We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fast and tasty”
Review of Von der Motte

Von der Motte
Ranked #105 of 3,960 Restaurants in Hamburg
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$0 - US$19
Cuisines: International, Cafe
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, After-hours, Dinner, Delivery, Reservations
Description: We love good food. And we know that in hectic times like these we all need good brain food so that body & soul are functioning. That's how we came up with the idea of slow fast food. Besides our favored All-Day-Long breakfast at the weekend, we focus on fine-dining-salads and sandwiches which you can individually order by choice on a special menue card and we offer as well small international dishes which recipees we have picked on our travels from all over the world. Come for coffee and cake and you will discover cakes which you might not have heard of before. Our favorites are the sweet potato cheesecake and the Hawaiin "Kauai" Carrot cake made with carrots, pineapple, coconut and other great ingrediants. Yummy - Yummy! If you are on the run you can get everything to go. We wrap it up for you so you can enjoy your favorite soup, salad or cakes later... We are based in Hamburg Ottensen, just around the corner from the hectic streetlife. And will be happy to see and serve you - come chillaxing with us!
Reviewed 9 April 2014

Best place for breakfast or lunch. Being here for a few days and staying nearby have enjoyed two breakfasts (I skip the hotel ones) and three time sanwiches in the lunchtime. Great, and being there I should return.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
2  Thank Ellinor H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Energyseeker, Inhaber at Von der Motte, responded to this reviewResponded 24 April 2014

Dear Ellinor,

thank you so much for coming back to our bistro so many times during your stay - we take this as high compliment and love guests like you. Next time you come, please bring us your favorite recipee dish from Göteborg - as honor to your loyalty we would love to try some new swedish treats! Warm wishes and please come back and see us next time you are in Hamburg! Warm wishes, Steffi von der Motte

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (192)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

44 - 48 of 192 reviews

Reviewed 7 April 2014

Great atmosphere, awesome staff, healthy/delicious/made-to-order food.
Really tasty desserts.
Came back twice- and would have come again, if we didn't have to leave Hamburg.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank iryna_s7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Energyseeker, Inhaber at Von der Motte, responded to this reviewResponded 24 April 2014

Dear Iryna,

you have come so far and came back to us twice on such a short stay! We take that as a compliment! If you like, please send us your favorite recipee for cakes or lunch dishes and in honor to you we would like to include that one in one of our weekly changing menues. Please send it to genus@vondermotte.de Of course only if you like - so somehow we will stay connected...:-)

Warm wishes to Toronto, another beautiful city....
Steffi von der Motte

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 March 2014 via mobile

The all day breakfast was an unexpected surprise and so inventive too. The friendly service made the experience all the better. Definitely will come back on next trip to Hamburg!

1  Thank mattotis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Energyseeker, Inhaber at Von der Motte, responded to this reviewResponded 21 March 2014

Dear Mr. Chicago!

We appreciate you coming to our restaurant and leaving it with such a lovely comment! Please come back soon and bring us some Chicago Style pizza with double crust double cheese please!

Warm wishes,
Steffi von der Motte

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 March 2014 via mobile

We visited because of the great rating, but were served bad coffee and a worse English breakfast. The staff were friendly, and the toilets excellent.

1  Thank Cattytraveler11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Energyseeker, Inhaber at Von der Motte, responded to this reviewResponded 19 March 2014

Dear Cattytraveller,

I guess "the first" bad critic is always the most painful for restaurant owners...and now it´s the first time after many very good and excellent recommendations to get a bad one. Well it´s just very surprising for us to hear that about our coffee which actually people love and get a lot of compliments about, some of our guests come in daily for a good morning coffee kick as they love our brand a lot - it´s a small coffee manufacturer in Bremen from who we also get our teas. Well I guess we can not satisfy everyone.The comment about the "worse" English Breakfast is also interesting, as on the weekends we sell easy 20-30 English Breakfasts per day and never heard anything negative about it except great feedback. We even had a few people from England and Ireland ordering English breakfasts and only saw happy faces. We are sorry to not have pleased you, but as the majority are very flattery about this dish we are not going to change that recipe and will stick to it, due to its big success. Kind regards, Steffi von der Motte

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 March 2014

We live in Hamburg and like to enjoy different places around the city. This is a cozy cafe that serves excellent breakfast. Not too many options, but all options are well presented and delicious. The pancakes, sandwiches, eggs, pastries are all very good. The staff is very friendly and attentive. Make reservations in advance, especially if you are visiting on a weekend since the place is small and well visited.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
2  Thank dmejias
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Energyseeker, Inhaber at Von der Motte, responded to this reviewResponded 10 March 2014

Thank you so much for your lovely breakfast comment! Yes, a good breakfast is the perfect start of the day. As I always loved duiring my travels in the United States a stack of pancakes, french toast and cinnemon rolls, I really wanted to establish this cosmopolitan breakfast in our cafe...:-) And it´s interesteing what kind of special wishes we get - bacon with the pancakes? No problem - instead of maple syrup our homemade plum jam? No problem. We don´t mind the little extra wishes as we are waiting for a new hidden gem recipee which we can add to our breakfast card - in the mean time: Please come back - we like guests like you! Warm wishes from Steffi von der Motte

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Von der Motte also viewed

 

Been to Von der Motte? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing