We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good Hotel, great service.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Novotel Hamburg City Alster
Ranked #47 of 318 Hotels in Hamburg
Certificate of Excellence
Sao Paulo, SP
Level Contributor
36 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Good Hotel, great service.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 April 2014

We stayed at the Novotel Hamburg in a family trip trough Germany. It is well located (15 min walking to the city center) The rooms were ok, very clean. The service was great. All the staff was very friendly and helpful, they really made the difference!
I think this is a really good hotel, the only flaw are the elevators. You have to wait a lot to get one, because they only have 2!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PauUatSaoPao
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Novotel_Hamburg, Manager at Novotel Hamburg City Alster, responded to this review, 12 May 2014
Dear PauUatSaoPao,
thank you very much for your positive feedback. I´s extremely important for our team to offer our guests a pleasant stay. We are very pleased that we have succeeded in this and hope that you will visit us again in Hamburg.
Sincerly Yours team of Novotel Hamburg Alster
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

982 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    324
    497
    126
    25
    10
See reviews for
390
223
61
215
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Denmark
Level Contributor
55 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 April 2014

Maybe the biggest breakfast buffet we have ever seen, but not necessarily the best. Clean and very close to the city center, just a 10-15 minutes’ walk. The walk taking you right through the Arabic quarter with lots of specials shops and plenty of prostitutes. Traveling with two teenagers, the room was on the small size. One double and one sofa bed. The sofa bed titled downward in the head end so sleep the other way around.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HGUDenmark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Novotel_Hamburg, Manager at Novotel Hamburg City Alster, responded to this review, 9 May 2014
Dear HGUDenmark,
thank you for taking the time to review your stay in our hotel.We are very sorry that we didn´t convince you with our breakfast and the size of our family rooms. We are constantly working to improve our quality. Therefore we are grateful for any suggestions. Due to our central location you can reach the center of Hamburg in a few minutes with the U-Bahn whose station is located right outside our hotel.
We hope to welcome you again in our hotel.
Sincerly Yours team of Novotel Hamburg Alster
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Morrisville, North Carolina
Level Contributor
14 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 April 2014

I stayed at the Novotel for a convention in Hamburg. The hotel itself was fine. The beds were a bit uncomfortable and the pillows a bit flat. Also the bathroom was set up right next to the bed, but the toilet was in the entryway section of the room. The WiFi was quite expensive (luckily I could expense it for business).

The location was right next to a subway stop, which was very convenient, as there was not a lot of entertainment options right next to the hotel. If you walked a bit, you could reach an area that has excellent restaurants and a cozy feel, but it took some walking to get to.

The staff at the Novotel were very friendly and helpful, and spoke English well (which was great because my German is very poor!).

So, while the hotel had all the basic necessities, I found myself wishing I was a bit closer to the downtown area and action, as well as closer to the Hamburg Messe so my trip to work was shorter! I also wanted a softer bed and fluffier pillow. But, as I don't travel places solely to sit in a hotel room, I think the hotel worked out okay!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Allie L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Novotel_Hamburg, Manager at Novotel Hamburg City Alster, responded to this review, 9 May 2014
Dear Allie S,
thank you very much for your useful feedback about your stay in our hotel.We are very sorry that we could not meet your expectations with the bed quality. The WiFi service is free at our hotel. The premium access we offer for € 6, - per day.
We hope to welcome you again in our hotel to convince you with our quality.
Sincerly Yours team of Novotel Hamburg Alster
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Trieste, Italy
Level Contributor
49 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 163 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 March 2014

I'm a customer of this hotel, because, I often find myself in Hamburg for business.
I find it very tasteful and welcoming, attentive to detail and service. good cleaning of the rooms.
Staff excellent, knowledgeable, courteous and friendly, comfortable small sauna and relaxation area, the only flaw of this hotel are the cushions of the room.
Breakfast amazing and full of very good quality, in my opinion, among the best of all the hotels that I've tried (about a hundred).
Great location in the city, I recommend it especially for business.
My congratulations to the team at the Novotel Alster.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Michele L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Novotel_Hamburg, Manager at Novotel Hamburg City Alster, responded to this review, 18 March 2014
Dear Michele L,
thank you for your positive feedback and your words of praise to all employees. We are very pleased that we were able to convince you again with our quality and hope that you will visit us again soon.
Sincerly Yours team of Novotel Hamburg Alster
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stevenage, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 March 2014

This hotel was very welcoming with lovely lobby, childrens play area with consoles and fashionable bar that comes alive at night with sparkling hurricane lamps.

Contemporary and wonderful breakfast, the hotel even has a subway directly outside so ticks all the boxes for modern functionality.

Spacious and friendly, the family felt extremely comfortable and enjoyed all facilities. Centrally located with plenty of tourist information, staff spoke superb English, impressive.

Room Tip: Dinner is recommended in elegant ambience, good choice and selection.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank emmabumpus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Novotel_Hamburg, Manager at Novotel Hamburg City Alster, responded to this review, 12 March 2014
Dear emmabumpus,
thank you for describing your impressions of our hotel. We are pleased that you have felt comfortable with us and we will convince you of our good quality on your next visit again.
Sincerly Yours team of Novotel Hamburg Alster
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hamburg hotels
Hammerbrook
Mercure Hotel Hamburg City
Mercure Hotel Hamburg City
#55 of 318 in Hamburg
4.0 of 5 bubbles 695 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
ARCOTEL Rubin
#65 of 318 in Hamburg
4.0 of 5 bubbles 658 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Novotel Hamburg City Alster? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Novotel Hamburg City Alster

Property: Novotel Hamburg City Alster
Address: Luebecker Str. 3, 22087 Hamburg, Germany
Phone Number:
Region: Germany > Hamburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#20 Spa Hotel in Hamburg
#21 Family Hotel in Hamburg
#39 Romantic Hotel in Hamburg
#39 Luxury Hotel in Hamburg
#42 Business Hotel in Hamburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Novotel Hamburg City Alster 4*
Number of rooms: 210
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The central location and U-Bahn train station on our doorstep make the Novotel Hamburg City Alster hotel the ideal base in Hamburg. Enjoy the comfort of a 4-star hotel in the modern rooms and suites with a desk and free WiFi. Business travelers can relaxin the sauna after a meeting in our modern meeting rooms, while families will love our video games area. Novo2 looks forward to welcoming you ? it's an innovative combination of a lounge bar and eatery at your Novotel hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, ACCOR, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Hotel.de, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Novotel Hamburg City Alster reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Novotel Hamburg Alster Hotel Hamburg
Accor Hamburg Alster
Hamburg Novotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing