We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Superb experience” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Chocoversum by Hachez

Chocoversum by Hachez
Ranked #19 of 300 things to do in Hamburg
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Chocolate is more than just having a nibble. It makes people happy and is an exceptional luxury food. What is it that makes chocolate so special? Where does it originate from? How is it made? And what effect does it have on our bodies? You can find out all about the phenomena of chocolate in the CHOCOVERSUM. Following the motto "discover - experience - participate" our experts take you on a gourmet trip.
Singapore
Level Contributor
15 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Superb experience”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 November 2013

Yes..it's a pity that the guided tour was in German (otherwise, it's 5 star). You can rent a guide book for EUR2. They return you the money when you return the guidebook although it was not as new as when we first got it with some oil stains from the chocolates.:)

I visited this place with 2kids (1yo and 4yo). The 4yo loves it. It is not difficult to understand what they are trying to deliver at every station although it was in German. The guide was very friendly. The best part was making your own chocolates that you can bring back at the end of the day. The tasting of the chocolates in the different making process makes the tour interesting esp for the kids. Highly recommended for young kids. Yes...and my 1yo was happy climbing the wooden platform (one of the exhibit) and walking around the exhibits while tasting his first chocolates. No crying or whining of any sort.

Easy for parents and fun for kids.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Brainkid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

563 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    321
    183
    43
    7
    9
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Sharjah, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Not in English. ”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 November 2013 via mobile

I checked this on TripAdvisor and decided to go. Checked the website and it said you can ask for a tour in English.

When I visited the place they gave me an English guide and said that the whole tour would be in Dutch but you can ask questions in English. So I stucked in a tour for almost two hours not understanding anything. Where I believe if I speak Dutch I would enjoy it.

The good side is you get to design your own chocolate which is awesome. at some times in the tour you get a chance to taste some chocolates. Finally they got a nice ahop qith collection of amazing chocolate.

If you love chocolate and you speak Dutch or dont main to go through the tour without understanding anything then you should give it a go.

Personally would give it a 4 if it was in English

Helpful?
1 Thank Mohamed A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
156 reviews
62 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“yummi !”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 November 2013 via mobile

a really nice interactive museum for all ages
the tour is highly recommended , don't miss the tour even if you don't speak german (there is a small booklet in english that explain everything) you can ask the guide and he will explain to you the important things in english.
and the best part is that you get to taste a lot of chocolate and also make one by yourself

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank kar808
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
20 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Chocolate is great, but wouldn't recommend a tour unless you speak German”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 October 2013

A friend and I decided to do the chocolate tour while our other halves were in a conference at Hamburg. I wouldn't recommend the tour to anyone who doesn't speak German. The tour takes about 1.5 - 2 hours and is all in German. We did know this advance, but decided to go along anyway. Big mistake. We were given an English booklet (4 pages) which outlined what was being said at all the stations, but all we really did was wait around for the guide to finish. I would have read all of the signs they had around the place while I was waiting, except they were all in German. Be mindful that you cannot walk around the place on your own, you can only do it via tour.

I will say that we got to taste the chocolate at each stage of the process, which was cool (very yummy), and did get to make our own chocolate bar, but to me it wasn't worth the time when you couldn't understand what was being said and just waited around for the group.

My recommendation - save yourself the time and money you would spend on the tour (14 euros), and spend it on the chocolate and goodies sold in the chocoversum foyer instead!

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Julie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC
Level Contributor
106 reviews
32 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 116 helpful votes
“Amazing but long winded”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 September 2013

For chocolate lovers, this place is a "must see" in Hamburg. After reading the reviews, we knew that they only offered tours in German, but we were still excited to go. The tour lasts almost 2 hours, and if you don't speak German be prepared for a lot of standing and waiting for the guide to finish. The English booklets did a great job explaining everything that we were seeing, but the guide clearly went into more detail in German than is translated for the English speakers. She did a good job (as others have said) of paraphrasing additional information afterwards, but we did find ourselves standing around a lot having finished reading about the particular station while the guide continued for another 10-15 mins in German. But each of the stations alone is enough of a reason to visit. The visitors get to see, smell, and taste the chocolate at each stage of production including the raw seed from the cacao pod, the seed after the defermenting process, the seed after the roasting process, the chocolate during the first round of grinding with sugar, the milk chocolate powder before processing, and then finally the finished product both in milk chocolate and dark chocolate. It was so fun and informative to taste the chocolate at all of the different stages and see it go from a bitter seed to the sweet product we know and love. On top of all of that, the creation of your own chocolate bar was a delightful treat in the middle of the tour. They had regular chocolate companions like white chocolate chips, hazelnuts, etc. but then they also had some pretty peculiar ones like gummy bears, chilis, and a few varieties of cereal. Their gift shop was also a chocolate lovers delight. It has everything from edible chocolate to chocolate beauty products. Such a fun place to visit. Again, a little boring if you don't speak German, but still well worth the experience.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Rinnegirl143
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Chocoversum by Hachez also viewed

 

Been to Chocoversum by Hachez? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing