We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“No complaints”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
City Hotel Hamburg Mitte
Ranked #125 of 318 Hotels in Hamburg
Bloemfontein, Free State, South Africa
Level Contributor
18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“No complaints”
Reviewed 27 September 2013

I enjoyed staying in this hotel. The hotel staff is very friendly and helpful and the room I stayed in was really neat and clean. I liked that the safe was big enough to store my laptop in. A breakfast buffet is served between 6 am and 10 am (11 am on weekends). The breakfast was delicious! The only problem I had with the hotel is its location. It is situated in kind of an industrial area and you have to take a cab or the bus everywhere. There is also free wifi in the hotel which is easy to access and to use. I stayed on the 12th floor and the view was a bit disappointing, because of the location of the hotel and also because of all the construction going on in Hamburg (not sure if this is always the case). I stayed in the hotel for 4 nights and the air conditioning did not work properly one night and I could not open any windows so it was uncomfortably warm. However, overall it was a good experience and because it is so affordable I'll probably stay there again.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Anneri M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GCHHamburgMitte, General Manager at City Hotel Hamburg Mitte, responded to this review, 1 October 2013
Dear Sirs,

Thank you for chosen our hotel and the constructive feedback towards our services.

We will review them internally to improve our services even more for the future.

With best regards

The whole team of the Grand City Hotel Hamburg Mitte
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

402 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    31
    160
    143
    48
    20
See reviews for
43
211
22
74
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Copenhagen, Denmark
Level Contributor
91 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 July 2013

As one reviewer already said, the outside makes you sad to the point that you laugh at it. It's not that close to the center, going out to party you'll need a cab or to take the bus outside the hotel. If you're lucky, you get a free parking spot on the back street. Otherwise, there's a garage for €10 a night. The elevators look a bit like ones from a horror movie, and the staircase has the ambiance of depression. But from the hallways on it just gets great.

We entered the room, and were surprised by the high standard. Even more so, when looking into the bathroom, it was so clean, that you couldn't see the shower's glass walls. Black tiles glistering in the spotlight. Small glitch in the plumbing (see picture) wasn't important, but not being able to take a shower without a deciliter of water escaping is. We kept wiping the floor with a small towel...

Beds were comfy, though not queen size, but a double bed. That is annoying for some, for me it is, if it says queen size on the homepage. Also, the utterly pointless thick and huge pillows (say, 80x80cm) that cover 1/4th of the bed...
The room size is on the smaller side of ok, two suitcases is too much to handle in there.

A/C worked like a charm, and was quiet! No problems sleeping with it on. TV had radio channels as well. All in all, nice and helpful staff, we got a very good sleep. A minibar would have been nice. Oh, should you need anything from a store, it's way closer than they might tell you... just cross the street to the Aral station, they have basically everything.

Room Tip: Rooms facing the canal are quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Z C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GCHHamburgMitte, General Manager at City Hotel Hamburg Mitte, responded to this review, 12 August 2013
Dear guests,

Thank you for your stay and the positive feed back towards our services.


Best regards

The whole team of the Grand City Hotel Hamburg Mitte
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 July 2013

Booked hotel and flight through Asda services as the price was very good. Hotel easy to find from main station 10 min walk. Area not the best but walked thro after midnight with no problem. Hotel frontage not good as scaffolding in place but interior and room were fine. Good bathroom with all amenities. Breakfast was as good as most 4 star hotels as Ive stayed in. Staff were very helpful and Wi-Fi free and easy. Daytime temperatures were in low thirties but air conditioning adequate and maid unlocked windows for ventilation. I would have no problem staying there again

Room Tip: Rooms at front tho noisy from traffic have good views over Hamburg from upper floors
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank yorkshireman1939
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GCHHamburgMitte, General Manager at City Hotel Hamburg Mitte, responded to this review, 12 August 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you for your stay and the positive feedback given towards our services.

Best regards


The whole team of the Grand City Hotel Hamburg Mitte.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vihti Finland
Level Contributor
48 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 June 2013

Stayed one night for business - 28 degrees centigrade in Hamburg and the small but nice room was totally missing air conditioning - Could open a window but the morning after the need for a shower was more than obvious -> No soap or shampoo in the shower. These things are the basics things !If the owner of this location is wishing to get rid of paying clients he/she is doing an excellent job. For this price and level of quality will not return ; Coming from Finland we have hot steamy Saunas at home!

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mikko E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GCHHamburgMitte, General Manager at City Hotel Hamburg Mitte, responded to this review, 1 July 2013
Dear Mr. Mikko E.,

Thank you for staying with us and your constructive feed back concerning our services.

All our rooms are equipped with an aircondition. If we would have known that there is a technical problem with your room we wolud have offered an different room to you.

Referring to the missing soap and showergel/shampoo, i will discuss this matter with the involved department in order to avoid similar situations for the future Normal standard ist that all rooms are equipped with an dispenser in the shower and soap at the sink .

I would like to apologize because you have not been satisfied with you stay but believe me what happend to you does not reflect our normal standard.

With best regards

The whole team of the Grand City Hotel Hamburg Mitte
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Hamburg hotels

Denmark
Level Contributor
35 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 April 2013

A plain hotel that is nothing special but also didn't have unpleasant surprices either. The room was small but not as small as other previous guests had written on tripadvisor. The hotel looks terrible - we laughed and wanted to turn around when we saw the hotel. But inside (which of course is the most important) was all right: the room was nice and clean, and there was a nice rain water shower.
Good breakfast (13 euros) and good service.
The hotel is a 10 min. walk from the central station - which is just across the largest shopping street Mönckebergstrasse.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kristine G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GCHHamburgMitte, General Manager at City Hotel Hamburg Mitte, responded to this review, 29 April 2013
Dear Kristine,

thank you for chosen our hotel and the constructive comments on our services.

During the 2nd phase of renovation besides extensions of the rooms, restaurant etc.., either the facade will be changed so that the outer appearance will be as positive as the inside.


With best regards

The whole Grand City Hotel Hamburg Mitte team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hamburg
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 30 January 2013

We stayed 2 Nights in January . We will Not come again. The Rooms are very very small . We had no breakfast. The Roomservice is very loud and wake us up two days .
The Hotel is a very old Building and Not very Nice.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
Thank Alexander D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GCHHamburgMitte, Manager at City Hotel Hamburg Mitte, responded to this review, 5 February 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your stay here at the Grand City Hotel Hamburg Mitte. Unfortunately you did not enjoy your stay with us. Therefor we would like to apologize.

We appreciate your constructive review which helps us to improve our services day by day.

Especially the hint concerning the housekeeping was very helpful. We already discussed this matter in order to prevent such situations in the future.


With best regards

The whole Team of the Grand City Hotel Hamburg Mitte
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh
Level Contributor
73 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 December 2012

Stayed here for one night on business, the place had recently been upgraded but I think only the first few floors are open for business.

I had a business room, which seemed like a regular room. You get free WiFi and a free minibar. Initially I was charged for internet, but on complaining they sorted it out. The free minibar consists of 2 bottles of water, 1 apple juice and 1 orange juice. Not really what I would call a minibar on account of the fact there was no beer/wine and probably costs them €2 to supply yet its made a big deal of in the website promotion. The other thing is the lifts - they were a little scary!

WiFi is good though and the bed comfortable. Room is small and so is bathroom but on the whole its well equipped. As I was in a business room I would expect an Iron or trouser press.

Breakfast is very good and staff friendly. I think it will improve as its still under development.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Highland_Saint
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GCHHamburgMitte, General Manager at City Hotel Hamburg Mitte, responded to this review, 18 December 2012
Dear Sir,

Thank you for your stay here at the Grand City Hotel Hamburg Mitte.

We are always thankful for contstructive critizism like you did with yourcomments on our hotel.

We will discuss your comments within the team in order to check wether we are able to change some of our services to make our guests and customers even more feel comfortable.

Bets regards from all the Grand City Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hamburg hotels
Hammerbrook
Prizeotel Hamburg-City
Prizeotel Hamburg-City
#15 of 318 in Hamburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 828 reviews
Ibis Hamburg City
#40 of 318 in Hamburg
4.0 of 5 bubbles 617 reviews
Hammerbrook
Mercure Hotel Hamburg City
Mercure Hotel Hamburg City
#54 of 318 in Hamburg
4.0 of 5 bubbles 705 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Park Hotel am Berliner Tor
#149 of 318 in Hamburg
3.5 of 5 bubbles 190 reviews
Hammerbrook
Novum Hotel Belmondo Hamburg Hauptbahnhof
Hammerbrook
Hyperion Hotel Hamburg
Hyperion Hotel Hamburg
#29 of 318 in Hamburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 263 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to City Hotel Hamburg Mitte? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about City Hotel Hamburg Mitte

Property: City Hotel Hamburg Mitte
Address: Amsinckstr. 45, 20097 Hamburg, Germany
Region: Germany > Hamburg > Hammerbrook
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #125 of 318 Hotels in Hamburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — City Hotel Hamburg Mitte 3*
Number of rooms: 83
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Grand City Hotel Hamburg Mitte is the perfect hotel for business travelers and Hamburg visitors who are looking for a modern Hamburg hotel in central location. The central railway station (Hamburg Hauptbahnhof) is reachable by foot in a few minutes and the famous “Mönckebergstraße” with its cafés and shops is just a few steps away from the hotel. From the upper upper hotel rooms you have a fantastic view over the port and the Hamburg city. The Grand City Hotel Hamburg Mitte offers free WiFi internet access and parking spaces at the hotel.The contemporary décor of the Grand City Hotel Hamburg Mitte with its modern design are the best conditions for a relaxing and comfortable stay in Hamburg. The beautiful wooden floors of the 83 hotel rooms are allergy friendly. All hotel rooms are fitted with normal and rain showers, flat-screen TV and individually adjustable air conditioning. The light and friendly breakfast restaurant of our hotel in Hamburg serves you a lovingly prepared German breakfast buffet.From the Grand City Hotel Hamburg Mitte you can easily reach the highlights of Hamburg on foot or by public transport. Musicals like Disneys Lion King, Sister Act and Tarzan, the Hamburger Kunsthalle (art gallery), Hamburg Dungeon, Fischmarkt (fish market), HafenCity – the central Hamburg hotel is perfect connected to public transport. The S-Bahn suburban train station “Hammerbrook” and the bus stop station “Lippeltstraße” are really close by the Grand City Hotel Hamburg Mitte. Musical fans appreciate the good and close location for the musical theatre. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Hotel.de, Booking.com, Priceline, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HRS and HotelQuickly so you can book your City Hotel Hamburg Mitte reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing