We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Novotel Hamburg City Alster
Ranked #51 of 321 Hotels in Hamburg
Reviewed 11 February 2010

On arrival:
Easy to park your car. You can use the garage belonging to the hotel. Not cheap (25 eur for 24 H), but cheaper than some alternatives in the city. We parked in a normal parking bay just outside the hotel. We checked with the hotel to make sure it was legal. And it is, and for free as well.
If you arrive by train, take the U-bahn direct to the hotel (just outside the door).
Staff at reception friendly and happy to give away advice for tours, sightseeing etc.

The rooms:
Stayed in a standard room. Very nice and modern. Safe, minibar, tv, nice beds etc. Nothing to complain about.

Getting around:
Access to the infrastructure is perfect. As mentioned earlier, the U-bahn is just outside the door. That will take you around all major parts of the city.

  • Stayed: February 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jeremy_Lewis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,062)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

255 - 261 of 1,062 reviews

Reviewed 25 January 2010

Fantastic Business Hotel in Hamburg. You get a cab any hour of the day or night within 2 minutes.

  • Stayed: January 2009, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank theknight16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 December 2009

Went there for a short break - few minutes walk from subway with frequent trains to centre. Good modern hotel small but well kitted out rooms. Clean and friendly staff.
Good breakfasts. Close to shops and restaurants. Would stay there again on a short break.

  • Stayed: October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank violaCambridge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
An Agoda Traveller
Reviewed 5 September 2009

  • Stayed: September 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank An Agoda Traveller
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 1 September 2009

The Novotel Alster is not really in the city centre but is not too far away either - and is easily accessible by the metro. Rooms are clean and spacious and the staff is quite helpful.

  • Stayed: July 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DubaiSameer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 July 2009

Stayed here for one night with my wife and 8 months old baby. We goot a very good offer of 98 euros per night without breakfast and so we can say that the value of what we got was extremely good. Room was huge with double bed and one sofa. Comfortable beds, clean, nice modern furnishing. We didn't have breakfas at the hotel because the price of 18 euros per person is way to expensive. But we had dinner in the room since we arrived quite late and the food was very good and fairly priced.

Hotel is extremely well located, outside the door there is an underground stop that takes you straight to the center.

We had a pleasant stay (even tough our baby didn't want to sleep...), only down side was the extremely expensive WLAN internet. We are convinced that in 2009 this service should be free! Anyway, we plan to go back to Hamburg for a longer stay and the Novotel Alster will be our first choice for accomodation.

  • Stayed: July 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank apulanta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 June 2009

I stayed here for three nights 8th - 11th June. The hotel is easy to find, in fact the main entrance is about 20 metres from an entrance to the Lubeckerstrasse U-Bahn. Check in was efficient, but I wasn't told that I needed to swipe the card to get the lift to work. The lift was extremely slow, and most days I used the stairs as I was on the 1st floor (2nd floor to the Americans!).
The room was clean and the window opened on to the street. There was a separate toilet and the bath room had both a shower and the bath. The bed was comfortable. There appeared to be only one English tv channel, CNN. BBC World didn't seem to work.
One day I went back to the room in the late morning and I noticed that one of the dirty coffee mugs hadn't been removed nor the milk or drinking chocolate replaced. I mentioned this to reception and on my return I had 3 drinking chocolate sachets and eight milk cartons!
I didn't eat breakfast at the hotel as I thought €18 was expensive. There was a bakery that did nice food five minutes away. The bar prices were slightly high and I was never given any nibbles!
The hotel was about a 10 minute walk from the main station. A good example of a Novotel.

  • Stayed: June 2009, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mktraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hamburg hotels
Hammerbrook
Mercure Hotel Hamburg City
Mercure Hotel Hamburg City
#56 of 321 in Hamburg
739 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Scandic Hamburg Emporio
#16 of 321 in Hamburg
1,605 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Novotel Hamburg City Alster? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Novotel Hamburg City Alster

Address: Luebecker Str. 3, 22087 Hamburg, Germany
Phone Number:
Region: Germany > Hamburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#20 Spa Hotel in Hamburg
#21 Family Hotel in Hamburg
#39 Romantic Hotel in Hamburg
#41 Luxury Hotel in Hamburg
#42 Business Hotel in Hamburg
Price Range: £68 - £144 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Novotel Hamburg City Alster 4*
Number of rooms: 210
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The central location and U-Bahn train station on our doorstep make the Novotel Hamburg City Alster hotel the ideal base in Hamburg. Enjoy the comfort of a 4-star hotel in the modern rooms and suites with a desk and free WiFi. Business travelers can relaxin the sauna after a meeting in our modern meeting rooms, while families will love our video games area. Novo2 looks forward to welcoming you ? it's an innovative combination of a lounge bar and eatery at your Novotel hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, ACCOR, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Novotel Hamburg City Alster reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Novotel Hamburg Alster Hotel Hamburg
Accor Hamburg Alster
Hamburg Novotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing