We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Le Meridien Hamburg
Nearby Hotels
US$221
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$200
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Park Hyatt Hamburg(Hamburg)
US$330
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$241
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$221
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$120
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
US$106
HIExpress.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$103
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$90
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$113
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Barcelo Hamburg(Hamburg)
US$210
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$140
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$133
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$128
NH Hotels
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Room Service
The Madison Hamburg(Hamburg)
US$176
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$164
Official Site
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Reviews (1,581)
Filter reviews
1,581 results
Traveller rating
875
485
153
40
28
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
875
485
153
40
28
Show reviews that mention
All reviewstop flooralster lakewalk in showergreat hoteldeluxe roomst georglange reiheminute walkspa areaan upgraderooftop barmodern designbreakfast roomsteam roomthe main train stationfitness centerbusy road
Filter
Updating list...
607 - 612 of 1,581 reviews
Reviewed 7 May 2010

Le Royal Meridien is located on the lakeside just to the east of the city centre. It's a 10-minute walk from the Hauptbahnhof down some fairly gloomy sidestreets and I felt that the location was a little out of the real heart of things. It's a modern building with top quality accommodation, although I did find the layout rather confusing and the room had minimal information to help - the booklet didn't even say on what floors the restaurants were located.

My standard room was very large and very comfortable. The bed was superb and the room had large wall-mounted tv (with several English language channels), "free" minibar (soft drinks, water, beer) and coffee/tea facilities, in-room safe, good lighting. It was very "designer" and, typically, it sacrificed some practicality for design (the armchairs were awful). The bathrom was excellent with roll-top bath, separate shower, small range of individual toiletries, etc.

Breakfast was very comprehensive - and so it should be for the expensive EUR28 cost. The views over the lake from the restaurant were stunning. On the downside, on both of my mornings, I wasn't offered coffee until I asked for it, which was disappointing.

The staff were okay overall and I didn't experience any problems of the sort mentioned by other reviewers. When I tried to buy a Hamburg tourist card from the concierge, though, the first clerk didn't seem to know much about it, and the second man misquoted the price.

Wireless internet was prohibitively expensive in the room but internet access is available free of charge in the business centre.

Overall, the quality of the accommodation was top-notch, but the expense of breakfast, wifi and other items, left me feeling a bit taken advantage of.

  • Stayed: May 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Stevie390
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GRMHamburg, Manager at Le Meridien Hamburg, responded to this reviewResponded 23 June 2010

Dear Stevie390m,

Thank you very much for staying at Le Royal Méridien Hamburg and for taking the time to make a comment with www.tripadvisor.com. Due to the comments and suggestions from our guests, we are continually able to improve our high level of quality and service.

We are delighted to hear that you very much enjoyed your stay with us and that you had a very good impression of the hotel.

We apologize that you had to ask for a coffee on several occasion before actually receiving one. This in no way represents our first class service.

Thank you for your kind words regarding our staff, design and facilities in general.

Let me point out that our internet is free of charge for our SPG Platinum members and the cost of our breakfast is lower than our direct competitors.

Thank you again for staying with us! We look very much forward to welcoming you again in the very near future.

Yours sincerely,
LE ROYAL MERIDIEN HAMBURG


Olivia von Hünersdorff
Guest Relations Executive Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 April 2010

Great hotel, location, design, restaurant, etc.
So everything great but some remarks: I booked the room under my name but my wife checked in a couple hours before I arrived (I was in meetings). They did not let my wife (although she had the reservation print outs and my cold member card) check in and called me 2 times on my mobile. The lady was absolutely rude and unpolite with me and my wife...Even if they are under stress at the lobby they should remain polite.
We paid 189 Euros for a double room without breakfast and got a queen size bed and not a king size (although it was booked). The room was not 100% clean when we arrived. The next day the room was cleaned properly but the coffeemaker was still full of coffeebeans from the day before, they forgot cleaning it or to replace it...We called roomservice (not very friendly neither) and they brought immediately a fresh one and 10 minutes later they brought us 2 coffees (we didn't ask for it) which was very nice.
The day we arrived the underground (quite small for such a hotel) parking was full so I parked at the end of the outside parking lot. Problem was it was raining cats and dogs and the entrace of the hotel is quite far...Which is okay but not for 26 Euros a day.
All by all a great hotel but these small things don't make it in my opinion a top hotel.

  • Stayed: April 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank y850tdm1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GRMHamburg, Manager at Le Meridien Hamburg, responded to this reviewResponded 23 June 2010

Dear y850tdm1,

Thank you very much for staying at Le Royal Méridien Hamburg and for taking the time to make a comment with www.tripadvisor.com. Due to the comments and suggestions from our guests, we are continually able to improve our high level of quality and service.

We are very disappointed that you did not enjoy your stay in full due to various negative circumstances. We do indeed apologize that we did not let your wife in your room, however, due to the fact that she had another name and we had no information that she was staying with you, the reception did not let her in your room. We have strict policies from Starwood and the security of our guest is of top priority. I do, however, completely understand your agitation and can surely understand that both of you were aggravated. I do apologize for the unfriendly behaviour of the reception. This in no way represents our first class service. We have already spoken to the involved employee.

Let me take the time to point out, that we do not have queen size beds in the hotel. We have king- and twin size beds. I do apologize for the misunderstanding.

Further, we are sorry that you room was not 100% upon your arrival. This in no way represents the excellent housekeeping standards we have in our hotel. We have made a note in our computer about the former and we will do our best that this will not reoccur in the future.

We are yet again very sorry about the troubles you encountered on your stay. We hope very much to be able to greet you and your wife again in the near future in order to persuade you of our excellent service and facilities. If you have any further questions, please do not hesitate to contact me personally.

Yours sincerely,
LE ROYAL MERIDIEN HAMBURG


Olivia von Hünersdorff
Guest Relations Executive Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 April 2010

@ check in nothing special and if you are platinum member forget about upgrade to a suite !
Room look like Ikea style can be ok but not at this price, only view is nice if you have lake view of course .
Room service was good .
Check out if you need someone to take care of your luggage .... you need to help the girl because is to heavy for her even to put in the car !

  • Stayed: March 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank fred_de_paris1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GRMHamburg, Manager at Le Meridien Hamburg, responded to this reviewResponded 23 June 2010

Dear fred_de_paris1,

Thank you very much for staying at Le Royal Méridien Hamburg and for taking the time to write comment at www.tripadvisor.com Due to the comments and suggestions from our guests, we are continually able to improve our high level of quality and service.

We are sorry that the design of the rooms was not to your liking. Our hotel has been designed from top interior designers from London. We have no furniture from IKEA.

We greatly cherish your patronage and are well aware of your superior status as a SPG (Starwood Preferred Guest) Platinum Member. We always try our best to give our SPG Platinum the best available room or an upgrade. It usually always works out, however, when we are fully booked it is, of course, impossible.

Again, we are very sorry about the troubles you encountered on your stay. We hope very much to be able to greet you again in the near future to persuade you of our excellent service and facilities.

Yours sincerely,
LE ROYAL MERIDIEN HAMBURG

Olivia von Hünersdorff
Guest Relation Executive Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 April 2010

This was our 2nd stay in this hotel in Hamburg. The suites on 8th floor are very spacious and have a balcony and great view of the Alster lake and most of Hamburg. Eventhough they face the street it is very quiet at night. The beds are some of the best hotelbeds I have ever slept in (and I sleep in hotels up to 100 nights per year...) and the bed linens crisp and comfy. All softdrinks, bear and wine in the minibar are free of charge - nice touch!

Breakfast buffet on the 9th floor has an extensive selection and you shoud go here for the food and the view.

There is a small carpark in the basement if you come with your own car. It is a bit pricy at €26 per night (Westin Grand Berlin charges €20) but street parking can be very difficult so it is worth the money.

We also stayed here 2 years ago and experienced some the staff issues referred to by other reviewers. We made a subsequent complaint to the management as the staff had fabricated evidence to support their views. As I could document their errors afterwards they offered an upgrade to a suite upon our next stay and they kept their promise.

2 blocks from the hotel you will find "Lange Reihe" - a cosy street with some nice restaurants and gay bars.

  • Stayed: April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CPHworldtravellers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GRMHamburg, Manager at Le Meridien Hamburg, responded to this reviewResponded 22 June 2010

Dear Hotelguest,

Thank you very much for staying at Le Royal Méridien Hamburg and for taking the time to write your opinion about our hotel. Due to the comments and suggestions from our guests, we are continually able to improve our high level of quality and service.

We are delighted to hear that you very much enjoyed your stay with us and that you had a very good impression of the hotel.

We look very much forward to welcoming you again in the very near future.

Yours sincerely,
LE ROYAL MERIDIEN HAMBURG

Olivia von Hünersdorff
Guest Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 March 2010

Location & Check-In

Although GI is not a great fan of chain hotels, we recently gave this property of the Starwood Group a try – and were positively surprised. The reception was warm and personable; the motivation to offer the best possible room option was there as well. Design and architecture equally appealing, as is the location right on the Alster.

Rooms

The rooms facing the street and water offer spectacular views over this most beautiful part of Hamburg. The rooms are spacious and light, as is the bathroom, topped off with a walk-in shower room – greatly appreciated by GI and his companians. All this enriched by a beautiful, lovely old-style tub (see photo). Nice!

Food

The room service menu is very standard with the usual burger, cesar, club sandwich and chili picks. What came in surprising was a delicious soup of the day showing creativity and skills of the kitchen. The champagne selection has all the big brands, with a 2000 Pol Roger Brut Rose as the only surprise choice.

Facilities

The Spa also offers no great surprises; it has all you need. Positive is the whirlpool almost integrated into the swimming pool, alllowing for an impromptu Japanese sauna session. The blue bath towels by Floringo are fabulous. Not being a regular user of spa treatments, the price levels seem quite extravagant. A 15 min solarium session (this dangerously long duration the only one available) was set at EUR 10!

Overall Value & Rating

The Meridien is a good choice on the Aussenalster. It is about 30% – 40% less pricey than the Fairmont Vier Jahreszeiten and in far better shape than the Atlantic. In addition, food seems promising (without having tested the actual restaurant) and the bathrooms thrill.

  • Stayed: February 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Globalinsiders
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GRMHamburg, Manager at Le Meridien Hamburg, responded to this reviewResponded 23 June 2010

Dear Globalinsiders,

Thank you very much for staying at Le Royal Méridien Hamburg and for taking the time to write a comment in www.tripadvisor.com. Due to the comments and suggestions from our guests, we are continually able to improve our high level of quality and service.

We are delighted to hear that you very much enjoyed your stay with us and that you had a very good impression of the hotel.

We thank you for your kind words regarding our all the various departments.

We look very much forward to welcoming you again in the very near future!

Yours sincerely,
LE ROYAL MERIDIEN HAMBURG

Olivia von Hünersdorff
Guest Relations Executive Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews