We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great weekend :)”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Le Meridien Hamburg
Ranked #29 of 319 Hotels in Hamburg
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 11 August 2014 via mobile

incredible location!
very elegant, bright and clean rooms. such a colorful bathroom with everything you need! extremely comfortable bed and extra helpful staff.
Have at least once breakfast at the top of the hotel on the 9th flour: excellent food and great view!!
only negative aspect: for a hotel from its category, the spa area was not at all kept clean, and there was no staff seen to be doing something about it neither in the sauna area nor in the changing rooms. disappointing.
other wise: what a wonderful stay!

Stayed: August 2014
Thank chrigitravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,476)
There are newer reviews for Le Meridien Hamburg
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

302 - 308 of 1,476 reviews

Reviewed 10 August 2014

Amazing hotel with perfect location on the lake, in walking distance from many restaurants, shops, city center and main train station. If you are lucky and have a room with a lake view you will not want to leave. Tie view is amazing. Rooms are absolutely adorable, fashionable (turquoise color), comfortable bed, etc. but the best part is the bathroom, which is truly a bathroom of my dreams, with alone standing bath. Everything was clean, just perfect. Breakfast are also very nice, the restaurant is o. Top floor with amazing view on the lake. Choice is excellent and food very delicious. Hotel staff was very helpful too. If you like jogging, you would be more than amazed with this 7km track around the lake, just across the hotel. Absolutely recommended!!!

Room Tip: Try the lake view rooms
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Service
Thank mishii_mis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 August 2014

As a long-time member of Starwood Preferred hotels, this Meridian was a bust. During our three day stay, the spacious lobby was more often than not crowded with small, boisterous children who climbed on the chairs, ran around the sitting area, and were ignored by parents/caregivers who were there but oblivious. This was all occurring directly in front of the reception desk and the concierge staff, but no staff members said anything or tried to manage this scene. At night, there were children running laps in the hallway on our "Preferred Guest" floor. We couldn't leave soon enough.

On a positive note, the breakfast buffet was good and the staff were excellent. But that alone won't lure us back.

Room Tip: If you must stay here, get a room as high up in the hotel as possible.
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank ArtHistoryLover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 July 2014

Excellent 4 star hotel in Hamburg. Great location in a trendy central area along the lake. Good shopping and restaurants within minutes walk. Modern hotel with spacious clean and tredy decorated rooms. I had a room with a lake view which was also nice. Only small negative I would say is that for a hotel of this class, there were hardly any bathroom amenities. So I had to call down for a razor (which they did bring promptly) and there was no toothbrush/toothpaste kit. Great hotel and will stay there again, but that was a little bit of a surprise.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled solo
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Edward L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 July 2014

We recently stayed in this very modern and beautiful hotel. Very friendly reception. Rooms are modern light and airy. We opted for a suite with lake view. It was worth it. Almost.
The beds however are awfull. There is no top matress, which makes it very hard. Sleep quality is bad and you are tender in your back the next day. Appareantly none of the rooms have this. That is a shame and that is why we cannot come back to this other wise great hotel.
Breakfast buffet is excellent, just as you expect in this category og hotel i Germany.
Location is next to the lake, with little bars and restaurants along the shore.
It is a 10-15 min. stroll to downtown.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Andy-Dandy1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 July 2014

I have stayed in this hotel on a few occasions for business and now returned with my family for a weekend to explore Hamburg and go to a wedding. It was great; we had lovely rooms which are extremely well equipped with everything you might need from a kettle to an ironing station! The gym and pool are good. The location is excellent right on the Ausser Alster Lake and a few moments from Lange Reihe for bars and restaurants and not far from the Rathaus and other places of interest in Hamburg.

Room Tip: Lake facing rooms have the best views but you need to keep the balcony doors closed because of noise...
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Emma647
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 July 2014

Good things about this hotel: Friendly staff, excellent location, and good quality of food breakfast.
Not good things about this hotel: Rooms look like from an Ikea bedroom catalogue: cheap decoration and really uncomfortable. My bathroom was not functioning properly and stunk every morning; Slow room service: when you call the reception or room service it could take long time until they finally answer the phone; Deficient room cleaning: my room was dirty when I arrive and it was not properly clean everyday; Internet connection is slow and electric outlets are only for European standards so please bring your own adaptor otherwise you can not charge your phone or use your computer. I am a Starwood platinum member and they didn't give me a good upgrade, what really disappointed me little bit but I was more disappointed about the standard of this hotel, where the pool is in the basement with no air circulation and with cool pool water. If you want to have a good view of the Alster, ask for high floor, otherwise you will see only trees and cars running in front of your window.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank Viajeromundial007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMHamburg, General Manager at Le Meridien Hamburg, responded to this reviewResponded 30 July 2014

Dear TripAdvisor User,

Thank you very much for your very feedback! It is great to hear that we could satisfy you with our location as well as our friendly staff and service. We regret that that there were some issues as well like our room service, terms of cleanliness or answering the phone at the reception. Please be sure that I have already discussed your points with the responsible managers. Nevertheless we hope that we have the chance to improve this first impression.

It would be great to welcome you again at Le Méridien Hamburg!

Kind regards,
Andreas K.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hamburg hotels
Hamburg-Altstadt
Sofitel Hamburg Alter Wall
Park Hyatt Hamburg
#5 of 319 in Hamburg
2,419 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Neustadt
The Madison Hamburg
The Madison Hamburg
#1 of 319 in Hamburg
1,045 reviews
Hamburg-Altstadt
Barcelo Hamburg
Barcelo Hamburg
#31 of 319 in Hamburg
1,498 reviews
Neustadt
Fairmont Hotel Vier Jahreszeiten
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Le Meridien Hamburg? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Meridien Hamburg

Address: An der Alster 52 - 56, 20099 Hamburg, Germany
Region: Germany > Hamburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#14 Spa Hotel in Hamburg
#17 Business Hotel in Hamburg
#18 Family Hotel in Hamburg
#25 Luxury Hotel in Hamburg
#32 Romantic Hotel in Hamburg
Price Range: £128 - £270 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Le Meridien Hamburg 5*
Number of rooms: 275
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Le Meridien Hamburg, idyllically situated at the Outhern Alster lake in the trendy district St. Georg offers 275 rooms including 14 suites (with Alsterview). All rooms provide LED-TVs and high-speed internet. Free daily newspapers and tea + coffee preparation facilities are featured in the Le Meridien Hamburg's air-conditioned rooms + suites. All throughout the hotel guests can receive complimentary Wi-Fi access. Bathrobes and high-quality toiletries are provided in the elegant bathrooms. Innovative variations of Mediterranean cuisine, inspired by Hanseatic style are served in the restaurant Le Ciel on the 9th floor of the hotel with a panoramic view of the Outhern Alster lake. Guests are offered a free boat trip on the Alster as part of the Unlock Art™ Programme. The hotel spa "Emotion Spa" with a fitness center offers various possibilities for recreation + relaxation. Le Meridien Hamburg owns 13 conference rooms with an event area of total 721 m². Discover ,,Meetings with a View"- conferences and events with a breathtaking view of the Alster lake. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Agoda, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Le Meridien Hamburg reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Le Meridien Royal Hamburg Hotel Hamburg
Meridien Royal Hamburg
Hamburg Le Meridien

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing