We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Don't look to enjoy”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
east Design Hotel Hamburg
Ranked #19 of 321 Hotels in Hamburg
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 29 May 2012

If you believe that ugly plus ugly equals exciting that's your kind of place. In terms of design it's clear example of how fast modern design turns into dated. Rooms with kidney like sinks, strange lighting and beds facing windows are so last century. And that strange smell of chain hotel that surrounds you .... But the restaurant downstairs is completely different story - it looks strange like a cave but the food and service are excellent. The sushi just delicious, warm salads with seasonal ingredients even better so is the wine selection - perfection. Yes, it's pricy - you're enjoying your food in a design hotel don't forget - but nothing can ruin your evening/night. Maybe it's a matter of good luck to have the waiter as I had but the guy was as professional and friendly as he should be.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Safranfoer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (800)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

158 - 164 of 800 reviews

Reviewed 26 May 2012

I have stayed several times at East Hotel and it has been a pleasure every single time. You can have rooms with waterbeds, which is kind of funny to try once. I found out that it is not my thing, so I am going for the rooms with regular beds. Everything is very styllish and there are details like the sink in the rooms where coolness beats usability, but I like my hotels to be different from what I have at home.
Whenever I stay in the hotel I try to have dinner in the awesome restaurant and go into the bar right afterwards.

Room Tip: If you are sensitive to sound try to stay away from the rooms located in the part of the hotel where...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Gregor M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 May 2012

This was my first stay at East Hotel and it was just great - sure there was a wireless glitch but that was soon solved - I really enjoyed the cool bar and the restaurant. I booked a medium sized room and found it fine for my needs and as it was on the ground floor it had french doors that opened out onto the back garden. The local area is a little edgy but the upside is a great choice of ethnic restaurants and bars.

Room Tip: People seem to say the medium rooms are too small but certainly fine for this one messy traveler.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank davido357
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 April 2012

Very nice hotel, in central Hamburg.
Prices are a little bit high, but quality is good.


When booking, avoid the rooms "small" & "medium"
Book "medium +" and above.

The hotel have a great bar & night club (one of the very good places in Hamburg) and is defently worth to visit. Remember to ask for the guestlist registration.

I would recommend this hotel if:

You want to stay central
You like the "city life"
Love to a drink and go clubbing

If going for a "state of the art" hotel, and "romantic" holiday with your "better half" this is NOT a hotel I would recommend.
Further more, not a hotel for people travelling with younger children (a lot of hookers etc. in the area)


PLEASE NOTE: Do not book online!! Find your prices online, and call or e-mail the hotel.
They have a guarantee: It is alway cheaper to call or e-mail your booking, rather than booking online

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank djhank
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 March 2012

Wow. Had a such a nice stay in this hotel on a recent weekender to Hamburg. Designed within an inch of its life and very comfortable to boot. For similar types of hotel throughout Europe this is just as beautiful but much cheaper and a bar and restaurant that didn't feel like a lobby and didnt keep you awake (so we were told - we got back and had a few night caps). Recommend!

Stayed: March 2012
Thank mayyapps
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 February 2012

Super-trendy hotel in central Hamburg, but for a design hotel, it is also comfortable (though the wash basins and mirrors are a bit problematic. Great location and even better Asian restaurant.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Andrew F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 January 2012

This is a superb very modern in design hotel with a fantastic restaurant. The hotel is set around an Atrium which I guess is great for sitting outside to enjoy a drink in the summer.
Styling is very modern and quirky with weird shaped basins and baths in the rooms. The bed was like something from star wars.
The food in the restaurant was fantastic, try the mixed sushi/sashimi starter!

Room Tip: I am told to avoid the rooms overlooking the Atrium in summer as it gets pretty noisy
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NorfolkMac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hamburg hotels
Empire Riverside Hotel
#24 of 321 in Hamburg
1,241 reviews
25hours Hotel HafenCity
#6 of 321 in Hamburg
1,493 reviews
St. Pauli
ARCOTEL Onyx
ARCOTEL Onyx
#21 of 321 in Hamburg
856 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
St. Pauli
Hotel Hafen Hamburg
Hotel Hafen Hamburg
#72 of 321 in Hamburg
1,070 reviews
Neustadt
The Madison Hamburg
The Madison Hamburg
#1 of 321 in Hamburg
1,053 reviews
Sternschanze
Movenpick Hotel Hamburg
Movenpick Hotel Hamburg
#15 of 321 in Hamburg
2,216 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to east Design Hotel Hamburg? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about east Design Hotel Hamburg

Address: Simon-von-Utrecht-Str. 31, 20359 Hamburg, Germany
Region: Germany > Hamburg > St. Pauli
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#7 Spa Hotel in Hamburg
#16 Luxury Hotel in Hamburg
#18 Business Hotel in Hamburg
#40 Romantic Hotel in Hamburg
#45 Family Hotel in Hamburg
Price Range: £101 - £236 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — east Design Hotel Hamburg 4.5*
Number of rooms: 128
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to our superior design hotel east in Hamburg. We are located centrally in the heart of St. Pauli. Tourist destinations such as Hamburg's HafenCity, the port, the River Elbe and Alster lake, the Landungsbrucken, the famous Michel church, the city centre with its many shopping amenities (Jungfernstieg and Monckebergstrasse), the CCH congress centre, the Millerntor Stadium, Reeperbahn, Spielbudenplatz and the Stage Operettenhaus theatre can all be conveniently reached in just a few minutes by foot or by public transport. Situated directly alongside Hamburg's world-famous Reeperbahn, the east Hotel boasts a striking design juxtaposed with a soothingly colourful serenity, and tells the story of the former iron foundry that once operated here. Envisaged by the American architect and designer Jordan Mozer, this 4-star superior design hotel with 128 rooms and suites forms a truly unique amalgamation of restaurant, lounges, bars and hotel. After a long day of sightseeing and a boat trip around Hamburg's port, our guests can unwind in the east Mandarin Body & Soul spa, which features a sauna, relaxation area and sunny roof terrace and they can also stop by the east Sporting Club - free-of-charge. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Cancelon, HotelsClick, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your east Design Hotel Hamburg reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
East Hotel Hamburg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing