We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent stay at an excellent property!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Le Meridien Hamburg
Ranked #27 of 317 Hotels in Hamburg
Certificate of Excellence
Corona, California
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Excellent stay at an excellent property!”
Reviewed 23 August 2014

Spent a week at this property while on business in Hamburg. A great facility, friendly staff, fantastic views, perfect and central location... overall a very nice stay and I will continue to stay here on subsequent visits to Hamburg.

Room Tip: A river view room! Fantastic view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MyBrokenJeep
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,454 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    813
    444
    140
    36
    21
See reviews for
171
530
132
437
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (158)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Miesbach, Germany
Level 3 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 August 2014

We stayed over Easter 2014 at the Royal Meridien as we were visiting family and friends. Having stayed over the time at different Le Meridien Hotels througout the world, I had specific expectations which were unfortunately not met.

The overall hotel design is very cold, not really welcoming, the rooms (we had a Junior Suite) are small - especially the bathroom (maybe adequate for single travellers, but not for a couple) and not all the staff is friendly - some are icredily helpful, others down right customer unfriendly.

But what really upset me was arriving by car at 1 AM on Easter Sunday and being very serenely informed that the Concierge is no longer on duty, so that instead of the (paid!) parking place in the hotel underground parking we would have to search for a parking place out in the street on our own. And the hotel is situated in a very populated residential area of Hamburg, where it is close to impossible to get a spot. That is by my standards no 5* service! I won't go back ...

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lilllllia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saskatoon, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
84 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 August 2014

Great service at check in. Beautiful room, however paid for a lake view. We were on the 3rd floor so not above the tree line so the view was not much. Also from that floor if you left your balcony door open, the traffic noise was very loud.

We ordered in room service. We both ordered a burger. It was great, however unless you bot have a huge hunger, order one and share. The burger was huge with a large amount of fries.

I was disappointed with the price of parking 29€ per night! but to be expected in any large city.

Room Tip: Don't pay for the water view unless they can guarantee a room above the third floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GB S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Texas
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 August 2014

We enjoyed a lovely stay in early August 2014 and would return in a heartbeat! The rooms and public areas met our expectations of a Le Meridien property--they were stylish, clean, comfortable and stocked with the usual amenities. Four things made the property stand out to us:

(1) Location - Very convenient for walking to most tourist areas and connecting with public transportation and the lake boats, plus there are drop dead gorgeous views from the top floor restaurant/bar of the old town and both inner and outer Alster. (See pix) I think only the Radisson Blu across the lake has better views (but it is less well-located and didn't feel as classy as Le Royal Meridien, at least from our walk through the lobby to go to its fabulous rooftop bar for a drink).

(2) Staff - We can't say enough about the friendly professionalism and helpfulness of the front desk staff, concierge personnel, doormen and restaurant wait staff. All delivered exellent customer service!

(3) Breakfast - You can't help but feel inspired about the day ahead after taking breakfast here as the array of offerings is equal to the breathaking view! The buffet food was fresh, top quality, attractively displayed and so varied, and the hot made-to-order eggs, pancakes, etc. were delicious.

(4) Value - We booked a Starwood deal that included breakfast, unlimited boat service and an art museum admission. Often, we are unimpressed by the extras, but at this property, they definitely added value to the rate.

Tip: For summer visitors who are used to AC-cooled rooms, we found it tricky to get sufficient AC in the room, but once we mentioned it, the front desk offered good advice on how to improve cooling.

All in all, we think Le Royal Meridien is a perfect choice for Hamburg!

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ArtemisTX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Switzerland
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 August 2014 via mobile

incredible location!
very elegant, bright and clean rooms. such a colorful bathroom with everything you need! extremely comfortable bed and extra helpful staff.
Have at least once breakfast at the top of the hotel on the 9th flour: excellent food and great view!!
only negative aspect: for a hotel from its category, the spa area was not at all kept clean, and there was no staff seen to be doing something about it neither in the sauna area nor in the changing rooms. disappointing.
other wise: what a wonderful stay!

Stayed August 2014
Helpful?
Thank chrigitravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Slovakia
Level 6 Contributor
158 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 August 2014

Amazing hotel with perfect location on the lake, in walking distance from many restaurants, shops, city center and main train station. If you are lucky and have a room with a lake view you will not want to leave. Tie view is amazing. Rooms are absolutely adorable, fashionable (turquoise color), comfortable bed, etc. but the best part is the bathroom, which is truly a bathroom of my dreams, with alone standing bath. Everything was clean, just perfect. Breakfast are also very nice, the restaurant is o. Top floor with amazing view on the lake. Choice is excellent and food very delicious. Hotel staff was very helpful too. If you like jogging, you would be more than amazed with this 7km track around the lake, just across the hotel. Absolutely recommended!!!

Room Tip: Try the lake view rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mishii_mis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 August 2014

As a long-time member of Starwood Preferred hotels, this Meridian was a bust. During our three day stay, the spacious lobby was more often than not crowded with small, boisterous children who climbed on the chairs, ran around the sitting area, and were ignored by parents/caregivers who were there but oblivious. This was all occurring directly in front of the reception desk and the concierge staff, but no staff members said anything or tried to manage this scene. At night, there were children running laps in the hallway on our "Preferred Guest" floor. We couldn't leave soon enough.

On a positive note, the breakfast buffet was good and the staff were excellent. But that alone won't lure us back.

Room Tip: If you must stay here, get a room as high up in the hotel as possible.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ArtHistoryLover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hamburg hotels
Hamburg-Altstadt
Sofitel Hamburg Alter Wall
Park Hyatt Hamburg
#4 of 317 in Hamburg
2,376 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Neustadt
The Madison Hamburg
The Madison Hamburg
#1 of 317 in Hamburg
1,024 reviews
Neustadt
Fairmont Hotel Vier Jahreszeiten
Hamburg-Altstadt
Barcelo Hamburg
Barcelo Hamburg
#29 of 317 in Hamburg
1,447 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Le Meridien Hamburg? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Meridien Hamburg

Property: Le Meridien Hamburg
Address: An der Alster 52 - 56, 20099 Hamburg, Germany
Region: Germany > Hamburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#13 Spa Hotel in Hamburg
#16 Business Hotel in Hamburg
#17 Family Hotel in Hamburg
#24 Luxury Hotel in Hamburg
#31 Romantic Hotel in Hamburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Le Meridien Hamburg 5*
Number of rooms: 275
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Le Meridien Hamburg, idyllically situated at the Outhern Alster lake in the trendy district St. Georg offers 275 rooms including 14 suites (with Alsterview). All rooms provide LED-TVs and high-speed internet. Free daily newspapers and tea + coffee preparation facilities are featured in the Le Meridien Hamburg's air-conditioned rooms + suites. All throughout the hotel guests can receive complimentary Wi-Fi access. Bathrobes and high-quality toiletries are provided in the elegant bathrooms. Innovative variations of Mediterranean cuisine, inspired by Hanseatic style are served in the restaurant Le Ciel on the 9th floor of the hotel with a panoramic view of the Outhern Alster lake. Guests are offered a free boat trip on the Alster as part of the Unlock Art™ Programme. The hotel spa "Emotion Spa" with a fitness center offers various possibilities for recreation + relaxation. Le Meridien Hamburg owns 13 conference rooms with an event area of total 721 m². Discover ,,Meetings with a View"- conferences and events with a breathtaking view of the Alster lake. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Odigeo, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Le Meridien Hamburg reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Le Meridien Royal Hamburg Hotel Hamburg
Meridien Royal Hamburg
Hamburg Le Meridien

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing