We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Novotel Hamburg City Alster
Nearby Hotels
US$282
US$139
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$243
US$174
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
US$155
US$131
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$192
US$149
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$183
US$158
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$212
US$195
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$116
US$109
NH Hotels
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Apartment-Hotel Hamburg Mitte(Hamburg)(Great Value!)
US$130
US$101
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Ibis Budget Hamburg City(Hamburg)(Great Value!)
US$103
ibis Budget
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
US$184
US$126
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (1,116)
Filter reviews
1,116 results
Traveller rating
363
566
143
30
14
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
363
566
143
30
14
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsunderground subwaylubecker strasseseparate toiletnice hotelfamily roomhamburg citywellness areabreakfast buffetwould stay againclose to the hotelpublic transportmain roadnice barrooms are cleanbusiness tripexcellent staypleasant stay
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
159 - 164 of 1,116 reviews
Reviewed 29 July 2014

The hotel is located on a very busy main road and hence majority of the rooms have a lot of traffic noise. Worse thing was the service, we asked for extra pillows (only one pillow provided) and were told we had to collect them ourselves from the reception! It's supposed to be a four star hotel. Unbelievable!

  • Stayed: July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank light11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Novotel_Hamburg, Manager at Novotel Hamburg City Alster, responded to this reviewResponded 1 August 2014

Dear light11,
thank you very much for your useful feedback after your stay in our hotel. For your experiences with our service we would like to apologize to you. It´s very important for the whole team that our guests feel at home. Unfortunately we did not make it up to you.
Unfortunately there is also the possibility for adverse effect about the road traffic due to our central location. Please make a reservation in time for a room that faces on the quiet side of the hotel for your next stay.
We are looking forward to welcome you in the next future.
Sincerly Yours team of Novotel Hamburg Alster

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 July 2014

Our third stay at a Novotel this summer, but this was a bit more disappointing than the others. Still a good, clean and family-friendly hotel, but a few downsides: Not very central (but the U-bahn is right outside), you always have to wait in line for the elevator. Also, the reception area is very noisy, as they've placed a Play(station) area for kids right next to it. Credit to them for being kid-friendly, but the result is that the entire ground floor (including bar and restaurant) is very loud and un-relaxing most of the time. Also, the parking (under the hotel) was packed when we arrived, we had to squeeze into the last 75% of a parking spot available.
This doesn't make it a bad hotel, especially for a one-night stay with family (I'd probably give it a 3.5 overall), but not a hotel I'd stay out for a nice, calm weekend away.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TPost
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Novotel_Hamburg, Manager at Novotel Hamburg City Alster, responded to this reviewResponded 1 August 2014

Dear TPost,
thank you very much for taking the time to tell us about your impressions about your stay in our hotel. We are very sorry that that your current stay did not meet your expectations and you have not felt comfortable in our hotel. Novotel offers for families that up to 2 children stay for free in parents' room.. Therefore our hotel is very often booked during the holiday season.
We hope very much that we could welcome you again during your next visit in Hamburg.
Sincerly Yours team of Novotel Hamburg Alster

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 July 2014

The Novotel Hotels across Germany have a very special offer for families: two adults can accommodate up to two kids in the age <16 years without charge (breakfast included!). Since this offer seems to be very attractive for many families, we met several couples with their kids from all over the world.
Breakfast was great and typically German (that means everything you can imagine: from salmon over crepes to fried eggs….) The hotel was very clean, the room not spacy (remember 4 in a double room!) but very comfortable. And what is really important and makes a stay a pleasure: the staff was very mice and helpful. What shall I add: hotel is very central (besides underground station) and not far away from the Alster.
If we ever return to Hamburg, we will stay there with the kids again!

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Jan-Malte S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Novotel_Hamburg, Manager at Novotel Hamburg City Alster, responded to this reviewResponded 1 August 2014

Dear Jan-Malte S,
thank you for your visit in our hotel and your wonderful feedback. We are very pleased that you and your familiy enyojed your stay in our hotel.
We are looking forward to welcome you again in the next future.
Sincerly Yours team of Novotel Hamburg Alster

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 July 2014 via mobile

Comfortable stay with two children. Very friendly and helpful staff. Clean rooms. The breakfast buffet is really good. But the restaurant in the evening cannot be recommended. Not even if you arrive late and don't feel like going out. Very slow and poor quality. Not the most central location, but good access to U-bahn.

Stayed: February 2014
2  Thank RejseReview
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Novotel_Hamburg, Manager at Novotel Hamburg City Alster, responded to this reviewResponded 1 August 2014

Dear RejseReview,
thank you very much for your useful feedback after your stay in our hotel. We are very sorry that the quality of your dinner in our restaurant didn´t meet your expectations. We appreciate your sharing of your experiences, so that we can improve the quality of our service.
We hope that you will give us the opportunity to better serve you in the near future and looking foward to welcome you again.
Sincerly Yours team of Novotel Hamburg Alster

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 July 2014

The subway is right outside the hotel; it's very easy to get to all the main places in Hamburg since the central line is a loop with this station included, and the hotel has good facilities and great staff

Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
1  Thank rohan_mehta4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Novotel_Hamburg, Manager at Novotel Hamburg City Alster, responded to this reviewResponded 7 July 2014

Dear rohan_mehta4,
thank you very much for your positive feedback and your praise to all of our employees.
We are looking forward to welcome you in the near future.
Sincerly Yours team of Novotel Hamburg Alster

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews