We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
InterCityHotel Hamburg Hauptbahnhof
Ranked #80 of 318 Hotels in Hamburg
Tampa, Florida
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great Location”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 April 2012

I was put up in the InterCity for a 2 week stay while visiting my "Mother" company in Hamburg. They use this hotel for extended stays and because it is a "Rock Throw" away from the office. From the pictures on the website and even from the outer appearance the hotel looks very nice.
My room is a "business" type and that is all it is for, no ammendities, very basic, and not the cleanest room ive ever stayed in. The towels are thin and cheap, and the toliet runs if you dont adjust the flusher once done. Yes I understand I am in Germany, but there are no english tv channels, and not even subtitles for the TV. The Location is fantastic, my only none complaint. Very central and many great restaraunts walking distance away.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ECKusch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

407 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    87
    201
    90
    24
    5
See reviews for
41
144
50
104
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
UK
Level Contributor
33 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 April 2012

I have stayed here numberous times on business alone and with colleagues, I used to choose this one mainly for its location as I could walk to my office in just a few minutes and also could catch at train at the HBh as it is across the road.

The reception staff were always friendly and helpful.

The rooms are adequate, they are always clean and reasonably comfortable, they are designed purely for business stopovers this is not somewhere I would come with my family for example, they are adequate and functional.

The rooms are not massive or luxurious but for a comfortable stay in a central location they are ideal. I find you always have to book in advance as much as possible as they get full very often.

I have eaten in the hotel restaurant and cannot complain they have a reasonable menu at not bad prices for a hotel and have never enjoyed what I have eaten.

The rooms can sometimes get warm and found traffic noise a slight issue if wanting to open the window, other than that no complaints.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jeffers65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Armenia, Colombia
Level Contributor
62 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 February 2012

Staid for business 2 nights.

When I entered the rooms, I was met by half opened bottles from the minibar, called the reception immediately to replace them. We went out for dinner, when I came back noone had replaced them. Didn't bother. Next day, housekeeping had replaced them. Still at check-out, I was asked to pay for it. I told them that I called them first day, and no worries, they cancelled that bill.

Internet in the room was wired, no wireless available, and it worked ok. Connection went up/down, but in this land of extreme poor technology that happens.

Other than that, room was ok, bed comfortable.

Big plus for the breakfast, really had all.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mikeswe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
greece
Level Contributor
50 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 January 2012

very conveniently located right opposite the central station. My room actually had a view of the station. It was comfortable, warm, clean, modern shower, good value for money. Didn't have time to use mine but the free transport card is definitely a plus. Would stay there again.

Room Tip: mine was a single room on the 7th floor overlooking the main street and train station. i'd recom...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank fileas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Coventry, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
91 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 December 2011

The hotel is only 200 metres from the front entrance to Hamburg Central Station and in a good area with a dual carriageway running past the hotel and station. The hotel is modern, has eight floors and two elevators. On checking in we were given a complimentry travel ticket for the duration of our stay which entitled us to use the underground railway or the buses in the greater Hamburg area. This was really good as it could cost quite a considerable sum if you don't like walking!
The rooms, while not overly spacious, are a good size, very clean and the furniture in good order. We were overlooking roofs and office buildings at the rear of the hotel and it was very quiet. The bathroom was excellent. There was no bath but a very good shower. The room had a safe and a stocked minibar. We were there in December and it struck us how warm the room was without us having to adjust the heating (a comfortable heat and not too hot).

Our only disappointment was that there were no tea of coffee making facilities available in the room and the pillows on the bed are so soft, you don't realise you're lying on one. So ask for extra pillows.

We were offered breakfast, but at 15 euros each, its a bit pricey, however, if you go out of the hotel and turn immediately right, there are two excellent cafes within 50 metres. We preferred the Campus Suite Cafe where they serve great coffee and a selection of pastries or hot or cold sandwiches in comfortable surroundings.

The Intercity Hotel is wonderfully located, across the road from the station, only a couple of minutes walk from the all the large department stores and about a ten minute walk to the area around the Rathaus where there are designer shops and you can book for sightseeing tours on the river.

If you are looking for a typical German meal, reasonably priced, good hearty food in a good atmosphere, visit the Brauhaus Joh. Albrecht which was recommended to us by a German couple we met. Its around the back of the Rathaus, to the right, next to a bridge across the river.
We travel to Germany every year at Christmas time and this hotel is probably the best located for shopping, sightseeing and travel to other areas, being so near to the station. It's not 5* luxury but it's functional, clean, comfortable, modern, good for short stays or business trips and does what is says on the tin!

Room Tip: Dual carriageway at the front so may be noise from traffic, so pick a rear room if you want quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank alwyn1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reston
Level Contributor
73 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 104 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 December 2011

There's nothing special about this hotel but it's pretty much all good.

One exception: good luck printing a boarding pass. The front desk claims they can't do it and there's no working business center (a change from the pathetically overworked single computer that used to sit in the lobby a few years ago). So the staff advised me to go to Saturn, a huge electronics market four or five blocks down the road, to visit the Internet Cafe in that store's basement!

It's almost inexplicable for hotels not to offer guests free wi-fi, and it's inexcusable to send them offsite just to print a boarding pass.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rcepuch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vejle,Denmark
Level Contributor
60 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 November 2011

very nice and clean hotel, fantastic breakfast and helpful staff.
Staying there you get free public transport which is brilliant staying next to the central station.
Only a few hundred meters from shopping area and nice restaurants.
I will definately go there again
Mette, Vejle, Denmark

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MetteVagn-Hansen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hamburg hotels
St. Georg
Hotel Fuerst Bismarck
Hotel Fuerst Bismarck
#55 of 318 in Hamburg
4.0 of 5 bubbles 374 reviews
Hamburg-Altstadt
Barcelo Hamburg
Barcelo Hamburg
#28 of 318 in Hamburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,280 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
St. Georg
Hotel Europaeischer Hof
Hotel Europaeischer Hof
#44 of 318 in Hamburg
4.0 of 5 bubbles 691 reviews
St. Georg
Reichshof Hamburg, Curio Collection by Hilton
Park Hyatt Hamburg
#5 of 318 in Hamburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,178 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to InterCityHotel Hamburg Hauptbahnhof? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about InterCityHotel Hamburg Hauptbahnhof

Property: InterCityHotel Hamburg Hauptbahnhof
Address: Glockengiesserwall 14/15, 20095 Hamburg, Germany
Phone Number:
Region: Germany > Hamburg > Hamburg-Altstadt
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#57 Luxury Hotel in Hamburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — InterCityHotel Hamburg Hauptbahnhof 4*
Number of rooms: 155
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The InterCityHotel Hamburg Hauptbahnhof is situated centrally in the city of Hamburg, between main station, Monckebergstrasse, Kunsthalle and the Alster. Good connections by local public transport make it possible to reach all of the most important places quickly and comfortably, such as the Fish Market, the harbour, the Reeperbahn and many museums as well as the numerous shopping centres and places of entertainment. With a distance of only 2 km, the exhibition grounds are also in reach of the InterCityHotel in the centre of Hamburg. The FreeCityTicket for Hamburg included in the price of your room serves as your ticket for the free use of local public transport throughout the whole of the Hanseatic city, the surrounding area and the HADAG Elbe ferries. The comfortable InterCityHotel Hamburg Hauptbahnhof with its 155 convenient sound-proofed rooms and individual settings for the air conditioning, is already the second InterCityHotel in the hanseatic capital. The 5 conference rooms which are combinable in part and offer a maximum in daylight and state-of-the-art technology, cater for up to 90 conference participants. For all InterCityHotels concerned the usage of the WLAN is free of charge up to 256 KB/s. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Agoda, Hotel.de, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your InterCityHotel Hamburg Hauptbahnhof reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Intercityhotel Hotel Hamburg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing