We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect hotel for design junkies”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
east Design Hotel Hamburg
Ranked #19 of 321 Hotels in Hamburg
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 8 October 2013

Modern with a south east Asian vibe you could think it's one of these design fads but you don't judge a book by its cover... Located in the St Pauli area which is still colourful, the service is so professional that you almost forget the "place to be" vibe..almost as the very busy bar/restaurant never empties... Honestly I couldn't get my head round how the hotel is organised and where to find my room twice in a row, but the room itself was very interesting
and once you get used to it (ie find all the hidden gadgets) very agreeable.

  • Stayed: October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jessica D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HamburgEast, Leiter Gästebetreuung at east Design Hotel Hamburg, responded to this reviewResponded 10 October 2013

Dear Jessica,

Thank you for choosing east Hotel and taking time out to share your impressions with us.
We are delighted to read we exceeded your expectations and differ in a positve way from other experiences you made.
We appreciate your kind words regarding the atmosphere, rooms and especially the professionality of our staff, which is a great motivation for the whole team.
We hope you will find the time to return soon.
I am sure there are a lot more hidden gadgets to discover and we will be pleased to turn your stay into something special again.

Warm regards,

Sara
(Guest Relations)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (802)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

120 - 126 of 802 reviews

Reviewed 30 September 2013

When you go to Hamburg on business during the winter, your expectations to enjoy a great stay are pretty low. The solution : book at the East Hotel.
From the lobby, to the bar, to the rooms, to the beds themselves...everything is different and cool. But cool with a soul, not cold pretentious design.
You feel at home, in luxurious comfort, but you feel like far away thanks to a very unique atmosphere. I had a great dinner at the bar, slept like a baby, and the breakfast was absolutely delicious. I'll be back !

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Arnaud M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HamburgEast, Leiter Gästebetreuung at east Design Hotel Hamburg, responded to this reviewResponded 3 October 2013

Dear Arnaud,

Such amazing comments really make our hearts smile!
It is a great pleasure to read your lovely description about your recent stay with us and we thank you for taking the time letting us know how much you enjoyed your visit at east Hotel.
We are delighted, we completely met your expectations in style, design and architecture and convinced you with our excellent food qualitiy as well as with luxurious comfort, so that you found perfect physical amd mental recreation.
We are really looking forward to being your "solution" again :)

Wamest regards,

Sara
Guest Relations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 September 2013

Stayed for two nights. Check-in was interesting, passing a very happening bar, and looked promising to be fun and exciting. however, the room disappoints as the designer over designed it. was beautiful to look at but not functional at all. no place to put our shopping bags or luggage, had to look hard to find a socket to charge phones, no sofa to lounge on, writing desk very narrow and chair was so uncomfortable to sit on. bathroom had small shell-like wash basin in silver and have to wash very close and slowly so as to not splatter everywhere. Bath, toilet and wardrobe doors made of huge heavy glass that opens to the open sink area and room - confusing which is which, stubbed my toes twice and doesn't help with odors. one small little bottle of bath gel, conditioner and shampoo, not enough for two, replenished only the shampoo but not the gel and when we called, was given only shampoo and was told it is the same as the bath gel and it smells very good too. sad that it is a big room but no where to sit or relax properly. bed was comfortable though but pillows really too soft.

still, simply love the dining areas. the breakfast room and the cavern like restaurant. food was a tad salty for us, but seems to be typical in hamburg. But love the ambience and the delightful service. also very good wifi signal throughout the hotel. feel a lot of energy and fun in this hotel.

last thing, flew in late about 11 pm and found that there is no food available - no room service and no bar food. walked to the Reeperbahn strip and found all restaurants closed. very glad to find a MacDonalds - and had my first meal in Hamburg - a hamburger :)

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank crazylion1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HamburgEast, Leiter Gästebetreuung at east Design Hotel Hamburg, responded to this reviewResponded 25 September 2013

Dear Crazylion,

Thank you very much for taking the time to write a review about your recent stay at east hotel.
We are delighted to read we convinced you with our special design, the east Restaurant, bars & lounges, the whole atmosphere and we gladly pass along your praise concerning our delightful service to our whole team!
It is one of our highest aims to turn each stay into something memorable and special and we are sorry that the functionality of our design was not to your full satisfaction.
It is a pity that you did not try to contact us during your stay.
We would have gladly assisted you in any wishes or questions-bringing you some additional shower gel or changing your room which probably would have increased the quality of your whole stay.
If you prefer some more space for your luggage and shopping bags as well as a sofa to lounge on, you should book a room of the large categorie next time, which offers all those features.

In case of further questions or queries, please do not hesitate to contact us anytime.

Best regards,

Sara
Guest Relations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 August 2013

The design of this place is amazing! The bars and clubs are super fancy, but you have the Reeperbahn at your doorstep where you can find any flavor that you choose.

The food at the restaurant was very good, the only downside was that they only have King beds which can be a pain when planning to share the room with a friend.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sir_Pauly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HamburgEast, Leiter Gästebetreuung at east Design Hotel Hamburg, responded to this reviewResponded 3 September 2013

Dear Sir_Pauly.

Thank you so much for taking time out to write a review on east Hotel. We are thrilled that you’ve enjoyed your stay with us. We appreciate the kind words regarding our special design and restaurant, too.
We thank you for your feedback and hope to see you again the next time you visit Hamburg.

Kind regards,

Sara
(Guest Relations)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 August 2013 via mobile

The staff are nice and helpful , free wifi is there, breakfast is good but the rooms are not comfortable, modern design of the rooms has wasted lots of space. It is located very close to the red light district so it would not be a good choice if you are traveling with families who care about what I mentioned earlier. First supermarket is about 10 min walk. But there is a nice Amusement park nearby

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Morteza K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HamburgEast, Leiter Gästebetreuung at east Design Hotel Hamburg, responded to this reviewResponded 31 August 2013

Dear Morteza.

Thank you for choosing east hotel and sharing your experiences with us.
We are glad we convinced you with the attention of our staff as well as with our great breakfast buffet.
The rooms we offer differ in furnishings and size.
The “Red light district” you mentioned is one of Hamburg’s’ favorite and best frequented sights. So there is really no reason for concerns.
It is a pity we did not have the possibility to talk to you during your last stay.
We hope next time you feel free to contact us anytime if there are any wishes or questions.

Best regards,

Sara
(Guest Relations)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 August 2013

This fantastic facility was the host for a series of workshops I was presenting on behalf of a client. Staff was remarkably helpful and efficient. The hotel is right off the Reeperbahn making for some fascinating nightlife (not for kids, prudes or the wek-hearted!). The hotel and facilities are filled with excellent design and the rooms are both fun and efficient. Loved the enormous, marble bath/shower! The restaurants, lounges/bars and meeting facilities are also excellent. The East is accessible from the St Pauli Metro Station and trains can take you quickly to Hamburg Central Station and the Mönckebergstraße shopping street.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank John F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HamburgEast, Leiter Gästebetreuung at east Design Hotel Hamburg, responded to this reviewResponded 31 August 2013

Dear John F.

Thank you very much for your review and the detailed description of the impressions you collected during your recent stay with us.
Great, that we convinced you with our excellent design of our meeting facilities, as well as with the comfort of our rooms and our selection of food and beverage.
We will pass along your praise to our dedicated staff and hope to see you soon again.

Best regards,
Sara
(Guest Relations)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 July 2013

The room was very nice and clean. Hotel was a good value. The room and bathroom are one big modern room with an entire wall of windows. I liked the big bed and the desk had lots of power outlets for charging phone, computer, etc.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lanny Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HamburgEast, Guest Relations Manager at east Design Hotel Hamburg, responded to this reviewResponded 29 July 2013

Dear Lanny Z,

Thank you so much for giving us this lovely short review of your impressions of your stay at the east hotel.
It’s great that you love the extraordinary design of our rooms with their huge beds and their functionality as well.
We are really looking forward to welcoming you soon again!

Best regards,

Sara
Guest Relations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hamburg hotels
Empire Riverside Hotel
#24 of 321 in Hamburg
1,245 reviews
25hours Hotel HafenCity
#6 of 321 in Hamburg
1,493 reviews
St. Pauli
ARCOTEL Onyx
ARCOTEL Onyx
#21 of 321 in Hamburg
856 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
St. Pauli
Hotel Hafen Hamburg
Hotel Hafen Hamburg
#71 of 321 in Hamburg
1,071 reviews
Neustadt
The Madison Hamburg
The Madison Hamburg
#1 of 321 in Hamburg
1,053 reviews
Sternschanze
Movenpick Hotel Hamburg
Movenpick Hotel Hamburg
#15 of 321 in Hamburg
2,225 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to east Design Hotel Hamburg? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about east Design Hotel Hamburg

Address: Simon-von-Utrecht-Str. 31, 20359 Hamburg, Germany
Region: Germany > Hamburg > St. Pauli
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#7 Spa Hotel in Hamburg
#16 Luxury Hotel in Hamburg
#18 Business Hotel in Hamburg
#40 Romantic Hotel in Hamburg
#45 Family Hotel in Hamburg
Price Range: £103 - £233 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — east Design Hotel Hamburg 4.5*
Number of rooms: 128
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to our superior design hotel east in Hamburg. We are located centrally in the heart of St. Pauli. Tourist destinations such as Hamburg's HafenCity, the port, the River Elbe and Alster lake, the Landungsbrucken, the famous Michel church, the city centre with its many shopping amenities (Jungfernstieg and Monckebergstrasse), the CCH congress centre, the Millerntor Stadium, Reeperbahn, Spielbudenplatz and the Stage Operettenhaus theatre can all be conveniently reached in just a few minutes by foot or by public transport. Situated directly alongside Hamburg's world-famous Reeperbahn, the east Hotel boasts a striking design juxtaposed with a soothingly colourful serenity, and tells the story of the former iron foundry that once operated here. Envisaged by the American architect and designer Jordan Mozer, this 4-star superior design hotel with 128 rooms and suites forms a truly unique amalgamation of restaurant, lounges, bars and hotel. After a long day of sightseeing and a boat trip around Hamburg's port, our guests can unwind in the east Mandarin Body & Soul spa, which features a sauna, relaxation area and sunny roof terrace and they can also stop by the east Sporting Club - free-of-charge. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, Ebookers, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your east Design Hotel Hamburg reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
East Hotel Hamburg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing