We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Trendy, and excellent location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Le Meridien Hamburg
Ranked #27 of 319 Hotels in Hamburg
Certificate of Excellence
Geneva, Switzerland
Level Contributor
66 reviews
66 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Trendy, and excellent location”
Reviewed 12 July 2010

Stayed 2 nights in suite. Location is great, a couple of steps from the center of Hambourg. The room are really beautiful, with a very modern design. The staff was very friendly and proactive. Great place to stay for business or pleasure.

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bjouve
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GRMHamburg, Manager at Le Meridien Hamburg, responded to this review, 1 August 2010
Dear bjouve,

Thank you very much for staying at Le Royal Méridien Hamburg and for taking the time to write a comment about our stay in www.tripadvisor.de. Due to the comments and suggestions from our guests, we are continually able to improve our high level of quality and service.

We are delighted to hear that you very much enjoyed your stay with us and that you had a very good impression of the hotel. It was indeed a pleasure to have you here.

If there is anything else I can do for you, please do not hesitate to contact me.

It was a pleasure to welcome you and we hope very much to be able to greet you again in the near future.

Yours sincerely,
LE ROYAL MERIDIEN HAMBURG


Olivia von Huenersdorff
Guest Relations Executive Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,400 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    787
    427
    134
    32
    20
See reviews for
166
511
130
420
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (153)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Bulgaria
Level Contributor
34 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 July 2010

Just finishing a 3 night stay at that hotel . Have stayed previously in the neafrby Kempinski Atlantic and all i can say this is a class above. Nice location close to the center. Service , always with a smile . Maybe i am a bit biased as i received an upgrade to a very nice executive room with free minibar , plazma TV etc. I will certainly stay again , if the opportunity comes to compare. Did not had the time to use the gym and the pool so can't comment on these , but breakfast is excellent - plenty of choice. Room is big , smartly furnished with contemporary design , bathroom is great big bath , extra shower with massage heads . All in ALL - you can't go wrong with this one!!!

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pepsii
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GRMHamburg, Manager at Le Meridien Hamburg, responded to this review, 1 August 2010
Dear pepsii,

Thank you very much for staying at Le Royal Méridien Hamburg and for taking the time to write a comment about our stay in www.tripadvisor.de. Due to the comments and suggestions from our guests, we are continually able to improve our high level of quality and service.

We are delighted to hear that you very much enjoyed your stay with us and that you had a very good impression of the hotel. It was indeed a pleasure to have you here.

If there is anything else I can do for you, please do not hesitate to contact me.

It was a pleasure to welcome you and we hope very much to be able to greet you again in the near future.

Yours sincerely,
LE ROYAL MERIDIEN HAMBURG


Olivia von Huenersdorff
Guest Relations Executive Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
USA
Level Contributor
34 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 June 2010

Our 3 night stay at the Royal Meridien Hamburg left us thinking this might be our best hotel experience anywhere.

The facility is wonderful-large room, done in modern danish-style decor, with luxury bedding in large bed that you just melt into. The hotel has that same decor throughout, and luxury touches like music in hallways and elevator that varies throughout the time of day, and art displays on each floor by Hamburg artists.

This was our first time in Hamburg, and the knowing, patient, enthusiastic concierge desk gave us a great overview of the city, tips on which local companies to use, dining, transport and shopping. We went back to that concierge desk over and over and they came through with good advice every time.

The pool and spa facilities are a first class-again, very modern, indirect lighting, fluuffy bathrobes, loads of towels, great sauna and steam rooms and all the aforementioned included in the room rate. Extra charges only for spa-type services such as massage.

And this reminds me-they don't pile on charges for amenities here to the extent we've found at other top end hotels.

Stayed May 2010, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank JacksonCage
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GRMHamburg, Manager at Le Meridien Hamburg, responded to this review, 1 August 2010
Dear JacksonCage,

Thank you very much for staying at Le Royal Méridien Hamburg and for taking the time to write a comment about our stay in www.tripadvisor.de. Due to the comments and suggestions from our guests, we are continually able to improve our high level of quality and service.

We are delighted to hear that you very much enjoyed your stay with us and that you had a very good impression of the hotel. It was indeed a pleasure to have you here.

We have delivered your praising words to our concierge.

If there is anything else I can do for you, please do not hesitate to contact me.

It was a pleasure to welcome you and we hope very much to be able to greet you again in the near future.

Yours sincerely,
LE ROYAL MERIDIEN HAMBURG


Olivia von Huenersdorff
Guest Relations Executive Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denmark
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 21 June 2010

The Le Royal Meridien Hamburg is one of the nicest and well functional hotels we ever have stayed in in Germany. We were just on our way back to Denmark and decided to stay one night there. The rooms are big and spacious and the staff very attentive. We especially liked the good breakfast and the greeting which we got as soon as we entered the hotel. The hotel is situated very close to the main train station and the Alster lake. Thanks to the entire staff.

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Peter_danmark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GRMHamburg, Manager at Le Meridien Hamburg, responded to this review, 22 June 2010
Dear Peter_danmark,

Thank you very much for staying at Le Royal Méridien Hamburg and for taking the time to write a comment about our stay in www.tripadvisor.de. Due to the comments and suggestions from our guests, we are continually able to improve our high level of quality and service.

We are delighted to hear that you very much enjoyed your stay with us and that you had a very good impression of the hotel. It was indeed a pleasure to have you here.

Thank you again for your kind words regarding the hotel staff. I gladly informed the former of your praising words.

If there is anything else I can do for you, please to not hesitate to contact me.

It was a pleasure to welcome you and we hope very much to be able to greet you again in the near future.

Yours sincerely,
LE ROYAL MERIDIEN HAMBURG


Olivia von Huenersdorff
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bremen, Germany
Level Contributor
48 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 June 2010

I'm late writing this review. I really enjoyed my stay here. The rooms were really big and comfortable and the bathrooms were really nice too with walk-in power showers. Did have the problem that the plughole wasn't able to cope with the amount of water from the shower and this lead to a flood. The staff responded well and upgraded us to a room that had an even better view than we had paid for (a room with a view os extra but worth it). However, there seemed to be a smell of smoke in the first room.The swimming pool was nice for splashing about in (too short for swimming laps) and the jacuzzi, etc., were all really nice. Fluffy white bathrobes and towels were also supplied. Restaurants are only a short stroll away. Gerne wieder -- fast alles war super.

  • Stayed August 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank irenkagermany
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GRMHamburg, Manager at Le Meridien Hamburg, responded to this review, 23 June 2010
Dear irenkagermany,

Thank you very much for staying at Le Royal Meridien Hamburg and for taking the time to write a comment about your stay in www.tripadvisor.de. Due to the comments and suggestions from our guests, we are continually able to improve our high level of quality and service.

We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and that you had a very good impression of the hotel.

We are very sorry about the problems you had at the begining of your stay. Therefore we would like apologize again because that does not reflect the high quality standards of the hotel.

We look very much forward to welcoming you again in the very near future. And if you have any further questions do not hesitate to contact us.

Yours sincerely,
LE ROYAL MERIDIEN HAMBURG

Olivia von Hünersdorff
Guest Relations Executive Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 26 May 2010

Gorgeous view over Aussenalster from breakfast room, quiet rooms, spacious, luxury bathrooms! Not enough relaxing rooms in spa area

Stayed January 2010, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank ChristaW1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GRMHamburg, Manager at Le Meridien Hamburg, responded to this review, 23 June 2010
Dear ChristaW1,

Thank you very much for staying at Le Royal Méridien Hamburg and for taking the time to write a comment about our stay in www.tripadvisor.de. Due to the comments and suggestions from our guests, we are continually able to improve our high level of quality and service.

We are delighted to hear that you very much enjoyed your stay with us and that you had a very good impression of the hotel. It was indeed a pleasure to have you here.

If there is anything else I can do for you, please do not hesitate to contact me.

It was a pleasure to welcome you and we hope very much to be able to greet you again in the near future.

Yours sincerely,
LE ROYAL MERIDIEN HAMBURG


Olivia von Huenersdorff
Guest Relations Executive Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aarhus, Denmark
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 May 2010

My boyfriend and I stayed 3 nights at Le Meridien Hotel in Hanburg over New Years 2009 / 2010. We wanted to relaxe and experience the city and required a nice, clean, modern base. We are both in our late 20's and have quite high standards in regards to both service, style and comfort- This hotel - in large - met our expectations.

Parking: When we arrived and the valet offered to park our car, there was no mention of the cost of parking. Let's just say I was not pleased to find the price at 26 Euros a day. The staff was not willing to compromise or even comp. us a coffee. This was a major dissapointment. Luckily our car was only parked in the hotels lot for three hours before, we found out the price and quickly moved the car to the public parking on the street right in front of the hotel. We did not buy the required parking tickets, but then again we did not get even one fine in the four days we were there. USE THE PUBLIC PARKING :-)

Dog: At a price of 15 Euros a night we could bring our dog, which was perfect. Note that a lot of restaurants and all shops allow dogs.

Room: Our room was nice, very cozy in warm coulors and very clean. I always check linnen, furniture, shower etc. upon arrival and it all seemed fine. A couple of light bulbs vere out of order, which was fixed shortly after we called the front desk. Plenty of closet space, desk space and even a sort of sofa arrangement along with a spacious bathroom (both shower and tub).

Nature / city: Right across the street from the hotel is the Alster Lake and more importent a path around it. Great for walks with the dog or a run i the morning. The city centre is a 5-10 min. walk depending on which route you choose, not far at all.

Complementary: The hotel offers to fill the fridge every day with sodas, beer and sparkeling water. Shower gel, shampoo, lotion, tea, bathrobes, slippers, cityguide and concierge service. Free fitness centre.

Spa: The spa is okay, not posh at all and not very chic, but believe me, it did the job, we started each morning with a swim and half an hour in the jacuzzi. Children are allowed, which was a negative for us.

On January 1th we could not agree on a restaurant, so I called the concierge for inspiration. After 5 minutes he called back with adresses and menues of 3-4 local places - great service and he was extremely patient.

All in all, we left as satisfied customers and we would not mind coming back at all, however next time we visit Hamburg, we might opt for another hotel, just to try something different - if we can find any as modern and chic as Le Meridien.

  • Stayed December 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Oelliet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GRMHamburg, Manager at Le Meridien Hamburg, responded to this review, 23 June 2010
Dear Oelliet,

Thank you very much for staying at Le Royal Méridien Hamburg and for taking the time to write a comment about our stay in www.tripadvisor.de. Due to the comments and suggestions from our guests, we are continually able to improve our high level of quality and service.

We are delighted to hear that you very much enjoyed your stay with us and that you had a very good impression of the hotel. It was indeed a pleasure to have you here.

Thank you again for your kind words regarding Concierge. I gladly informed him of your praising words.

If there is anything else I can do for you, please do not hesitate to contact me.

It was a pleasure to welcome you and we hope very much to be able to greet you again in the near future.

Yours sincerely,
LE ROYAL MERIDIEN HAMBURG


Olivia von Huenersdorff
Guest Relations Executive Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hamburg hotels
Hamburg-Altstadt
Sofitel Hamburg Alter Wall
Park Hyatt Hamburg
#4 of 319 in Hamburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,243 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hamburg-Altstadt
Barcelo Hamburg
Barcelo Hamburg
#28 of 319 in Hamburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,319 reviews
Neustadt
The Madison Hamburg
The Madison Hamburg
#3 of 319 in Hamburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 985 reviews
Neustadt
Fairmont Hotel Vier Jahreszeiten
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Le Meridien Hamburg? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Meridien Hamburg

Property: Le Meridien Hamburg
Address: An der Alster 52 - 56, 20099 Hamburg, Germany
Region: Germany > Hamburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#13 Spa Hotel in Hamburg
#17 Business Hotel in Hamburg
#18 Family Hotel in Hamburg
#23 Luxury Hotel in Hamburg
#32 Romantic Hotel in Hamburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Le Meridien Hamburg 5*
Number of rooms: 275
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Le Meridien Hamburg, idyllically situated at the Outhern Alster lake in the trendy district St. Georg offers 275 rooms including 14 suites (with Alsterview). All rooms provide LED-TVs and high-speed internet. Free daily newspapers and tea + coffee preparation facilities are featured in the Le Meridien Hamburg's air-conditioned rooms + suites. All throughout the hotel guests can receive complimentary Wi-Fi access. Bathrobes and high-quality toiletries are provided in the elegant bathrooms. Innovative variations of Mediterranean cuisine, inspired by Hanseatic style are served in the restaurant Le Ciel on the 9th floor of the hotel with a panoramic view of the Outhern Alster lake. Guests are offered a free boat trip on the Alster as part of the Unlock Art™ Programme. The hotel spa "Emotion Spa" with a fitness center offers various possibilities for recreation + relaxation. Le Meridien Hamburg owns 13 conference rooms with an event area of total 721 m². Discover ,,Meetings with a View"- conferences and events with a breathtaking view of the Alster lake. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Priceline, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, Evoline ltd, HRS and HotelQuickly so you can book your Le Meridien Hamburg reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Le Meridien Royal Hamburg Hotel Hamburg
Meridien Royal Hamburg
Hamburg Le Meridien

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing