We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
US$290
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$192
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
ARCOTEL Onyx(Hamburg)
Book now, pay at stay
US$99
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Room Service
US$121
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$114
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$112
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$100
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$147
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$137
NH Hotels
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Room Service
US$105
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$100
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
Generator Hostel Hamburg(Hamburg)(Great Value!)
US$81
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$43
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Bar/Lounge
The Madison Hamburg(Hamburg)
US$173
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$163
Official Site
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Park Hyatt Hamburg(Hamburg)
Free cancellation until 26/07
Book now, pay at stay
US$328
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$262
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Reviews (886)
Filter reviews
886 results
Traveller rating
490
259
91
29
17
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
490
259
91
29
17
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsdesign hoteloriginal designdouble bathgreat designremote controlgreat barcool hotelgreat hotelbig windowsthree nightscomfortable roomslocation is excellentwaterbedreeperbahnfunkystylishbose
Filter
Updating list...
4 - 9 of 886 reviews
Reviewed 11 April 2018 via mobile

This hotel sets itself apart from the boring chains. Built in old factory halls this is a place to step away from the hectic city and relax.
I stayed in a huge room with a water mattress and genuinely enjoyed the attention to detail. The chairs and he artwork that is consistent through out the hotel shows that they didn’t cut corners.

The location is not very central, unless you want to go to the Reeperbahn district, but most places are a short cab ride away.

I would classify the East as a contemporary art hotel with lots of urban chique all the way to (most) guests.

It is not cheap to stay here, but sometimes the rates are reasonable. It is a little awkward that hotels try to charge you for every little extra, including the water bottle in the room. Rather add a little to the rate and surprise guests with free amenities I would say.

I had a massage that was ok but a little overpriced for the quality. The wellness area with sauna is nice and clean, but not spectacular.

I enjoyed the bar and definitely had a great steak at the restaurant.

Stayed: March 2018, travelled on business
Thank Tobi N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
east-cosmos, Leiter Gästebetreuung at East Hamburg, responded to this reviewResponded 13 April 2018

Dear Tobi,

Thnak you very much for taking the time to share your review with us.
We appreciate your comments as well as your honest feedback and we are happy to read that you enjoyed the stay at our hotel.
Furthermore, we can assure you that we are going to share your impressions with our team.

We are looking forward to welcome you back in the nearest future.

Thanks again

Tobias Meseck
Guest Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 April 2018

I have been to the hotel a number of times in the last months.
Very stylish and unique with nice lounge music all the day. In the evening you can experience good drinks and a DJ. Breakfast is great and relaxed. However, this hotel has more a stylish and cosy design. In the rooms you need to like the dark colours on the walls - which I do, but for some guests it might be too dark.
Rooms differ from what you expect as typical hotel room, but that is the reason to go there - bathtube in the mddle of the room, spacious bad (perfect linen and great to sleep) in the middle of the room too. Mirror on the "bathroom" is a kind of small and not really functional.
If you like something extraordinary - that is the place to go - by the way: hotel is next to the "Reeperbahn"

Stayed: March 2018
Thank Heiko F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
east-cosmos, Leiter Gästebetreuung at East Hamburg, responded to this reviewResponded 13 April 2018

Dear Heiko,

Thank you very much for taking time to share your honest impressions to us. We were delighted to welcome you to the east and thankful for your kind review. We really appreciate it.

We hope to get the chance to welcome you back agian.

Kind regards

Tobias Meseck
Guest Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 April 2018 via mobile

This is a great hotel and I stayed on business before. This time came for a weekend with the wife.
Great facilities and we were very comfortable.
We had breakfast twice and it was a nice buffet. The bar is very cool and we enjoyed a few cocktails.
We also had dinner with friends in the restaurant (see separate reviews).
I would stay again for sure!

I only mark down due to the following:
Breakfast in my opinion is good but slightly too expensive on top of room rate.
Towels were a bit old and need replacing
We had a fire alarm including evacuation at 4am. I don’t have an issue with this as there actually was a small fire but what was needed was a member of staff to walk around on the street and communicate/inform the guests.

Stayed: April 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank BJT_9000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
east-cosmos, Leiter Gästebetreuung at East Hamburg, responded to this reviewResponded 10 April 2018

Dear guest,

Thank you very much for sharing your honest impressions with us. We are happy to read that you also enjoyed your weekend stay at our hotel and that you would stay again. We also appreciate your suggestions and hints. Please rest assured that we take your review very seriously and share them to our colleagues to improve in our quality of service.

Yours sincerely

Tobias Meseck
Guest Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 March 2018 via mobile

We stayed at East hotel for a short break in Hamburg and enjoyed our stay very much. Friendly, flawless checkin. Centrally located, subway station 300 meter from hotel. Stylish hotel and large rooms with open bathroom. The rooms were quiet and no noice could be heard from other guests. Went for cocktails in the evening and they were A+. We will definetely come back.

Stayed: March 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank Maureen E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
east-cosmos, Leiter Gästebetreuung at East Hamburg, responded to this reviewResponded 9 April 2018

Dear Maureen E,

Thank you very much for your kind review after your stay at the east. We appreciate your comments and hope to welcome you back again soon.

Kind regards

Tobias Meseck
Guest Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 February 2018

Maybe it is just me and I like to keep it simple but the East was all 'Boutique'. The quality of the hotel is very high but the design is just to much boutique and not enough hotel practicality. Good points - location for Reeperbahn - spacious restaurant - good bar - good quality restaurant - room furnishing quality - great shower room - good staff - good breakfast. Negative points- low light levels throughout hotel and rooms - only one lift - small lobby/reception - impractical room layout ( power points, lights, switches, small wash basin ).

Room Tip: Take a low floor room so you can use the stairs instead of the single lift, too busy in evening and breakfast.
  • Stayed: February 2018, travelled with friends
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Magpie70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
east-cosmos, Leiter Gästebetreuung at East Hamburg, responded to this reviewResponded 12 March 2018

Dear guest,

Thank you very much for taking the time to share your opinion with us.
It is great to see that you enjoyed our restaurant and bar area as well as our service.
We will also share your small critical points with our team and we hope to welcome you back again in order to convience you from our interior east ambience.

King regards,

Tobias Meseck
Guest Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews