We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quirky Hotel on outskirts of Hamburg”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Raphael Hotel Waelderhaus
Ranked #80 of 321 Hotels in Hamburg
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Reviewed 6 May 2014

This is a quirky hotel on outskirts of Hamburg. It has a very eco-friendly theme and the whole hotel appears of be made of wood. It is very clean, spacious and quiet, but they may be due to the fact that there is really nothing surrounding it- a few new apartment blocks were going up when we stayed, but no real shops or bars nearby. The railway is about 5min walk away which is handy for getting into Hamburg which is good. There were two things I didn't enjoy about the hotel, no kettle in the rooms (which with all the wood is understandable), but the staff are helpful and willing to give you hot water as needed. Also the menu in the restaurant was very limited, but what we did eat was lovely. The beds were comfortable, but a bit close together and you cant really move them as there are build in units for lamps behind them. The shower was brilliant and they provide you with lots of eco shampoos and soaps, even got a spare travel charger from reception when I lost mine. Lots of free wifi as well. would definitely stay again. Good hotel if you are looking for something a bit quieter outside Hamburg and don't mind the short commute in.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kim M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (160)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

25 - 31 of 160 reviews

Reviewed 8 April 2014

The concept of this hotel is ecology. Everything in the hotel is based on respect of our natural environment. The building is mostly made of wood and natural material are used in the rooms. Also their restaurant is serving regional and seasonal food. Interesting concept! However, there is nothing around. This hotel is located in a residential new area and there is no alternative as restaurant or cafe. The subway station is close and you can reach downtown within 3 stations. Nice experience for 1 or 2 nights max.

Stayed: April 2014, travelled on business
Thank Carosuzhou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 April 2014 via mobile

Wow! A single word would be enough to explain how much I loved this place. I'd say one of the most interesting hotel I've ever been.
The building is an interesting architectural wooden shell where you can find: a museum, hotel (which for me deserves 4 stars), restaurant, congress rooms. Wood is all around and you really feel like staying in a cosy big cottage. Energy saving is a must, heating and conditioning is obteined by geothermical energy, and the concrete structure is covered by a thick layer of insulation and wood. Every detail is studied in this direction.
Hotel: my room was big (i think I got a double comfort) with a beautiful design of furniture. Each room is characterized by a tree and the symbol is its leaf, very smart! I had dinner at the ground floor restaurant and it was very good as well so as the breakfast which was very natural and healthy.
Location: ok, it's in a suburb of Hamburg but it's a renovated area where every building is new. Plus it's so easy getting there!!! 3 stops with the S Bahn from the train station (line 3 or 31) and the frequency of train is high (every 10 mins). In 10 mins you are at the Central Train Station and 14 mins to the city center. So it's really like being in the town. S bahn station is 3mins walking from the hotel.
Suggestion: just one small but important suggestion. If you want to conquer international clients, please translate in english useful things (menu at restaurant, booklets with history of the building at the reception, description of the trees in the rooms. I think this would be soooo interesting for the guests. And useful.

What more to say? Go and check it. It deserves a visit. Germans from sustainability point of view are one step forward!

Stayed: April 2014, travelled on business
Thank Trickypv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 February 2014

This hotel offerst a different experience than most hotels in the area. One has a feeeling of beeing in mountains not in the industial town or harbour.

I stayed here for the third time since it was opened cca year ago. Since the first time all the landscaping works outside if finished, Builders have left. Hotel is now set in the newly erected residential houses. all in outstanding modern design.

Accomodadtion is on 3-4 star standard. Good qulaity bed, internet acces, spacious bathroom. Also I should note that level of service is maintained on the apropriate level over the time.

Breakfast is at extra chargé of 12EUR which I see as not very good value for money for the offer you get for that. Evevning meals are much better value although not in very vide choice.

Parking is probably only major downside of Walderhouse. Acces to it not wery well marked and if you arrive by dark parking attendant aprears from the dark asking for ridiculous 15 eur/night. First time I thouth it was some homeless, next time he was weraing reflex jacket. I think as the hotel in not in the center they should provide some places free or get priority places closer to hotel, than i would accept paying the premium like in the central Hamburg.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PetrB366
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 December 2013

This is a fairly new hotel on the outskirts of Hamburg, built of wood and very eco-friendly. The design is a little quirky, with minimalist concrete and ducting mixed with tree branches and boughs, but overall the public areas are fine. They sell local specialities as well. The rooms are wood-clad, with a lot of natural wood furnishing, and I am not sure if it is ll this wood acting as a noise damper or the fact that the hotel is in a quiet area, but inside the room there is not a sound to be heard! It really is silent, which is a good aid for sleeping of course. The bathroom is well designed and supplied. The restaurant/bar area is fine to sit in for a while, the kitchen if decent (I have a lovely steak with very good accompaniments), good beer and excellent professional and friendly staff. For a 3* hotel this really has a lot going for it and I will gladly return.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank aintynice
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 October 2013

We stayed here as it was at the 2013 International Garden Show entrance that we were visiting. It is set amongst a number of very interesting modern buildings and is largely constructed of wood although the ground floor is polished concrete with exposed pipework which may not be to everyones taste. The ground floor houses the reception, the retaurant and an excellent forest exhibition. The second floor has a free art gallery. Go up in the lift and you step out into a wood panelled corridor with leaf patterned carpet and all the rooms named after trees. As the walls are not parallel it is a most unusual space which gives the feeling of an optical illusion puzzle. The room was quite small and cosy with wood lined walls and decorations based on the tree name of the room. There was also free wifi. Although it was close to the railway we did not hear it and we found it very quiet. The bathroom facilities were fine with natural eco soaps provided. The beds were extremely comfortable. The breakfast buffet had everything we would have wanted and cost 12e each. The food in the restaurant was reasonable although there was not a very great choice but fine for a few days. The staff were very helpful with a problem that we had and all spoke good English. There is an amazing swimming centre about 100m from the hotel with several pools where you can swim very reasonably. Although it is about 8km from the centre of Hamburg the train only takes 15 minutes and the station is only a 5 minute walk from the hotel on wheely suitcase friendly paths.
A good tip is that even for 2 people a day group ticket (for up to 5) is the cheapest and easiest way of travelling and can also be used on some buses.

Room Tip: I think they are all similar. The ones on the corner may be larger.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ian H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 September 2013

This was quite a hard review to write. The hotel is new and as a result the rooms are clean with everything in good order. The hotel was very eco friendly and didn’t require any additional heating or cooling in the rooms. Staff were pleasant and helpful. Free wifi in the rooms, located within walking distance to Hamburg's excellent light rail system.
So why not five stars?
Well there are several reasons why I deducted a point, the hotel is not cheap, especially being so far outside Hamburg - and it is, you need to get a train to do anything other than stay in the hotel – there are NO restaurants, bars, or anything else to do in the evening near the hotel. I was also surprise that given the high room prices breakfast was not included.
The pool and gym are not located on-site. I stayed as part of a business trip, as such I was out during the daytime. I would recommend staying closer to the city if staying with a family, otherwise be prepared to spend a lot of time on the train travelling into Hamburg!

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FilCork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hamburg hotels
Hammerbrook
Prizeotel Hamburg-City
Prizeotel Hamburg-City
#15 of 321 in Hamburg
914 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Alt Lohbrugger Hof
#109 of 321 in Hamburg
76 reviews
The Rilano Hotel Hamburg
#78 of 321 in Hamburg
374 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Raphael Hotel Waelderhaus? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Raphael Hotel Waelderhaus

Address: Am Inselpark 19, 21109 Hamburg, Germany
Region: Germany > Hamburg
Amenities:
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #80 of 321 Hotels in Hamburg
Price Range: £69 - £106 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Raphael Hotel Waelderhaus 3.5*
Number of rooms: 82
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The ecologically designed 3 star superior Raphael Hotel Walderhaus (opened November 2012) is situated in Wilhelmsburg, an island on the River Elbe, at the former entrance to the international garden show hamburg 2013. The highest possible level of sustainability, superior comfort and excellent service standards ensure a healthy and personal welcome for our guests. The 82 comfortable rooms feature all the latest technology with shower/WC, WiFi, flat screen TV, desk, telephone, safe and hair-dryer. Public transport will take you to Hamburg city centre and the main train station in 9 minutes. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Hotels.com and Ebookers so you can book your Raphael Hotel Waelderhaus reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing