We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good but not the best at the Alster lake”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Le Meridien Hamburg
Ranked #29 of 319 Hotels in Hamburg
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 2 February 2014

The Meridien is a very good hotel at the Alster lake in Hamburg. The pros are the very friendly staff at the check in, the nice concierge an bell boy servicec, the spa and especially the breakfast restaurant on the 9th floor from where you have a wonderful view on the Alster and Hamburg.
The room designs and the hallways are disappointing, it feels a bit like Ikea, modern but defintely not 5 star.
Again, the great service level and the value for money makes it a good place to stay in Hamburg.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JR1Amsterdam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,476)
There are newer reviews for Le Meridien Hamburg
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

337 - 343 of 1,476 reviews

Reviewed 31 January 2014

after a 3.5 hour train ride from Frankfurt we checked into what we were expecting to be a 5 star hotel...It was a bit of a downer , reception was nice but when we got to the 5th floor the 5 star became 4 star at best , a very ugly light blue painted walls with not so nice decor to match, our room was nice but missing the 5 star touch, looks great but far from great ...the bar and eating place on the top floor was very nice and hip but again they tried too hard to be different and got it all wrong...shame its a great location and the staff are very nice and friendly...and NO FREE wifi , they just lost my business for my next visit to hamburg!

Room Tip: ask for a room with the water view , if not they stuck you at the back looking into other apartemnts...
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank fletch305
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMHamburg, General Manager at Le Meridien Hamburg, responded to this reviewResponded 3 February 2014

Dear Guest,

thank you very much for your feedback and for your stay at the Le Meridien Hamburg.

We are very sorry that we could not fulfill your expectations and we would like to apologize for the inconvenience. Please contact for your next stay our Guest Relations Manager Ms Victoria Vollrath under her e-mail: victoria.vollrath@lemeridienhamburg.com.

Hopefully we are able to welcome you back soon again at the Alster Lake.

With Kind Regards,

Andreas K.,
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 January 2014

The Royal Le Meridien Hamburg is among my favourite hotels in Hamburg. The hotel is a five minute walk from the main trainstation. The hotel is located at the famous Aussen Alster, a beautiful fleed, the main city center can be found in 10 to 15 minutes walking distance.

I would advise everyone to book a room with Alster view, unless you mind the sometimes minimal noises from the traffic in front of the hotel. The view of the Lake is beautiful. The rooms are large. A great bed with very soft linens and a very nice bathroom, large deep tub and an amazing powershower. In general the staff is friendly but I always think the gentleman in the bar should be more friendly. Just a very nice place to stay!

Room Tip: Book a room with Alster view!
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jumeirah23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMHamburg, General Manager at Le Meridien Hamburg, responded to this reviewResponded 3 February 2014

Dear Guest,

thank you very much for your feedback and for your stay at the Le Meridien Hamburg.

We will share your impressions with the whole team and hopefully we are able to welcome you back soon again at the Alster Lake.

Please check upon your next stay with us our fantastic rooms with the view to the courtyard, there is not so much street noise!

With Kind Regards,

Andreas K.,
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 January 2014

This hotel is fantastic. The lobby is a little bit quirky, however, somewhat underwhelming, but who cares about that. The room, on the other hand, was absolutely stunning. A huge big room with a massive comfortable bed, sofa and chairs. The bathroom was probably one of the best hotel bathrooms I've seen. It contained a deep bath, walk in shower room with a rainfall shower and a vanity area. The TV also had lots of English channels which was a nice treat when we needed to relax.
During the day we walked into the city centre, which was approx. 10 minutes away. Later at night, we were about to get a taxi directly outside the hotel to go where we wanted.

Overall, a very pleasant stay in this luxurious hotel and I would definitely come back. I would love to come back again during the summer as there is a huge lake directly in front of the hotel.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Carolnin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMHamburg, General Manager at Le Meridien Hamburg, responded to this reviewResponded 3 February 2014

Dear Guest,

thank you very much for your feedback and for your stay at the Le Meridien Hamburg.

We will share your impressions with the whole team and hopefully we are able to welcome you back soon again at the Alster Lake.

In the summer time you can even take a paddle tour and boat trip on the lake or just relax! Please ask our Concierge Department for any details!

With Kind Regards,

Andreas K.,
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 January 2014

Very unpleasant experience. Made a booking for a night in december. Received no confirmation email and thought it'll be ok. Two days before travelling to Hamburg I got a letter in the post with a no-show charge of 110 euros. When calling them to ask what is going on I was informed my reservation was made for ten nights a week before my arrivial in Hamburg. The first person I spoke to at reception even suggested I misread the confirmation email which I didn't even get. I am very sure I chose the correct dates and reviewed my booking before clicking on confirm. It's not tue first time I have done this. The Head Office at Starwood just informed me I will not be getting a refund or anything.

Thanks Le Meridien Hamburg for ruining my xmas weekend. Hope you all had a good one. I am sure the hotel is great. However, I will not be staying at Le Meridien Hamburg nor any other Le Meridien on my travels in future.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Service
3  Thank Rantin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 January 2014

We recently stayed at this hotel for three nights as a family of four in two rooms. The hotels location is perfect, it is well located to many small bakeries if you want to eat a cheaper breakfast than the one on offer in the hotel (I can't comment on the breakfast as we did not eat in) and they are all within 5 minutes walk. The outlook from the hotel is over the Alster river which is stunning and provides a lovely riverside walkway all the way into the main area of Hamburg. There are two walking routes you can take along the river and they are both beautiful. The hotel rooms are well appointed, ours was an excellent size with a door to an outside terrace. The bathroom is huge, amazing stand alone bath and a shower that is seriously to die for with shower heads above in front and low...all of which can be controlled to suit your water flow. The staff speak excellent English, the reservation was confirmed and a pre welcome email received, the concierge was knowledgeable and extremely happy to help in any way and the desk staff were efficient, fast and friendly. I really do not have a negative comment...I even had to call for a new hairdryer as the one in the room was not working and a replacement arrived within minutes. Great hotel, well managed and we will most definitely return.

Room Tip: Rooms with a terrace, especially in summer would be beautiful or rooms with a view over the river ar...
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KJJEP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMHamburg, General Manager at Le Meridien Hamburg, responded to this reviewResponded 3 February 2014

Dear Guest,

thank you very much for your feedback and for your stay at the Le Meridien Hamburg.

We will share your impressions with the whole team and hopefully we are able to welcome you back soon again at the Alster Lake.

Thank you very much from the whole Le Meridien Hamburg Team for this detailed and tremendous feedback!

With Kind Regards,

Andreas K.,
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 January 2014

Easy walk from the main train station and beautiful view of the the Alster lake. Room was clean and artfully decorated with very comfortable bed and the same fantastic view as the 9th floor gourmet restaurant. Staff was friendly and helpful. Overall a great experience.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Heidi G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMHamburg, General Manager at Le Meridien Hamburg, responded to this reviewResponded 3 February 2014

Dear Guest,

thank you very much for your feedback and for your stay at the Le Meridien Hamburg.

We will share your impressions with the whole team and hopefully we are able to welcome you back soon again at the Alster Lake.

With Kind Regards,

Andreas K.,
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hamburg hotels
Hamburg-Altstadt
Sofitel Hamburg Alter Wall
Park Hyatt Hamburg
#5 of 319 in Hamburg
2,419 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Neustadt
The Madison Hamburg
The Madison Hamburg
#1 of 319 in Hamburg
1,045 reviews
Hamburg-Altstadt
Barcelo Hamburg
Barcelo Hamburg
#31 of 319 in Hamburg
1,498 reviews
Neustadt
Fairmont Hotel Vier Jahreszeiten
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Le Meridien Hamburg? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Meridien Hamburg

Address: An der Alster 52 - 56, 20099 Hamburg, Germany
Region: Germany > Hamburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#14 Spa Hotel in Hamburg
#17 Business Hotel in Hamburg
#18 Family Hotel in Hamburg
#25 Luxury Hotel in Hamburg
#32 Romantic Hotel in Hamburg
Price Range: £128 - £270 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Le Meridien Hamburg 5*
Number of rooms: 275
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Le Meridien Hamburg, idyllically situated at the Outhern Alster lake in the trendy district St. Georg offers 275 rooms including 14 suites (with Alsterview). All rooms provide LED-TVs and high-speed internet. Free daily newspapers and tea + coffee preparation facilities are featured in the Le Meridien Hamburg's air-conditioned rooms + suites. All throughout the hotel guests can receive complimentary Wi-Fi access. Bathrobes and high-quality toiletries are provided in the elegant bathrooms. Innovative variations of Mediterranean cuisine, inspired by Hanseatic style are served in the restaurant Le Ciel on the 9th floor of the hotel with a panoramic view of the Outhern Alster lake. Guests are offered a free boat trip on the Alster as part of the Unlock Art™ Programme. The hotel spa "Emotion Spa" with a fitness center offers various possibilities for recreation + relaxation. Le Meridien Hamburg owns 13 conference rooms with an event area of total 721 m². Discover ,,Meetings with a View"- conferences and events with a breathtaking view of the Alster lake. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, Hotels.com, Agoda, Ebookers, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Le Meridien Hamburg reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Le Meridien Royal Hamburg Hotel Hamburg
Meridien Royal Hamburg
Hamburg Le Meridien

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing