We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Extraordinary Hotel, but without AC”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
east Design Hotel Hamburg
Ranked #23 of 318 Hotels in Hamburg
Certificate of Excellence
Tel Aviv, Israel
Level Contributor
28 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Extraordinary Hotel, but without AC”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 September 2011

An extraordinary Hotel. I have not seen any like it. The Design of each aspect, in the room or outside is just amazing.

The only complaint is lack of A/C in my room, which makes it impossible to shut the windows in warm days.

Room Tip: My room was on the ground floor directly on the street. The windows made it perfectly quiet, but NO...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ron m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

740 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    413
    206
    83
    23
    15
See reviews for
37
288
37
273
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Portugal
Level Contributor
95 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 September 2011

It's not the first time I stayed at the East, but I loved it as always. Nice rooms, great design (both of the rooms and other areas), as well as a nice bar to relax after a hard day's work all add up to the experience. It's certainly not cheap, however if you can afford it (especially the overpriced breakfast) it's quite an experience.

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sakarah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nagoya
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 August 2011

There are lots of nice hotels in Hamburg, but we chose this one particularly, because Wifi is included in the room rate. I have to check my business emails regularly and easy internet access is very important to me. We have compared with many other places in Hamburg (e.g. Park Hyatt or Lindner). They are charging even higher rates and are asking for a surcharge for internet, which is really no longer acceptable these days.

We really enjoyed our short stay at the hotel. If you are looking for a hideaway or quiet retreat, this one won't be for you. You have to pass through the bar to get to your room, which we really liked. The public areas are basically one large restaurant, bar and lounge concept. It was very lively, but when we reached our room everything was calm and we were able to relax.

The room design is cool, but it appears to be a bit over-designed in some areas to the extent that it becomes inconvenient here and there, but overall very comfortable. It got quite hot in the room at night and there was no A/C.

The staff we have encountered were very friendly and helpful and they did make us feel welcome. Very often you find that staff in 'trendy' hotels appear a bit snobbish or arrogant, but it was not the case at all.

Overall, we would definitely return to EAST when staying in Hamburg. The location is very close to the Reeperbahn and it's fun.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nagtie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Mateo, California
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 August 2011

The rooms were cool but small, and it was a good location. We had a summer deal where breakfast was supposed to be included. We asked at the desk and they said it was not, so we didn't go. When we checked out there was a charge for 40 Euro for the breakfast buffet for 2 people for 2 days. We had to run for our boat so we didn't have time to clean this up. When we returned the next day, we complained but the girl said she wasn't a manager and that we'd have to call back the next day (we were travelling on by then). When we called, the manager basically said, "No, that's the way it is." and so not only did we NOT get breakfast, we paid 40 Euros not to have breakfast. Even if we had gone for breakfast, it was supposed to be included in the room as part of the deal, so there never should have been any charge. As for the restaurant, I don't care how pretty the food may be, it doesn't taste special. (Note, I am from San Francisco and I travel a lot. I'm sure the locals love this place ... The rooms were cool and small, and it was a good location. We had a summer deal where breakfast was supposed to be included. We asked at the desk and they said it was not, so we didn't go. When we checked out there was a charge for 40 Euro for the breakfast buffet for 2 people for 2 days. We had to run for our boat so we didn't have time to clean this up. When we returned the next day, we complained but the girl said she wasn't a manager and that we'd have to call back the next day (we were travelling on by then). When we called, the manager basically said, "No, that's the way it is." and so not only did we NOT get breakfast, we paid 40 Euros not to have breakfast. Even if we had gone for breakfast, it was supposed to be included in the room as part of the deal, so there never should have been any charge. As for the restaurant, I don't care how pretty the food may be, it doesn't taste special. (Note, I am from San Francisco and I travel a lot. I'm sure the locals love this place). The sushi also tasted old. Yuck! I won't stay here again, they're way overpriced and the food is mediocre at best. It's shameful that a place that charges this much and brags of its 4 stars offers no service and incorrect information to its customers. At 8:45pm, someone should have been able to fix the billing problem, with speed and politeness.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank uloixia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 August 2011

Everything about the hotel's service was perfectly normal and fine. The staff was professional, the wireless network worked, the room was clean and all.

But there were a few big negatives, and I'm not planning to stay here again.

Location -- the hotel's neighbors are big hotels with cold and soulless facades. There's an Ibis, an Etap, and a Holiday Inn Express. High-rises are going up all over the area near St. Pauli. Small restaurants and services are disappearing. The Reeperbahn/red light district is nearby, and sure, you can find something to eat there, and it might be to some peoples' taste, but I didn't enjoy the neighborhood.

Room design -- they have made some decisions which may be in fashion but which I just found annoying. Bed set diagonally in the middle of the room. Weird art. Weird (though not uncomfortable) chairs. Weird bathroom design with the whole bath area only separated by a curtain from the rest of the room. Impractical trash bins.

Poor lighting -- I found this really amazing for a hotel of this price level. The bathroom area was adequately lit, but the main section had only a an ornamental lamp in one corner, plus a small halogen desk lamp, neither more powerful than 40 watts. No overhead light. It was hard to work at the desk and it was even harder to pack. I never thought about this before, but repacking your suitcase requires fairly full, broad lighting. Easy to lose a sock or something in the dark unlit corners of the room.

Breakfast -- not included in the room rate, and there are two options. The €3.50 "croissant breakfast" is just that, a croissant and coffee. The full buffet is nice but costs €18.50. Next door in front of the Holiday Inn is a sign saying "Is your hotel breakfast too expensive? Buffet breakfast only €5.95." So I went to the Holiday Inn for breakfast. Their buffet was just what I wanted, not too much, not too little, at the right price.

This hotel gets a lot of praise for its design and style, but I would prefer less style, more practicality, and a better location. If you have to stay near St. Pauli, you could get a good night's sleep at the Ibis, Etap, or Holiday Inn for much less money.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ree472
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
141 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 May 2011

I went to many hotels in Hamburg but this one is really cool!
The furnitures and general set-up is amazing. It feels like being in a design museum and staying there too. The room are spacious and well equipped. The personnal is really nice and the place becomes a happening place in the evening as the bar must be crossed to exit the hotel.
The gym is brilliant and well equipped and you are convienently located 10mn walk fromteh convention centre.
To add on the cheeky side, the red district is just 2 blocks away, so you will find entertainment if you are after it...
Don't look further, it;s young, "branche", and really well sorted.

Room Tip: get the room on the extension, at the back
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ktulu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Frankfurt, Germany
Level Contributor
46 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 March 2011

Rooms were fantastic. HUGE bathtub and bed. Spa and sauna were outstanding. Staff was super friendly and accommodating. We were on the second floor and the music from the club blasting for most of the night was a little annoying, but did not diminish this great stay.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BuckeyeStu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hamburg hotels
Empire Riverside Hotel
#25 of 318 in Hamburg
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,131 reviews
St. Pauli
ARCOTEL Onyx
ARCOTEL Onyx
#20 of 318 in Hamburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 770 reviews
25hours Hotel HafenCity
#8 of 318 in Hamburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,332 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Bahrenfeld
Gastwerk Hotel Hamburg
Gastwerk Hotel Hamburg
#21 of 318 in Hamburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 616 reviews
Hamburg-Altstadt
Barcelo Hamburg
Barcelo Hamburg
#28 of 318 in Hamburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,287 reviews
Neustadt
The Madison Hamburg
The Madison Hamburg
#3 of 318 in Hamburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 975 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to east Design Hotel Hamburg? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about east Design Hotel Hamburg

Property: east Design Hotel Hamburg
Address: Simon-von-Utrecht-Str. 31, 20359 Hamburg, Germany
Region: Germany > Hamburg > St. Pauli
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Spa Hotel in Hamburg
#18 Business Hotel in Hamburg
#20 Luxury Hotel in Hamburg
#40 Romantic Hotel in Hamburg
#45 Family Hotel in Hamburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — east Design Hotel Hamburg 4.5*
Number of rooms: 128
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to our superior design hotel east in Hamburg. We are located centrally in the heart of St. Pauli. Tourist destinations such as Hamburg's HafenCity, the port, the River Elbe and Alster lake, the Landungsbrucken, the famous Michel church, the city centre with its many shopping amenities (Jungfernstieg and Monckebergstrasse), the CCH congress centre, the Millerntor Stadium, Reeperbahn, Spielbudenplatz and the TUI Operettenhaus theatre can all be conveniently reached in just a few minutes by foot or by public transport. Situated directly alongside Hamburg's world-famous Reeperbahn, the east Hotel boasts a striking design juxtaposed with a soothingly colourful serenity, and tells the story of the former iron foundry that once operated here. Envisaged by the American architect and designer Jordan Mozer, this 4-star superior design hotel with 128 rooms and suites forms a truly unique amalgamation of restaurant, lounges, bars and hotel. After a long day of sightseeing and a boat trip around Hamburg's port, our guests can unwind in the east Mandarin Body & Soul spa, which features a sauna, relaxation area and sunny roof terrace and they can also stop by the east Sporting Club - free-of-charge. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotel.de, Odigeo, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your east Design Hotel Hamburg reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
East Hotel Hamburg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing