We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I've never given this high a rating...”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Le Meridien Hamburg
Ranked #31 of 321 Hotels in Hamburg
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 14 July 2009

So, I have never rated a hotel this highly. And I thought I had been impressed before! This hotel and accompanying staff blew me away. Beginning from my arrival, the valet and reception staff were so friendly. Check-in was a breeze and I was alerted that all drinks I'd find in the room are complimentary (what?!). I was also told I could pick up an apple and water at the table behind me...
My room was great - such a modern feel but so comfortable and useful. I love it when design meets convenience... There were outlets everywhere I needed one. There were hooks where I needed them. There was a neato fold out ironing board station that just looked like a fancy mirror. The super huge shower stall was cleverly disguised behind a frosted glass wall. Plus, cool claw tub, in you want a bath. The little details were present, too, in typical Le Meridien fashion: free admission to Deichtorhallen Hamburg.
Also, it was walking distance to shops. Across the street, a beautiful lake is there to be seen. The food was superb and the wait staff seemed to take a genuine interest in you.
I really liked the hotel, if you can't tell.

  • Stayed: July 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank rileigh15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GRMHamburg, Manager at Le Meridien Hamburg, responded to this reviewResponded 4 July 2010

Dear rileigh15,

Thank you very much for staying at Le Royal Méridien Hamburg and for taking the time to write a comment about our stay in www.tripadvisor.de. Due to the comments and suggestions from our guests, we are continually able to improve our high level of quality and service.

We are delighted to hear that you very much enjoyed your stay with us and that you had a very good impression of the hotel. It was indeed a pleasure to have you here! Thank you for all your kind words of praise.

If there is anything else I can do for you, please do not hesitate to contact me.

It was a pleasure to welcome you and we hope very much to be able to greet you again in the near future.

Yours sincerely,
LE ROYAL MERIDIEN HAMBURG


Olivia von Huenersdorff
Guest Relations Executive Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,536)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

607 - 613 of 1,536 reviews

Reviewed 14 July 2009

The hotel is a breath of fresh air in the hotel world in Hamburg.
Loved it all the way!

  • Stayed: July 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ctinom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GRMHamburg, Manager at Le Meridien Hamburg, responded to this reviewResponded 4 July 2010

Dear ctinom,

Thank you very much for staying at Le Royal Méridien Hamburg and for taking the time to write a comment about our stay in www.tripadvisor.de. Due to the comments and suggestions from our guests, we are continually able to improve our high level of quality and service.

We are delighted to hear that you very much enjoyed your stay with us and that you had a very good impression of the hotel. It was indeed a pleasure to have you here.

If there is anything else I can do for you, please do not hesitate to contact me.

It was a pleasure to welcome you and we hope very much to be able to greet you again in the near future.

Yours sincerely,
LE ROYAL MERIDIEN HAMBURG


Olivia von Huenersdorff
Guest Relations Executive Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 July 2009

A very comfortable, stylish hotel. The location is lakeside with an almost rural feeling, yet the hotel is only a short walk to the main trainstation and center of Hamburg.
The staff was cheerful and professional. Though not "cheap," the hotel was a good value. The breakfast room alone is worth a stay.
The hotel is also a convenient walk to bars and restaurants.

  • Stayed: July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Georgemia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GRMHamburg, Guest Relations Manager at Le Meridien Hamburg, responded to this reviewResponded 13 July 2009

Dear Georgemia,

Thank you very much for staying at Le Royal Méridien Hamburg and for taking the time to fill in our guest questionnaire. Due to the comments and suggestions from our guests, we are continually able to improve our high level of quality and service.

We are delighted to hear that you very much enjoyed your stay with us and that you had a very good impression of the hotel.

We look very much forward to welcoming you again in the very near future.

Yours sincerely,
LE ROYAL MERIDIEN HAMBURG


Olivia von Hünersdorff
Guest Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 July 2009

Have stayed at this very conveniently located hotel 3 times for business over the last 18 months. Have loved it each time, getting a room overlooking the river. The hotel is extremely modern and the bedrooms are beautiful. I wish I had taken some photos of my rooms when I have stayed....the lighting and etching of butterflies each side of the Queen size bed are really unique, have never seen anything like it in other business hotels I have stayed in.
The staff are very friendly and attentive, the food is superb (I always put on at least half a stone when I am there for the week), breakfast in the morning is great, and the meals in the evening fantastic in each of the restaurants. The bar staff are great, coming up to you wherever you are sat with free nibbles and taking your next order, without you leaving your seat.
I've stayed in the more expensive Kempinksi just around the corner from this hotel and it is nothing in comparison (rude reception desk staff, moudly walls in and outside your room, tatty carpets (yes I know the Kempinksi hotel is a lot, lot older, but it doesn't look like they've spent any money on it at all), and also stayed in a few others in the city which are nothing special. Would definitley choose the Royal Meridien each and every time I am in Hamburg.

  • Stayed: October 2008, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tabaheights78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GRMHamburg, Guest Relations Manager at Le Meridien Hamburg, responded to this reviewResponded 13 July 2009

Dear tabaheights78,

Thank you very much for staying at Le Royal Méridien Hamburg and for taking the time to fill in our guest questionnaire. Due to the comments and suggestions from our guests, we are continually able to improve our high level of quality and service.

We are delighted to hear that you very much enjoyed your stay with us and that you had a very good impression of the hotel. Thank you for the compliments you gave to our bar staff. We gladly informed them of the former!

We look very much forward to welcoming you again in the very near future.

Yours sincerely,
LE ROYAL MERIDIEN HAMBURG


Olivia von Hünersdorff
Guest Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 June 2009

Le Meridien is a nice enough hotel, but look for an internet special - it makes it more worthwhile. There are some restaurants in the area, and it is about 1 km from the Hauptbahnhof and the nearest S and U-Bahn stations. It is very close to the art museum but not particularly convenient to most other sights.

The rooms are generously sized and provide chairs and a mini-sofa for relaxing. The bathrooms are great with a faux old-fashioned tub, a large walk-in shower, big fluffy towels, and diverse toiletries. The mini-bar offerings are gratis but not diverse (the snacks are not free). The rooms also come with air-conditioning, robes, and a laptop safe. We found our stay to be very quiet despite the Harley motorcycle convention in town.

The paint, floors, and furniture show scuffs, cigarette burns, and wear-and-tear, so the last renovation must not have been too recent despite the modernistic decor. The harsh lighting and baby blue paint in the hall were especially well-suited to a hospital. The illuminated glass headboard was novel, and thankfully the purple neon accents could be turned off.

As these are only cosmetic things, I will say that our stay was very comfortable and pleasant. But I can only give them 4 stars instead of 5.

  • Stayed: June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank thrall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GRMHamburg, Guest Relations Manager at Le Meridien Hamburg, responded to this reviewResponded 13 July 2009

Dear Ms. Jesstoday,

Thank you very much for staying at Le Royal Méridien Hamburg and for taking the time to fill in our guest questionnaire. Due to the comments and suggestions from our guests, we are continually able to improve our high level of quality and service.

We are delighted to hear that you very much enjoyed your stay with us and that you had a very good impression of the hotel.

If you would like to book your next stay with points, please contact me directly and we can arrange the former.

We look very much forward to welcoming you again in the very near future.

Yours sincerely,
LE ROYAL MERIDIEN HAMBURG


Olivia von Hünersdorff
Guest Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 June 2009

Sated for twice 2 nights in Le Meridien. Staff is very dedicated and helpfull. Hotel is clean. Nice bar and restaurant with lake view at the top floor. Hotel located just on the aussenalster lake and some rooms have a very nice view, which offset the poor decoration. thay have tried to me artistic modern and the result look what i imagine to be a Scandinavian Dental clinic. Attention to SPG gold memebers is irregular. Other hotels offer more central location and fancier rooms -with no lake view- at better terms.

  • Stayed: June 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pprhh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GRMHamburg, Guest Relations Manager at Le Meridien Hamburg, responded to this reviewResponded 13 July 2009

Dear pprhh,

Thank you very much for staying at Le Royal Méridien Hamburg and for taking the time to fill in our guest questionnaire. Due to the comments and suggestions from our guests, we are continually able to improve our high level of quality and service.

We are delighted to hear that you very much enjoyed your stay with us and that you had a very good impression of the hotel.

We take your Starwood Preferred Gold status very seriously and indeed apologize if you did not have the impression that this is the case. We are sorry to hear, that the hotel design was not to your likings.

We, however, look very much forward to welcoming you again in the very near future in order to persuade you of our excellent services and facilities.

Yours sincerely,
LE ROYAL MERIDIEN HAMBURG


Olivia von Hünersdorff
Guest Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 June 2009

Good hotel overall. Within walking distance from main Hamburg train station! I didn't spend much time in the room or use the other hotel features since we were out so much but the room was pretty big, the bathroom was nice. Room had a mini fridge & lots of neat swag (cloth laundry bag, sewing kit, shampoos, etc). Beds were comfy and staff was helpful. I think it was € 100 a night & is a starwood hotel (yay points!).

I'd probably stay there again if I could reserve with points or if they had a special (the hotel beside us was only € 65/night).

  • Stayed: June 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank jesstoday
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GRMHamburg, Manager at Le Meridien Hamburg, responded to this reviewResponded 4 July 2010

Dear jesstoday,

Thank you very much for staying at Le Royal Méridien Hamburg and for taking the time to write a comment about our stay in www.tripadvisor.de. Due to the comments and suggestions from our guests, we are continually able to improve our high level of quality and service.

We are delighted to hear that you very much enjoyed your stay with us and that you had a very good impression of the hotel. It was indeed a pleasure to have you here.

If there is anything else I can do for you, please do not hesitate to contact me.

It was a pleasure to welcome you and we hope very much to be able to greet you again in the near future.

Yours sincerely,
LE ROYAL MERIDIEN HAMBURG


Olivia von Huenersdorff
Guest Relations Executive Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hamburg hotels
Park Hyatt Hamburg
#5 of 321 in Hamburg
2,562 reviews
Hamburg-Altstadt
Sofitel Hamburg Alter Wall
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Neustadt
Fairmont Hotel Vier Jahreszeiten
Rotherbaum
Grand Elysee Hotel Hamburg
Neustadt
The Madison Hamburg
The Madison Hamburg
#2 of 321 in Hamburg
1,081 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Le Meridien Hamburg? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Meridien Hamburg

Address: An der Alster 52 - 56, 20099 Hamburg, Germany
Region: Germany > Hamburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Family Hotel in Hamburg
#13 Spa Hotel in Hamburg
#17 Business Hotel in Hamburg
#26 Luxury Hotel in Hamburg
#32 Romantic Hotel in Hamburg
Price Range: £116 - £246 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Le Meridien Hamburg 5*
Number of rooms: 275
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Le Meridien Hamburg, idyllically situated at the Outhern Alster lake in the trendy district St. Georg offers 275 rooms including 14 suites (with Alsterview). All rooms provide LED-TVs and high-speed internet. Free daily newspapers and tea + coffee preparation facilities are featured in the Le Meridien Hamburg's air-conditioned rooms + suites. All throughout the hotel guests can receive complimentary Wi-Fi access. Bathrobes and high-quality toiletries are provided in the elegant bathrooms. Innovative variations of Mediterranean cuisine, inspired by Hanseatic style are served in the restaurant Le Ciel on the 9th floor of the hotel with a panoramic view of the Outhern Alster lake. Guests are offered a free boat trip on the Alster as part of the Unlock Art™ Programme. The hotel spa "Emotion Spa" with a fitness center offers various possibilities for recreation + relaxation. Le Meridien Hamburg owns 13 conference rooms with an event area of total 721 m². Discover ,,Meetings with a View"- conferences and events with a breathtaking view of the Alster lake. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Le Meridien Hamburg reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Le Meridien Royal Hamburg Hotel Hamburg
Meridien Royal Hamburg
Hamburg Le Meridien

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing