We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“what a perfect stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
east Design Hotel Hamburg
Ranked #18 of 317 Hotels in Hamburg
Certificate of Excellence
Write a Review

784 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    440
    219
    85
    24
    16
See reviews for
43
309
40
279
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Phuket, Thailand
Level 6 Contributor
144 reviews
68 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 April 2014 via mobile

Visiting East hotel for an evening or a day will probably leave you full of admiration because everything looks so cool, so creative and trendy... Decoration is lovely and the restaurant looks and tastes great...
The rooms are really unique and the boutique-hotel concept seems to be successful but the functionality in the room is very poor if you come for a business trip. Bathroom is not adapted and the working space lacks space and plugs are poorly placed...

Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank Hakunamaatata
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HamburgEast, Guest Relations Manager at east Design Hotel Hamburg, responded to this review, 11 April 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your stay at east hotel and your positive review. We are very glad to hear that you enjoyed your time with us and that you were blewn away by the ambiance, design and decoration of our hotel.
We would be glad to welcoming you again in the future. If you are planning a business trip, we can also offer rooms with a separate working area, a huge desk and more plugs.
Please do not hesitate to contact us anytime.

With kind regards

Sara
(Guest Relations)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ottawa, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
86 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 November 2013

East is close to the Reeperbahn (two blocks) and a couple of km from downtown, so the location is good for many. The hotel is trendy, catering to the hip crowd, and that shows in almost everything. The king room I had was nice, but its the little things that are annoying: the sink is stylish but difficult to wash your face in, for example; the shower is marble but too thin to put your arms out to wash properly; the chairs are modern design but uncomfortable. Breakfast is expensive but overpriced. The bar is much the same. Service was excellent throughout, though. The room isn't laid out to encourage work, as much as to look attractive and hence be mostly impractical. If you are not on a business trip, and you're young enough to sacrifice utility for trendiness, then this will do you find. If you want to actually use your hotel room as a hotel room, or do some work, then there are better options. Overpriced for what you get.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Brutus58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HamburgEast, Leiter Gästebetreuung at east Design Hotel Hamburg, responded to this review, 5 January 2014
Dear Brutus,

Thank you so much for taking time out to write a review on east. We appreciate your compliments regarding our service.
We agree that in our hotel form doesn’t always follow function and that the design is a matter of personal taste. However we are glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and look forward to seeing you again next time your travels bring you back to Hamburg, maybe to spend some leisure time.

With warm regards,

Sara
(Guest Relations)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Westport, Ireland
Level 6 Contributor
129 reviews
86 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 October 2013

Good location and the exterior disgiuses what lies inside.Cool, funky, and really hopping! Check in was brief and efficient and my room quite took me aback.If the idea was to create a modernistic and chique appeal it certainly did that.Very impressive and unique . However, not very functional for a business traveller.
Dinner in the restaurant was absolutely superb and the bar after was so lively and the whole place was just buzzing.Great experience and a fantastic base for a week-end visit which is on the horizon!! Definately be back.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank morchwestport
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HamburgEast, Leiter Gästebetreuung at east Design Hotel Hamburg, responded to this review, 4 December 2013
Dear morchwest,

Thank you for choosing east Hotel and sharing your impressions with us on Tripadvisor.
We are delighted to read, you enjoyed your time with us and we convinced you with our excellent food and lively bar, as well as with our unique design.
We are looking forward to impressing you soon again!

Warm regards,

Sara
(Guest Relations)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 October 2013

Modern with a south east Asian vibe you could think it's one of these design fads but you don't judge a book by its cover... Located in the St Pauli area which is still colourful, the service is so professional that you almost forget the "place to be" vibe..almost as the very busy bar/restaurant never empties... Honestly I couldn't get my head round how the hotel is organised and where to find my room twice in a row, but the room itself was very interesting
and once you get used to it (ie find all the hidden gadgets) very agreeable.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jessica D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HamburgEast, Leiter Gästebetreuung at east Design Hotel Hamburg, responded to this review, 10 October 2013
Dear Jessica,

Thank you for choosing east Hotel and taking time out to share your impressions with us.
We are delighted to read we exceeded your expectations and differ in a positve way from other experiences you made.
We appreciate your kind words regarding the atmosphere, rooms and especially the professionality of our staff, which is a great motivation for the whole team.
We hope you will find the time to return soon.
I am sure there are a lot more hidden gadgets to discover and we will be pleased to turn your stay into something special again.

Warm regards,

Sara
(Guest Relations)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
62 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 September 2013

When you go to Hamburg on business during the winter, your expectations to enjoy a great stay are pretty low. The solution : book at the East Hotel.
From the lobby, to the bar, to the rooms, to the beds themselves...everything is different and cool. But cool with a soul, not cold pretentious design.
You feel at home, in luxurious comfort, but you feel like far away thanks to a very unique atmosphere. I had a great dinner at the bar, slept like a baby, and the breakfast was absolutely delicious. I'll be back !

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Arnaud M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HamburgEast, Leiter Gästebetreuung at east Design Hotel Hamburg, responded to this review, 3 October 2013
Dear Arnaud,

Such amazing comments really make our hearts smile!
It is a great pleasure to read your lovely description about your recent stay with us and we thank you for taking the time letting us know how much you enjoyed your visit at east Hotel.
We are delighted, we completely met your expectations in style, design and architecture and convinced you with our excellent food qualitiy as well as with luxurious comfort, so that you found perfect physical amd mental recreation.
We are really looking forward to being your "solution" again :)

Wamest regards,

Sara
Guest Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level 5 Contributor
46 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 September 2013

Stayed for two nights. Check-in was interesting, passing a very happening bar, and looked promising to be fun and exciting. however, the room disappoints as the designer over designed it. was beautiful to look at but not functional at all. no place to put our shopping bags or luggage, had to look hard to find a socket to charge phones, no sofa to lounge on, writing desk very narrow and chair was so uncomfortable to sit on. bathroom had small shell-like wash basin in silver and have to wash very close and slowly so as to not splatter everywhere. Bath, toilet and wardrobe doors made of huge heavy glass that opens to the open sink area and room - confusing which is which, stubbed my toes twice and doesn't help with odors. one small little bottle of bath gel, conditioner and shampoo, not enough for two, replenished only the shampoo but not the gel and when we called, was given only shampoo and was told it is the same as the bath gel and it smells very good too. sad that it is a big room but no where to sit or relax properly. bed was comfortable though but pillows really too soft.

still, simply love the dining areas. the breakfast room and the cavern like restaurant. food was a tad salty for us, but seems to be typical in hamburg. But love the ambience and the delightful service. also very good wifi signal throughout the hotel. feel a lot of energy and fun in this hotel.

last thing, flew in late about 11 pm and found that there is no food available - no room service and no bar food. walked to the Reeperbahn strip and found all restaurants closed. very glad to find a MacDonalds - and had my first meal in Hamburg - a hamburger :)

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank crazylion1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HamburgEast, Leiter Gästebetreuung at east Design Hotel Hamburg, responded to this review, 25 September 2013
Dear Crazylion,

Thank you very much for taking the time to write a review about your recent stay at east hotel.
We are delighted to read we convinced you with our special design, the east Restaurant, bars & lounges, the whole atmosphere and we gladly pass along your praise concerning our delightful service to our whole team!
It is one of our highest aims to turn each stay into something memorable and special and we are sorry that the functionality of our design was not to your full satisfaction.
It is a pity that you did not try to contact us during your stay.
We would have gladly assisted you in any wishes or questions-bringing you some additional shower gel or changing your room which probably would have increased the quality of your whole stay.
If you prefer some more space for your luggage and shopping bags as well as a sofa to lounge on, you should book a room of the large categorie next time, which offers all those features.

In case of further questions or queries, please do not hesitate to contact us anytime.

Best regards,

Sara
Guest Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hamburg hotels
Empire Riverside Hotel
#23 of 317 in Hamburg
1,205 reviews
St. Pauli
ARCOTEL Onyx
ARCOTEL Onyx
#20 of 317 in Hamburg
833 reviews
25hours Hotel HafenCity
#7 of 317 in Hamburg
1,438 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Neustadt
The Madison Hamburg
The Madison Hamburg
#1 of 317 in Hamburg
1,024 reviews
Hamburg-Altstadt
Sofitel Hamburg Alter Wall
Sternschanze
Movenpick Hotel Hamburg
Movenpick Hotel Hamburg
#12 of 317 in Hamburg
2,112 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to east Design Hotel Hamburg? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about east Design Hotel Hamburg

Property: east Design Hotel Hamburg
Address: Simon-von-Utrecht-Str. 31, 20359 Hamburg, Germany
Region: Germany > Hamburg > St. Pauli
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#7 Spa Hotel in Hamburg
#16 Luxury Hotel in Hamburg
#17 Business Hotel in Hamburg
#39 Romantic Hotel in Hamburg
#43 Family Hotel in Hamburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — east Design Hotel Hamburg 4.5*
Number of rooms: 128
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to our superior design hotel east in Hamburg. We are located centrally in the heart of St. Pauli. Tourist destinations such as Hamburg's HafenCity, the port, the River Elbe and Alster lake, the Landungsbrucken, the famous Michel church, the city centre with its many shopping amenities (Jungfernstieg and Monckebergstrasse), the CCH congress centre, the Millerntor Stadium, Reeperbahn, Spielbudenplatz and the Stage Operettenhaus theatre can all be conveniently reached in just a few minutes by foot or by public transport. Situated directly alongside Hamburg's world-famous Reeperbahn, the east Hotel boasts a striking design juxtaposed with a soothingly colourful serenity, and tells the story of the former iron foundry that once operated here. Envisaged by the American architect and designer Jordan Mozer, this 4-star superior design hotel with 128 rooms and suites forms a truly unique amalgamation of restaurant, lounges, bars and hotel. After a long day of sightseeing and a boat trip around Hamburg's port, our guests can unwind in the east Mandarin Body & Soul spa, which features a sauna, relaxation area and sunny roof terrace and they can also stop by the east Sporting Club - free-of-charge. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your east Design Hotel Hamburg reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
East Hotel Hamburg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing