We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Value but definitely no more than 3 stars"”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Novotel Suites Hamburg City hotel
Ranked #69 of 321 Hotels in Hamburg
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed 5 July 2010

Budget hotel that has some great features such as:

1. Metro Stop Right Outside
2. Good sized room for Europe.
3. TV has free on call movies in various languages in addition to free internet.
4. Good Price.
5. Functional Room
6. Friendly service besides Number 1 below.

But you have to weigh the bad points:

1. Make sure you get confirmation of a non-smoking room so you don't get stuck in a smoking room like we did, argh....
2. NO AC, yes even Hamburg gets Hot in the summer time.
3. Furniture and bathroom reminded me of a cheap cruise layout, functional but definitely very limited wood to be found in the cheap plastic furniture.
4. Breakfast at 13 Euros a piece was more than we wanted to pay for what we knew would be very average based on the quality of the Hotel.
5. Immediate area around hotel was very business oriented and therefore lacked charm.
6. If you walk from the Main Train Station, very doable at around 12 minute walk, you'll have to go through some seedy area that is filled with cheap hotels, sex shops....
7. Good news is that the toilet is separate from the rest of bathroom, but don't expect to fit into the toilet area if you are a large person.

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank robccs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,264)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

353 - 359 of 1,264 reviews

Reviewed 22 June 2010

I stayed at this hotel for a week in the beginning of January 2010. Everything was perfect about my stay: room, breakfast, service, location, value for money. I have nothing to complain about.

The hotel itself is a brand new. Everything inside is new also. Hotel features not rooms, but suites -- small apartments: with microwave, kettle, small fridge, dining area, sleeping area, bathroom with shower cabin and bathtub. You may separate sleeping area from dining area by special curtain in the middle of the room. Wi-Fi is free of charge. Moreover the great feature is that you can watch more or less new movies (issued 1-2 years ago) at your TV free of charge also. I watched 'Mama Mia' again with a great pleasure. Music library is also available free of charge. There is a wireless keyboard so you may surf the net on your TV screen.

Hotel offers 2 choices for breakfast: 'breakfast to go' that is free of charge and normal buffet breakfast. Breakfast to go is just a cup of coffee and a pastry. We used the normal one which was very stylish: the cold food was packed into small cups. There were high energy, low carb, low fat choices. Hot dishes like sausages and eggs were also available, as well as pastries and bread/butter/jams.

The hotel is very conveniently located at the quiet neighborhood. The hotel building is 20 (do not remember exactly?) storey, so you won't hear the traffic if your room would be on high floors. There are lots of restaurants, bars and shops around. 'Lidl' supermarket is 2 blocks away. U-Bahn station is just opposite the hotel's entrance. But we used U-Bahn for arrival/departure only. Because It is just 10-15 minutes walk to Hauptbahnhof (Central station) and city centre.

Definitely I will stay again in this hotel.

  • Stayed: January 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Usenko
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 May 2010

Stayed here in May - clean, functional, very large bedroom, excellent bath/shower, and best of all fantastic value for money. Breakfast was pretty decent too

  • Stayed: May 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank louisephillips66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 May 2010

Really handy location right opposite U Bahn station for easy access to all that this city has to offer. The rooms are clean,functional and well equipped for the price, Full bathroom and kitchen area with fridge and microwave.
One warning :There are no twin rooms as each suite has a large double bed and a small sofa bed.
Internet access and big TV.
Breakfast was plentiful and varied.
Ideal spot for a short break . Enjoy

  • Stayed: May 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank daddyjock
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 December 2009

We were 3 people staying in a triple bedroom. The room size was ok, with a kettle and fridge (Though I expected a mini kitchenette)

The metro station is right outside. The city centre is about 15 mins walking.

  • Stayed: July 2009
    • Value
Thank Flyingagent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 January 2009

I spent almost two weeks at this hotel in November/December 2008 when I was working in Hamburg. It is a modern hotel and spotlessly clean. My bedroom was very large and included a comfortable double bed, a table and chair, a sofa, a fridge, a microwave, a kettle and goodies and a flat screen TV. The bathroom included both a seperate shower and bath, unusual in a hotel of this class. The toilet was in a seperate cubicle( within the room), again an unusual feature, but a thoughtful one. The room had an efficient heating system. The corridor was quiet and the lifts operated smoothly and effeiciently, which as this is a hotel with many floors is important. There was some street noise on occasion. The bar and breakfast area is comfortable but relatively small. On some occasions it was difficult to find somewhere to sit at breakfast at peak times. I think this was probably a design decision, as they could have allocated a seperate floor as a breakfast/restaurant area, and probably would have in a four star hotel.The breakfast itself was a little eccentric. There was muesli and also croissants and good coffee. There were also more unsusual offerings in small plastic pots, all perfectly acceptable. My quibble though, was that other than coffee, no breakfast item was warm, which would have been welcome as the weather was cold during my stay. I'm not sure I would have bought breakfast if I'd been staying privately. The lacation of the hotel is convenient, as there is a metro stop next to the hotel. The area in which it is located has a bit of a split personality, the main street which takes you after a 15 minute walk to the railway station, contains a small and unthreatening red light district. A short walk in another direction brings you to Lange Reihe, with its stylish restaurants and cafes.The staff were efficient and polite. Three stars is about right for the hotel but the rooms are equipped to four star standards.

  • Stayed: December 2008, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank Newportonian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 September 2008

We came to Hamburg just for a weekend before heading off to Denmark so we were looking for a city centre location and this hotel is certainly spot on. The Underground station is right outside the hotel but we actually chose to walk into town which was an easy 15 mins stroll. The railway station is walking distance as well.Hamburg is a very walkable city anyway with great public transport so we didn't pick our hire car up till Monday.
The rooms in the hotel are very spacious and even though not of grand design very practical with a small fridge, microwave and kettle so you could have a bite to eat which I am sure appeals to Business people as well (we didn't bother though as there is a great Bakery just across the street from the hotel too)
The only negative I have to say about this hotel is that due to it's central location on a busy road it was quite noisy and I had to close the windows at night. It wasn't too bad on the Sunday night but come Monday morning the traffic was getting very heavy and noisy.However, if you are a sightseer like us we were out of the hotel by 9am and and the good aspects of this hotel certainly made up for it. Just a wee mention as well, the hotel lobby is equipped with a small self service food & beverage area should you find yourself hungry and wanting some nibbles or microwave food. The bar area itself seemed quite nice too but again, the city centre is only 10 mins walk away so we never tried any of the hotel facilities.

  • Stayed: August 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Thank Kinedi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hamburg hotels
0.2 mi away
Novotel Hamburg City Alster
0.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hamburg City Centre
0.7 mi away
Ibis Hamburg Alster Centrum
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Apartment-Hotel Hamburg Mitte
0.3 mi away
Novum Style Hotel Hamburg-Centrum
0.2 mi away
ARCOTEL Rubin
ARCOTEL Rubin
#59 of 321 in Hamburg
737 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Novotel Suites Hamburg City hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Novotel Suites Hamburg City hotel

Address: Luebeckertordamm 2, 20099 Hamburg, Germany
Phone Number:
Region: Germany > Hamburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Green Hotel in Hamburg
#23 Family Hotel in Hamburg
#80 Business Hotel in Hamburg
Price Range: £58 - £111 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Novotel Suites Hamburg City hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 185
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The 3-star Suitehotel Hamburg City is only about 800 m away from the main railway station and the city centre, 15 km from Hamburg Fuhlsbuettel airport and 3 km from the Hamburg trade show centre. Public transport at the door. 185 Airconditioned suites,30m² in size. Basement garage for 115 cars. 24 Hour services include Boutique Gourmande gourmet food counter and bar. Free gym, business corner with free high speed internet and a free 5 minute massage on Thursdays ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Accorhotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Novotel Suites Hamburg City hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Suite Novotel Hamburg City Hotel Hamburg
Suitehotel Hamburg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing