are all there... its a lovely city and Le Meridien is a good rest stop for your trips!

The breakfast at the hotel has a wide spread and you can also request for yummy pancakes and waffles, congee etc if you dont like european cold meats in the morning.

The rooms on the second floor are big and spacious.. and the bathtub looks lovely. try asking for a room with the lake view if possible. my room 228 was facing the back of the hotel, so no views there.

overall my stay at the hotel was lovely, comfortable bed and bath. lovely breakfast.
the only 2 points the hotel failed me were:
a) when i checked in, the coffee cups left by the previous occupant was still on the bar top. yikes.
b) when i ordered room service using one of the hotel phones, there was no sound coming from the other end of line, so i called a few times and ended up trying another phone in the room. The room service attendant who finally picked up said to me sarcastically that i shouldnt have called so many times. I told her off and explained to her the situation. I am a Starwood Member and that kind of service attitude shocked me.

Room Tip: ask for rooms facing the river!
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ChinkChong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMHamburg, General Manager at Le Meridien Hamburg, responded to this reviewResponded 27 November 2013

Dear Guest,

thank you very much for your feedback and for the time you did spent on this entry.

We are very happy that you did enjoy your time in our hotel and in the city.

It is very sad to hear that you had such a bad experience with our room service and cleaning team. You can be sure that we will work on that issue and this will never happen again in the near future. I apologize very much for this impression in our hotel.

We hope that we are able to welcome you back one day in the Le Royal Méridien Hamburg.

With Kind Regards,

Andreas K.,
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 November 2013

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
GMHamburg, General Manager at Le Meridien Hamburg, responded to this reviewResponded 27 November 2013

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
View more reviews