We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Simply perfect.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
east Design Hotel Hamburg
Ranked #20 of 319 Hotels in Hamburg
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 29 March 2010

The design of the hotel was stunning. Placed in the center og Hamburg! Perfect.

Stayed: September 2008, travelled on business
Thank Briannorgaard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (791)
There are newer reviews for east Design Hotel Hamburg
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

178 - 184 of 791 reviews

Reviewed 29 January 2010

I gladly recommend this hotel to younger and older couples (even with children). The staff is very friendly. The concierge was extremely helpful to us when we wanted to paln some daytrips. The Reeperbahn, Harbour and Sankt Pauli district are close by. The metro is on walking distance. The rooms where functional and pretty, not too much design. Very good shower. Standard breakfast, included in the roomprice, was sufficient (croissants and coffee/tea). Had sushi in the restaurant which was also very tasty.

  • Stayed: November 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Cleanliness
Thank Viv26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 December 2009

I have stayed there already a few times as the East hotel is the first choice of my boss. Overall, the hotel is good, with strengths and weaknesses:

Good:
- The hotel is very stylish
- Good location and there are always taxis available day and night
- Very good service at the bar / restaurant
- Excellent breakfast - don't miss it
- Room size is big and the rooms are perfectly clean

Bad:
- Design over functionality. Especially the bathroom is more stylish than functional. Maybe this is more important for me as a woman than for men....
- Very noisy - watch out which room you get especially during summer time (the bar outside is very busy until late night)
- I personally refuse to stay in a room on the ground floor as I feel very uncomfortable if not scared because of the big windows. Everybody can observe what you do - or you need to close the rolling shutter all the time (which I do not like either...)
- The service at the reception: While booking (well in advance) they did not accept any preferences / instructions which kind of room (no ground floor room for me). When checking-in I got such a room and it needed some arguing to get another one.

  • Stayed: May 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank swch71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 August 2009

The hotel is stunning and very centrally located by the Reeperbahn. We ha a nice superiour room. But it lacked air conditioning. The Restaurant is simply the best there is in northern Germany!

  • Stayed: May 2008, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JaguarV12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 July 2009

Very nice hotel, great restaurant and happening bar.

Free-standing bath in the room, informal breakfast.

Location not good unless you are spending a lot of time on the Reeperbahn!

  • Stayed: December 2006, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Babylon1970
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 March 2009

I'm in Hamburg a week a month and was really hoping to make Hotel East my regular home. However after 6 nights here I'm sad to say i can't recommend it nor will I return.

The service here is amazing, there are some lovely amenities and it's nice to have a scene so close however the basics of what makes a hotel stay work are lacking: , the combination of no thermostats, not enough light in the rooms, and bad mattresses are pretty much a show stopper in my book. And at every step it seemed that fashion had won out over function.Some details.

The good:
- Free WiFi. Strong signal everywhere in the hotel. This was awesome!
- The full breakfast. Top notch European breakfast. Unfortunately, when Expedia says "Free breakfast" the full is not the one they mean. So this one will set you back 17 Euros a day or you can have a roll and coffee for free. (While this item is primarily expedia's issue, the hotel is well aware of the bait and switch and doesn't seem very motivated to fix it)
- the bar and decor. If you like Ian Schrager hotels, East is going to work for you.
- the service. This was the silver lining of the stay. Friendly, helpful service across the board.

Too bad the bad was so bad. Specifically:
- the beds. Decent bedding, really awful mattresses, even for Europe hotels. Not even comfortable to sit on! I had 2 different rooms and both were poor. And i'm a good sleeper!
- the thermostat (or lack there of). The hotel has central air so your options for temperature control are heat on/off, windows open/shut (I confirmed this with the front desk). No matter what you wake in the middle of the night either boiling or freezing. Oh,and if your room is on the courtyard like mine was, this basically means having your front door open to the world.
- speaking of the courtyard, why exactly would you arrange spotlights to shine *at* the hotel rooms? The light protection curtains couldn't stand up to outdoor spotlights and they were motion sensitive so if i got up to open a window (see above) then my room was full of light. Hence the moving rooms.
- the indoor lighting. Not practical to work in these rooms. even with every light blazing I kept looking around for that additional lamp. (I guess the spotlights had their purpose after all).
- the noise. the rooms are quite (a pro) but the rest of the hotel sounds like a dance club, even at 6am. This would have been ok had everything else worked out.
- the sinks. Salvador Dali melted clock style is gorgeous to look at but impossible to use without getting your clothes wet
- toiletries. not that important however since we're making the list...Musk scented? really?

Such a disappointment!

  • Stayed: March 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SF-globetrotter2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 January 2009

As a Canadian world traveller I have found the East Hotel to be the best quality and most warming hotel I have ever stayed in. From the imaginative and well designed rooms, to the unique and fabulous meals, the tantalizing variety of lounges and of course the most prompt and friendly staff I have ever met in my life, this has become my top destination in the world. The Upper East night club is a great place to party, but go early, it lines up fast. The bean bag lounge is perfect for a night with your honey. The massages we got in the spa were the best we ever had. We have been for 3 weekend stays and have spent one day out on the town, all other time spent in the "resort". In summery, when I leave for vacation I always miss home, but often after a visit to Hamburg, I arrive home missing my home at The East! Thank you East Hotel for everything ... we can hardly wait for our next journey back home!

  • Stayed: November 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JLS813
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hamburg hotels
Empire Riverside Hotel
#24 of 319 in Hamburg
1,222 reviews
25hours Hotel HafenCity
#6 of 319 in Hamburg
1,468 reviews
St. Pauli
ARCOTEL Onyx
ARCOTEL Onyx
#21 of 319 in Hamburg
845 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Neustadt
The Madison Hamburg
The Madison Hamburg
#1 of 319 in Hamburg
1,045 reviews
Hamburg-Altstadt
Sofitel Hamburg Alter Wall
Sternschanze
Movenpick Hotel Hamburg
Movenpick Hotel Hamburg
#15 of 319 in Hamburg
2,167 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to east Design Hotel Hamburg? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about east Design Hotel Hamburg

Address: Simon-von-Utrecht-Str. 31, 20359 Hamburg, Germany
Region: Germany > Hamburg > St. Pauli
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#8 Spa Hotel in Hamburg
#17 Luxury Hotel in Hamburg
#18 Business Hotel in Hamburg
#40 Romantic Hotel in Hamburg
#44 Family Hotel in Hamburg
Price Range: £109 - £280 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — east Design Hotel Hamburg 4.5*
Number of rooms: 128
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to our superior design hotel east in Hamburg. We are located centrally in the heart of St. Pauli. Tourist destinations such as Hamburg's HafenCity, the port, the River Elbe and Alster lake, the Landungsbrucken, the famous Michel church, the city centre with its many shopping amenities (Jungfernstieg and Monckebergstrasse), the CCH congress centre, the Millerntor Stadium, Reeperbahn, Spielbudenplatz and the Stage Operettenhaus theatre can all be conveniently reached in just a few minutes by foot or by public transport. Situated directly alongside Hamburg's world-famous Reeperbahn, the east Hotel boasts a striking design juxtaposed with a soothingly colourful serenity, and tells the story of the former iron foundry that once operated here. Envisaged by the American architect and designer Jordan Mozer, this 4-star superior design hotel with 128 rooms and suites forms a truly unique amalgamation of restaurant, lounges, bars and hotel. After a long day of sightseeing and a boat trip around Hamburg's port, our guests can unwind in the east Mandarin Body & Soul spa, which features a sauna, relaxation area and sunny roof terrace and they can also stop by the east Sporting Club - free-of-charge. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your east Design Hotel Hamburg reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
East Hotel Hamburg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing