We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointed...but friendly staff and good location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Le Meridien Hamburg
Ranked #28 of 318 Hotels in Hamburg
Certificate of Excellence
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
145 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
“Disappointed...but friendly staff and good location”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 July 2014

Good things about this hotel: Friendly staff, excellent location, and good quality of food breakfast.
Not good things about this hotel: Rooms look like from an Ikea bedroom catalogue: cheap decoration and really uncomfortable. My bathroom was not functioning properly and stunk every morning; Slow room service: when you call the reception or room service it could take long time until they finally answer the phone; Deficient room cleaning: my room was dirty when I arrive and it was not properly clean everyday; Internet connection is slow and electric outlets are only for European standards so please bring your own adaptor otherwise you can not charge your phone or use your computer. I am a Starwood platinum member and they didn't give me a good upgrade, what really disappointed me little bit but I was more disappointed about the standard of this hotel, where the pool is in the basement with no air circulation and with cool pool water. If you want to have a good view of the Alster, ask for high floor, otherwise you will see only trees and cars running in front of your window.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Viajeromundial007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMHamburg, General Manager at Le Meridien Hamburg, responded to this review, 30 July 2014
Dear TripAdvisor User,

Thank you very much for your very feedback! It is great to hear that we could satisfy you with our location as well as our friendly staff and service. We regret that that there were some issues as well like our room service, terms of cleanliness or answering the phone at the reception. Please be sure that I have already discussed your points with the responsible managers. Nevertheless we hope that we have the chance to improve this first impression.

It would be great to welcome you again at Le Méridien Hamburg!

Kind regards,
Andreas K.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,380 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    778
    417
    133
    32
    20
See reviews for
165
504
130
411
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (151)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Rome, Italy
Level Contributor
68 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 July 2014 via mobile

Elegant, clean, comfortable
Ideal for a good rest after a long working day. The breakfasts on the last floor are absolutely great and the view is breathtaking. Do not make the mistake to order room service for breakfast! The hotel is centrally located and perfect for a nice walk in the city center. Not very efficient the personal at the check in/check out and during my last stay they missed to book me the taxi as requested the night before which created quite few challenges the morning after at 8:00 am. But a part from this it is worth going and in my case... Coming back!

Stayed May 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank IlaBenni
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMHamburg, General Manager at Le Meridien Hamburg, responded to this review, 25 July 2014
Dear Guest,

thank you very much for your feedback @tripadvisor!

It is great to hear that you had at great time staying with us. We regret that check out did not went out as planned but please be sure that we will work on this issue.

We hope to welcome you soon again at Le Meridien Hamburg!

Kind regards,
Andreas K.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
25 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 June 2014

Hotel is just next to Alster Lake and walking distance to Main Railroad Station which is very good for a short time visit to Hamburg. If you find room service expensive, there are plenty of restaurants behind the hotel. You can join others to run alongside the lake if you like running or you can simply enjoy the beautiful scenery while sitting on the bench. Gym is available, however it is not enough for heavy trainers and it is quite small and needs a better air conditioning, Breakfast buffet is awesome but a little bit expensive which is €30. Room are quiet and beds are very comfortable to sleep if you are a freqıent traveller and needs a good sleep before your next trip. I really enjoyed staying here.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dawn R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hythe
Level Contributor
15 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 June 2014

I stayed here in June for business in a suite room on the 8th floor. The room was extremely comfortable with a fantastic bathroom - the bath was long a deep and ideal for a good soak. There was a good shower with variable controls. The only downside about the room was a lack of drawer space for clothes. I am sure this is fine for a short stay but anything longer than week or with two guests would be a problem.

Breakfast was in the 9th floor restaurant and there was a nice selection of good quality food. Although the restaurant was quite busy the staff managed very well and there was rarely a dirty table or plates to be removed. They were very efficient indeed.

It was warm during the week I stayed and although the air conditioning in the room was fine, the atmosphere was stifling in the hallways. This might be a Hamburg thing though because it was the same in many places throughout the city during my stay.

The Hotel is situated within walking distance of the main station (with small luggage), the main shopping area and has an excellent position on the Alsterlake. If you like jogging or walking then the circuit around the lake is about 5 miles and it starts right across the road.

The Le Meridien remains my favourite hotel in Hamburg.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Stephen D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 June 2014

We spent three nights at the hotel, which is very comfortable. On the 3rd floor trees slightly obstruct the view on the Alster... we should have insisted on a room on a higher floor. In order to compensate we spent some time in the bar on the 9th floor, where the view is excellent. The bar staff is professional but could be friendlier. Breakfast is served in the adjacent restaurant, the buffet offers a nearly limitless variety of choices.
The hotel is clean even though we were bemused by the spider residing in the corner of our room, we called it Boris.
Two points of criticism: 1) the diameter of bath tap is too small, it takes for ever to fill a bath. 2) The air conditioning needs fine tuning - every morning our eyes felt as dried out as they usually do after a night on an intercontinental flight.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank shokunin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMHamburg, General Manager at Le Meridien Hamburg, responded to this review, 23 July 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for having taken the time to share the experience of your stay at Le Meridien Hamburg. I was pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay with us and appreciate your comments about our beautiful location, team and our Le Ciel Restaurant et Bar. It seems that "Boris" found his way back in the nature so unfortunately you won't be able to meet him again at your next stay.

We truly regret that our bath facilities and our air conditioning did not match your expectations nevertheless we are working on a solution in this cases.

Please be our guest in the near future!

Best regards,
Andreas K.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 May 2014

Was VERY impressed with the customer service at this hotel....haven't been received with that many smiles yet in Europe. In addition, the location was fabulous, the room was lovely, comfortable and clean, and the breakfast was divine. Would definitely return!

Room Tip: Ask for a view of the Alster.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Carla S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMHamburg, General Manager at Le Meridien Hamburg, responded to this review, 22 July 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your very positive feedback and the very nice comments about our hotel as well as our team. It has been a great pleasure for us having you staying at Le Meridien Hamburg!

We hope welcoming you back in the near future!

Kind regards.
Andreas K.
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paris, France
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 May 2014

down in the center with a fantastic view on the Elbe river : amazing especially having a breakfast at the roof restaurant !
the room is modern and with all equipments, great spa too and perfect service at the restaurant.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank scalp95
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMHamburg, General Manager at Le Meridien Hamburg, responded to this review, 28 May 2014
Dear Guest,

kind regards from Hamburg!

Thank you very very much for this great feedback on tripadvisor. We are very happy to hear that we could reach your standards and that you had a great time with us .Our location directly on the Alster is one of our unique selling products and we are very proud of that - glad you liked it as well.

Be our guest in the near future- we are happy to welcome you back at the Le Méridien Hamburg!

Kind regards,
Andreas K.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hamburg hotels
Hamburg-Altstadt
Sofitel Hamburg Alter Wall
Park Hyatt Hamburg
#5 of 318 in Hamburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,178 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hamburg-Altstadt
Barcelo Hamburg
Barcelo Hamburg
#27 of 318 in Hamburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,279 reviews
Neustadt
The Madison Hamburg
The Madison Hamburg
#3 of 318 in Hamburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 975 reviews
Neustadt
Fairmont Hotel Vier Jahreszeiten
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Le Meridien Hamburg? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Meridien Hamburg

Property: Le Meridien Hamburg
Address: An der Alster 52 - 56, 20099 Hamburg, Germany
Region: Germany > Hamburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#13 Spa Hotel in Hamburg
#17 Business Hotel in Hamburg
#18 Family Hotel in Hamburg
#24 Luxury Hotel in Hamburg
#32 Romantic Hotel in Hamburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Le Meridien Hamburg 5*
Number of rooms: 275
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Le Meridien Hamburg, idyllically situated at the Outhern Alster lake in the trendy district St. Georg offers 275 rooms including 14 suites (with Alsterview). All rooms provide LED-TVs and high-speed internet. Free daily newspapers and tea + coffee preparation facilities are featured in the Le Meridien Hamburg's air-conditioned rooms + suites. All throughout the hotel guests can receive complimentary Wi-Fi access. Bathrobes and high-quality toiletries are provided in the elegant bathrooms. Innovative variations of Mediterranean cuisine, inspired by Hanseatic style are served in the restaurant Le Ciel on the 9th floor of the hotel with a panoramic view of the Outhern Alster lake. Guests are offered a free boat trip on the Alster as part of the Unlock Art™ Programme. The hotel spa "Emotion Spa" with a fitness center offers various possibilities for recreation + relaxation. Le Meridien Hamburg owns 13 conference rooms with an event area of total 721 m². Discover ,,Meetings with a View"- conferences and events with a breathtaking view of the Alster lake. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Le Meridien Hamburg reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Le Meridien Royal Hamburg Hotel Hamburg
Meridien Royal Hamburg
Hamburg Le Meridien

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing