We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Novotel Hamburg City Alster
Nearby Hotels
US$164
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$282
US$149
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Ibis Budget Hamburg City(Hamburg)(Great Value!)
US$90
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
US$136
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$104
US$93
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$130
US$109
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$141
US$124
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
The Madison Hamburg(Hamburg)
US$183
US$171
Official Site
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$257
US$145
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Apartment-Hotel Hamburg Mitte(Hamburg)(Great Value!)
US$97
US$82
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Reviews (1,116)
Filter reviews
1,116 results
Traveller rating
363
566
143
30
14
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
363
566
143
30
14
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsunderground subwaylubecker strasseseparate toiletnice hotelfamily roomhamburg citywellness areabreakfast buffetwould stay againclose to the hotelpublic transportmain roadnice barrooms are cleanbusiness tripexcellent staypleasant stay
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
220 - 225 of 1,116 reviews
Reviewed 5 September 2012

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 30 August 2012

Early flight to Hamburg and was able to check into hotel right away. I did the breakfast buffet before heading out to local sights. Let me tell you, this buffet was AWESOME. Fresh juices, jams for all tastes. I loved the smoked salmon and cheeses. Still dreaming of it now. I did get the business package which made it convenient to do Internet and breakfast (a must have). Otherwise, a bit pricy without package.

The staff was very friendly and pleasant to work with. Room very clean and had a "welcome" screen on TV with my name on it (nice touch). Since I am used to plush beds, you may not like the ones they have. But I did manage to get decent night rest during my trip. uBahn station steps away. I was there during European Cup, so the hotel lobby was great to watch game on big screen. Overall, lovely stay and will be back for sure.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Christine T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 August 2012

On arrival check-in was very quick and efficient, even providing our children with a choice of free gift which is a very nice touch. The rooms are clean, bright and functional. A bit cramped for 4 but this is generally to be expected in city hotels, plus it can always be difficult to find a hotel that sleeps more than 3 in one room in a city. The breakfast we did not take as at 19 EUR per person we thought a bit steep (though you only pay for adults) but there are cheaper alternatives nearby. When we arrived it was a v hot day and as we knew there was no pool at the hotel we just walked for 5 minutes to the local swimming baths where a 3 hour family ticket was 14 EUR and it even had a small outdoor pool too. The staff at the hotel were extremely helpful and answered any questions we had about getting to the city etc. In fact although the hotel is not in the centre of Hamburg you can walk it in about 30-40 mins but for less than 15 EUR for a day, you can buy at reception a ticket that allows unlimited travel on the overgroubd, underground and water taxis and the station is right outside the hotel. Also if you turn left out of the hotel and walk up the road for about 5-10 mins you come to a few restaurants and supermarkets. If you turn right and walk towards the centre you also come to a few places but the area is not too great with more 'adult' places shall we say ! Overall for a family stay for a few days in Hamburg this hotel was great and we would recommend it. The price was also great as well.

  • Stayed: August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CKBM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 August 2012

Awesome location: there is a u-Bahn station literally outside its entrance, only few stations to the central city. Few minutes walk to Lange Reihe, a street full of restaurants.

Good value: though more expensive than Motel One and Suite Novotel both of which are quite close, this Novotel proper provides all facilities that you expect from an excellent hotel. Rooms with very comfortable sizes, full facilities, nice bar. They even have a kids area which is equipped with ps2 and Kinect! However, due to the great demand for the other two hotels nearby, they are often booked out. Then this hotel is definitely a good alternative and provides an overall better services.

The staff there were professional and pleasant.

Downsides: if I recall correctly, wifi came with extra cost. The water boiler in my room did not work, and it took a while to have it replaced.

Overall, if you look for a comfortable (as opposed to economic) stay in Hamburg close to the central city, then this is a good choice.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jakob K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 August 2012

I and the family have stayed at several Novotels in Germany and Italy during the summer. The Novotel in Hamburg was the least exciting of them, and unfortunately the added cost such as parking, internet access etc. made it also one of the most expensive.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Thommyh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews