We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not impressed”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Novotel Hamburg City Alster
Ranked #49 of 318 Hotels in Hamburg
London
1 review
“Not impressed”
Reviewed 2 March 2009

My first room was way below 4-Star standard. After 2 complaints, I have been allowed to switch rooms to a better room. Also, the internet is quite expensive, and on the business centre computer every page containing the word "gay" is blocked, which makes it impossible for the gay traveller to organise a good night out. There is no pool (although a pool was advertised) and the gym is a small cardio room. The steam room is nice, but pointless to me without pool or gym.

Breakfast is nice, the rooms are OK, but the quilts have no proper casing, only sheets to cover them from the inside. Outside the naked quilts are quite dirty. When sleeping, do not touch the outside of the quilt!

Otherwise, the hotel is clean. But since I like a clean bed, going out at night and enjoy swimming, this hotel is way too expensive. But it is a very stylish hotel!

  • Stayed December 2008, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hubblebubble32
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,017 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    333
    513
    132
    28
    11
See reviews for
405
228
61
225
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Stuttgart, Germany
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 September 2008

The best hotel I've been to in ages. Absolutely nothing to criticise - very friendly + capable personnel, hotel very nicely designed, food very good, meeting rooms + catering nice, very clean. Location is also really good, underground public transport directly outside hotel, only a couple of stops to get into city center. Will definitely stay there again!

  • Stayed September 2008, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank KikiOrleans
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 April 2008

Went for an long weekend with some mates.

While this hotel is not right in the centre of the action (a good or bad thing depending on how you look at it) is wasnt really an issue, There is a tube right out side the hotel that will get you to Central station is a two short stops.

Hotel staff we friendly and helpful, rooms were a good size and modern. Good bar downstairs that got quite busy in the evenings, good for a wind down drink after seeing the sights.

Loved Hamburg would recommend this hotel to anyone.

  • Liked — Modern
  • Disliked — n/a
  • Stayed April 2008, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank CARRA23J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Copenhagen
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 December 2007

We went to Hamburg to go shopping for the Xmas break 2007. We were very happy we decided to book on this hotel. Right outside the hotel is a train station, which is very important for us having to carry some shopping stuffs + our 3-year old kid who could not really walk far distances yet.

Breakfast is absolutely fantastic, it was well worth the eur17 per person.

Room was terrific and we were so happy with the sofa bed in it (which became our daughter's bed) and the temperature control works as it should (usually they are either too cold or not working at all).

Also there is a water pot with some coffee and tea in the room for free.

The only reservation I have with the room is that the toilet is separate from the bathroom. Usually that is ok if there is a faucet and sink in the toilet, but in this hotel there is none. Hence you can not e.g. brush your teeth, (or even wash hands, etc) in the toilet while somebody else is using the bathroom.

Rating should be 4.5 but since there is no such choice, I gave it a 4.

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — Toilet (with no faucet/sink) separated from the bathroom
  • Stayed December 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank PATSYS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Berlin
Level 4 Contributor
15 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 October 2007

We stayed at the Novotel Alster for four nights in October 2007. Our rate was EUR 125 per night including breakfast and free parking in the underground parking garage.

Our room as well as the lobby, restaurant and bar were very clean and brightly furnished with a nice, modern, somewhat minimalistic design (see photo). Our double room was equipped with a mini-bar, a safe, and a separate toilet. Although the street in front of the hotel is quite noisy, the room itself was very quiet thanks to the insulating windows. The only drawback was that there were no mirrors in the room, just one single mirror in the bathroom.

The breakfast buffet was excellent with a large selection of cheese, sausage, bread and toast, smoked salmon, fruit salad, yogurt as well as a number of warm dishes.

The staff was friendly and attentive; our only criticism was that the gentleman at the reception didn't know if there were any buses going from the hotel to the city center. There is an underground stop right in front of the hotel, but during our stay one of the underground lines was out of service for the weekend because of construction work.

  • Stayed October 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank net11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hampshire
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 June 2007

My husband I stayed at the Hotel for a long weekend and were really impressed. Friendly, helpful and polite staff. Great modern room, decent size, with separate bathroom and toilet and a big double bed.

Excellent breakfast buffet, good atmosphere in the bar at night.

Pleasant walk to the centre alongside the Lake or a quick tube ride from right outside the door.

Excellent value - would stay again if ever we go back to Hamburg.

  • Liked — Modern, light and airy
  • Disliked — Nothing to report!
  • Stayed June 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jarajam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ex UK and Germany, now South of France
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 March 2007

Clean, smart, warm and friendly. Plus in an ideal location, 2 mins on underground to the city centre, and 300m from the large city lake.

Nice health club there as well

I will be returning next week, highly recommended!

  • Stayed March 2007, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank donkey_shirt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hamburg hotels
Hammerbrook
Mercure Hotel Hamburg City
Mercure Hotel Hamburg City
#55 of 318 in Hamburg
716 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
ARCOTEL Rubin
#65 of 318 in Hamburg
683 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Novotel Hamburg City Alster? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Novotel Hamburg City Alster

Property: Novotel Hamburg City Alster
Address: Luebecker Str. 3, 22087 Hamburg, Germany
Phone Number:
Region: Germany > Hamburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#21 Family Hotel in Hamburg
#21 Spa Hotel in Hamburg
#39 Romantic Hotel in Hamburg
#40 Luxury Hotel in Hamburg
#42 Business Hotel in Hamburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Novotel Hamburg City Alster 4*
Number of rooms: 210
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The central location and U-Bahn train station on our doorstep make the Novotel Hamburg City Alster hotel the ideal base in Hamburg. Enjoy the comfort of a 4-star hotel in the modern rooms and suites with a desk and free WiFi. Business travelers can relaxin the sauna after a meeting in our modern meeting rooms, while families will love our video games area. Novo2 looks forward to welcoming you ? it's an innovative combination of a lounge bar and eatery at your Novotel hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, ACCOR, Prestigia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Novotel Hamburg City Alster reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Novotel Hamburg Alster Hotel Hamburg
Accor Hamburg Alster
Hamburg Novotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing