We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice hotel” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Le Meridien Hamburg

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Le Meridien Hamburg
Ranked #27 of 318 Hotels in Hamburg
Certificate of Excellence
Atlanta, GA
Level Contributor
161 reviews
97 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 144 helpful votes
“Nice hotel”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 June 2009

Le Meridien is a nice enough hotel, but look for an internet special - it makes it more worthwhile. There are some restaurants in the area, and it is about 1 km from the Hauptbahnhof and the nearest S and U-Bahn stations. It is very close to the art museum but not particularly convenient to most other sights.

The rooms are generously sized and provide chairs and a mini-sofa for relaxing. The bathrooms are great with a faux old-fashioned tub, a large walk-in shower, big fluffy towels, and diverse toiletries. The mini-bar offerings are gratis but not diverse (the snacks are not free). The rooms also come with air-conditioning, robes, and a laptop safe. We found our stay to be very quiet despite the Harley motorcycle convention in town.

The paint, floors, and furniture show scuffs, cigarette burns, and wear-and-tear, so the last renovation must not have been too recent despite the modernistic decor. The harsh lighting and baby blue paint in the hall were especially well-suited to a hospital. The illuminated glass headboard was novel, and thankfully the purple neon accents could be turned off.

As these are only cosmetic things, I will say that our stay was very comfortable and pleasant. But I can only give them 4 stars instead of 5.

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank thrall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GRMHamburg, Guest Relations Manager at Le Meridien Hamburg, responded to this review, 13 July 2009
Dear Ms. Jesstoday,

Thank you very much for staying at Le Royal Méridien Hamburg and for taking the time to fill in our guest questionnaire. Due to the comments and suggestions from our guests, we are continually able to improve our high level of quality and service.

We are delighted to hear that you very much enjoyed your stay with us and that you had a very good impression of the hotel.

If you would like to book your next stay with points, please contact me directly and we can arrange the former.

We look very much forward to welcoming you again in the very near future.

Yours sincerely,
LE ROYAL MERIDIEN HAMBURG


Olivia von Hünersdorff
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,363 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    769
    411
    132
    31
    20
See reviews for
163
497
130
405
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (151)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Hamilton, Bermuda
Level Contributor
98 reviews
68 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 June 2009

Sated for twice 2 nights in Le Meridien. Staff is very dedicated and helpfull. Hotel is clean. Nice bar and restaurant with lake view at the top floor. Hotel located just on the aussenalster lake and some rooms have a very nice view, which offset the poor decoration. thay have tried to me artistic modern and the result look what i imagine to be a Scandinavian Dental clinic. Attention to SPG gold memebers is irregular. Other hotels offer more central location and fancier rooms -with no lake view- at better terms.

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank pprhh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GRMHamburg, Guest Relations Manager at Le Meridien Hamburg, responded to this review, 13 July 2009
Dear pprhh,

Thank you very much for staying at Le Royal Méridien Hamburg and for taking the time to fill in our guest questionnaire. Due to the comments and suggestions from our guests, we are continually able to improve our high level of quality and service.

We are delighted to hear that you very much enjoyed your stay with us and that you had a very good impression of the hotel.

We take your Starwood Preferred Gold status very seriously and indeed apologize if you did not have the impression that this is the case. We are sorry to hear, that the hotel design was not to your likings.

We, however, look very much forward to welcoming you again in the very near future in order to persuade you of our excellent services and facilities.

Yours sincerely,
LE ROYAL MERIDIEN HAMBURG


Olivia von Hünersdorff
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
20 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 June 2009

Good hotel overall. Within walking distance from main Hamburg train station! I didn't spend much time in the room or use the other hotel features since we were out so much but the room was pretty big, the bathroom was nice. Room had a mini fridge & lots of neat swag (cloth laundry bag, sewing kit, shampoos, etc). Beds were comfy and staff was helpful. I think it was € 100 a night & is a starwood hotel (yay points!).

I'd probably stay there again if I could reserve with points or if they had a special (the hotel beside us was only € 65/night).

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jesstoday
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GRMHamburg, Manager at Le Meridien Hamburg, responded to this review, 4 July 2010
Dear jesstoday,

Thank you very much for staying at Le Royal Méridien Hamburg and for taking the time to write a comment about our stay in www.tripadvisor.de. Due to the comments and suggestions from our guests, we are continually able to improve our high level of quality and service.

We are delighted to hear that you very much enjoyed your stay with us and that you had a very good impression of the hotel. It was indeed a pleasure to have you here.

If there is anything else I can do for you, please do not hesitate to contact me.

It was a pleasure to welcome you and we hope very much to be able to greet you again in the near future.

Yours sincerely,
LE ROYAL MERIDIEN HAMBURG


Olivia von Huenersdorff
Guest Relations Executive Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 May 2009

I come to Hamburg fairly often but I had to spend and extended time in Buenos Aires. During this time the world economic picture had changed drastically. Somehow I thought that things must have changed at the Le Meridien. Well I was right it had changed. The best had gotten better! This place is still staffed by a marvelously attentive group of people who genuinely care about their guests. The facility is meticulously maintained and superbly managed. The Le Meridien is my favorite place to stay in the world.

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank rtogo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GRMHamburg, Manager at Le Meridien Hamburg, responded to this review, 4 July 2010
Dear rtogo,

Thank you very much for staying at Le Royal Méridien Hamburg and for taking the time to write a comment about our stay in www.tripadvisor.de. Due to the comments and suggestions from our guests, we are continually able to improve our high level of quality and service.

We are delighted to hear that you very much enjoyed your stay with us and that you had a very good impression of the hotel. It was indeed a pleasure to have you here.

If there is anything else I can do for you, please do not hesitate to contact me.

It was a pleasure to welcome you and we hope very much to be able to greet you again in the near future.

Yours sincerely,
LE ROYAL MERIDIEN HAMBURG


Olivia von Huenersdorff
Guest Relations Executive Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Berlin, Germany
Level Contributor
82 reviews
67 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 April 2009

rooms
- sytlish interior.
- nice and comfortable (king size) bed
- room is a bit small though enough room to move around.
- coffee maker and mini bar in the room.
- two sofas / seating area in the room with a small table.
- a day bed inbetween the bed and Flatscreen TV (decent size, est. 40")
- small desk
- most awesome is the bath: an old style bath tub, a huge shower with all over the body sprinklers. very nice :)

hotel
- nice bar which can be smoked in the later part of the night.
- restaurant - which I did not try (due to the various offerings that are close by the hotel within walking distancem - eg. "Turnhalle", small Bistros, Cafes)
- service is great. average staff is experienced, friendly and helpful!
- everyone into running gonna love this place, the ALter river is across the street and ideal for a morning or after work run!
- there is a spa/sauna in the hotel - which I did not use
- within walking distance is a lifestyle club of fitnessfirst (approx. 10 min) as also the main train station (without heavy luggage, a nice walk - otherwise the cab drivers probably will dislike you ;))
- definately you need to have breakfast in the restaurant which is located on the 9th floor with an incredible view over the Alster and parts of Hamburg!!!

  • Stayed April 2009, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank dan_berlin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GRMHamburg, Guest Relations Manager at Le Meridien Hamburg, responded to this review, 8 June 2009
Dear dan_berlin,

Thank you very much for staying at Le Royal Méridien Hamburg and for taking the time to fill in our guest questionnaire. Due to the comments and suggestions from our guests, we are continually able to improve our high level of quality and service.

We are delighted to hear that you very much enjoyed your stay with us and that you had a very good impression of the hotel.

We look very much forward to welcoming you again in the very near future.

Yours sincerely,
LE ROYAL MERIDIEN HAMBURG


Olivia von Hünersdorff
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sevenoaks, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
45 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 April 2009

Probably the nicest Hotel I've ever stayed at - beautiful decorations, helpful staff wonderful atmosphere.
Only criticism is the price of foof in the restaurant - flat rate £20 for breakfast is a bit steep, especially iof you only want toast and cereal but I suppose its ok if you want to scoff out !

  • Stayed April 2009, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Dave_Lob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GRMHamburg, Manager at Le Meridien Hamburg, responded to this review, 5 July 2010
Dear Dave_Lob,

Thank you very much for staying at Le Royal Méridien Hamburg and for taking the time to write a comment about our stay in www.tripadvisor.de. Due to the comments and suggestions from our guests, we are continually able to improve our high level of quality and service.

We are delighted to hear that you very much enjoyed your stay with us and that you had a very good impression of the hotel. It was indeed a pleasure to have you here.

If there is anything else I can do for you, please do not hesitate to contact me.

It was a pleasure to welcome you and we hope very much to be able to greet you again in the near future.

Yours sincerely,
LE ROYAL MERIDIEN HAMBURG


Olivia von Huenersdorff
Guest Relations Executive Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
uae
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 February 2009

This hotel is very nice. Excellent rooms very clean. Bathroom is very nice. The one thing i ask for from a hotel is clean and this hotel is very clean. Hotel is very morden and bedrooms are a very good size. I would definetly use this hotel again. Breakfast is very good and the view from the resturant has an amzing view.

  • Stayed February 2009, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank sucklemujukla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GRMHamburg, Manager at Le Meridien Hamburg, responded to this review, 5 July 2010
Dear sucklemujukla,

Thank you very much for staying at Le Royal Méridien Hamburg and for taking the time to write a comment about our stay in www.tripadvisor.de. Due to the comments and suggestions from our guests, we are continually able to improve our high level of quality and service.

We are delighted to hear that you very much enjoyed your stay with us and that you had a very good impression of the hotel. It was indeed a pleasure to have you here.

If there is anything else I can do for you, please do not hesitate to contact me.

It was a pleasure to welcome you and we hope very much to be able to greet you again in the near future.

Yours sincerely,
LE ROYAL MERIDIEN HAMBURG


Olivia von Huenersdorff
Guest Relations Executive Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hamburg hotels
Hamburg-Altstadt
Sofitel Hamburg Alter Wall
Park Hyatt Hamburg
#5 of 318 in Hamburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,116 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Neustadt
The Madison Hamburg
The Madison Hamburg
#4 of 318 in Hamburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 957 reviews
Hamburg-Altstadt
Barcelo Hamburg
Barcelo Hamburg
#28 of 318 in Hamburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,243 reviews
Neustadt
Fairmont Hotel Vier Jahreszeiten
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Le Meridien Hamburg? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Meridien Hamburg

Property: Le Meridien Hamburg
Address: An der Alster 52 - 56, 20099 Hamburg, Germany
Region: Germany > Hamburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#13 Spa Hotel in Hamburg
#17 Business Hotel in Hamburg
#18 Family Hotel in Hamburg
#23 Luxury Hotel in Hamburg
#32 Romantic Hotel in Hamburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Le Meridien Hamburg 5*
Number of rooms: 275
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Le Meridien Hamburg, idyllically situated at the Outhern Alster lake in the trendy district St. Georg offers 275 rooms including 14 suites (with Alsterview). All rooms provide LED-TVs and high-speed internet. Free daily newspapers and tea + coffee preparation facilities are featured in the Le Meridien Hamburg's air-conditioned rooms + suites. All throughout the hotel guests can receive complimentary Wi-Fi access. Bathrobes and high-quality toiletries are provided in the elegant bathrooms. Innovative variations of Mediterranean cuisine, inspired by Hanseatic style are served in the restaurant Le Ciel on the 9th floor of the hotel with a panoramic view of the Outhern Alster lake. Guests are offered a free boat trip on the Alster as part of the Unlock Art™ Programme. The hotel spa "Emotion Spa" with a fitness center offers various possibilities for recreation + relaxation. Le Meridien Hamburg owns 13 conference rooms with an event area of total 721 m². Discover ,,Meetings with a View"- conferences and events with a breathtaking view of the Alster lake. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your Le Meridien Hamburg reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Le Meridien Royal Hamburg Hotel Hamburg
Meridien Royal Hamburg
Hamburg Le Meridien

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing