We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Hotel, Friendly staff”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Novotel Hamburg City Alster
Ranked #49 of 318 Hotels in Hamburg
India
Level 6 Contributor
96 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 134 helpful votes
“Nice Hotel, Friendly staff”
Reviewed 22 November 2013

We arrived at the hotel a before noon and that meant that our room was not yet ready. The X box in the lobby kept the kids busy while our room was being prepared. We were led to our room a little before noon. We had a family room. Quite spacious for four of us.
The location is OK, but there are other better located hotels that we saw on the way. But in any case it is easy to approach and public transport is available nearby. The breakfast was average and nothing to write home about.
The staff was pretty friendly and helped us in getting taxis and planning our days. Lots of eating places nearby. Especially the night street that is easy to walk to from the hotel and have a god collection of restaurants and bars and street stalls. Once again all credit to the helpful staff.
Overall we enjoyed our stay here. I would definitely recommend this hotel to families.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Travel_Grande
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
h3737, General Manager at Novotel Hamburg City Alster, responded to this review, 28 November 2013
Dear Travel_Grande, we are pleased that you have felt comfortable with us and hope to soon welcome you back with us. Yours Team of Novotel Hamburg Alster
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,017 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    333
    513
    132
    28
    11
See reviews for
405
228
61
225
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Freudenstadt, Germany
1 review
Reviewed 28 October 2013

We wanted to stay for a Relaxing night at the Hotel. Unfortunately the SPA area didn't work correctly (no correct function of the steam bath) and it was quite noisy.
The room was nice and the breakfast was very good.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Helpful?
Thank Oliver B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 October 2013

Novotel Hamburg City Alster is certainly a decent choice as there. The room's big, the bed is comfortable and the shower and toilet are good (although they somehow are two seprate rooms). The floor is really clean too, and little noise was produced. TV did not work very well though. The staff are helpful although there was a big fly buzzling around when I checked in in the afternoon.

Seems the hotel improved the internet service and the free Wifi is universal within the hotel building. Managed to connect my iPhone but failed to do the same for my iPad somehow.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank the-crimson-cosmos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nuenen, The Netherlands
Level 6 Contributor
376 reviews
82 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 125 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 September 2013

In principle this is a fine hotel with good rooms, abundant breakfast buffet and what have you.
However during our 4 day's stay one of the two elevators did not work during the whole of our stay, days before and , I guess, days ahead. Management stated on a flip chart next to the elevator that one of the elevators was out of order. Ha! "Please use the other one. Thank you for your understanding". Understanding? In order to understand one has to get information. Why can an elevator not be repaired within a couple of hours? This is Hamburg 2013, not Timbuktu .A fully booked hotel, one elevator, long waiting times, no excuse, no discount, no free drink, nothing... I asked staff to write the information required in order to understand on the flip chart. "Will do." But nothing happened. Sloppy indeed.
Wifi or WLAN, though in house, is not offered as a standard. Timbuktu again. Price to get internet access is high, about € 10,- a day.
Two computers could be used for free. The screen announced: software is illegal, virus scan is out of order. Huh! A shame for a hotel like this. Next to the two computres there was a kids corner. Very very noisy kids and no one doing something about it.
Garage fee: very high end with its € 17,- a day. I know better hotels asking less.
Nevertheless it is a fine hotel asking for better management with more regards for the guests.

Room Tip: South side room is fine looking onto a green with trees
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank n_wiedenhof
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
County Dublin, Ireland
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 September 2013 via mobile

This was my 2nd time staying at this hotel for short business trip. Hotel is about 25 - 30 minute taxi ride from airport (approx. 27 euro) and check-in was efficient. Rooms plain but spotless clean and has tea/coffee facilities. Room had two beds - one thing I do not like at all is that the toilet is completly separate from the bathroom - so have to walk around the room into the separate bathroom to wash hands - very odd set-up. I've never had that type of layout in a hotel room before - there is no sink - only in the bathroom with a bath and shower cubicle. Breakfast is expensive at 20eur but is very fresh with the standard range of cereals, juices, breads and meats etc. Hotel has a Wii-game console on large screen for kids and a play area with toys for the younger kiddies. Internet stations located alongside too. Buffet- style dinner was tasty with good selections. Staff slightly frosty but efficient. Mixture clientelle with businness and families evenly catered for. WiFi connection very frustrating with snail-like connection...gave up attempts to connect after 30minutes of trying.
Overall a well-located hotel with clean semi-spacious rooms and decent food.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jennydean01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Mateo,CA
Level 5 Contributor
63 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 August 2013

We had to stay here one night because they lost our reservation for the Novotel Suites whose rooms are huge. This hotel was a huge disappointment after staying at the Novotel Suites for much less money.

Room Tip: Stay at the Novotel Suites instead. No Wi-fi, no free coffee in the morning and tiny rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Goldigsgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hamburg hotels
Hammerbrook
Mercure Hotel Hamburg City
Mercure Hotel Hamburg City
#55 of 318 in Hamburg
716 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
ARCOTEL Rubin
#65 of 318 in Hamburg
683 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Novotel Hamburg City Alster? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Novotel Hamburg City Alster

Property: Novotel Hamburg City Alster
Address: Luebecker Str. 3, 22087 Hamburg, Germany
Phone Number:
Region: Germany > Hamburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#21 Family Hotel in Hamburg
#21 Spa Hotel in Hamburg
#39 Romantic Hotel in Hamburg
#40 Luxury Hotel in Hamburg
#42 Business Hotel in Hamburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Novotel Hamburg City Alster 4*
Number of rooms: 210
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The central location and U-Bahn train station on our doorstep make the Novotel Hamburg City Alster hotel the ideal base in Hamburg. Enjoy the comfort of a 4-star hotel in the modern rooms and suites with a desk and free WiFi. Business travelers can relaxin the sauna after a meeting in our modern meeting rooms, while families will love our video games area. Novo2 looks forward to welcoming you ? it's an innovative combination of a lounge bar and eatery at your Novotel hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, ACCOR, Hotels.com, Prestigia, Priceline, Booking.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Novotel Hamburg City Alster reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Novotel Hamburg Alster Hotel Hamburg
Accor Hamburg Alster
Hamburg Novotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing