We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Terrible value for money, good that the...”
Review of Lafayette Hotel

Lafayette Hotel
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Lafayette Hotel
Ranked #264 of 321 Hotels in Hamburg
Reviewed 24 July 2010

Terrible value for money, good that the parking is free. Uncomfortable beds, tiny bathroom, see through curtains, unfriendly staff who clearly get troubled alot by the visitors to the reepeebahn. We'd recommend save half the money and stay elsewhere for better rooms at half the price.

    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Diddydarbons
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (37)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

15 - 21 of 37 reviews

Reviewed 9 June 2008

Just stayed at the la fayette for 2 nights as part of a stag night 12 of us in the party,rooms were small but clean hotel is great position for the Reeperbahn :-) staff were very polite and helpfull,overall I would stay here again as part of a stag or group but wouldnt go for a romantic weekend break,was a little suprised with the overall condition of parts of the reeperbahn very scruffy, but came alive at night..

  • Stayed: June 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Thank pinotnoirStockport
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 June 2008

great hotel, rooms are small but very clean, breakfast for those who are up (or just getting to bed) is basic continental , the pools are good size for anyone wishing to have a dip.
the world famous Reeperbhans on you doorstep,with fantastic night life, pub to visit is the Tankstelle if your a fan of either H.S.V. or Glasgow Rangers http://www.sportpub-tankstelle.de/.

  • Stayed: March 2008, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
3  Thank Glaswegian_Bar_Loyal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 March 2008

We were in a pinch and had to book this hotel since the city of Hamburg was in the midst of their tri-annual fair/festival. Another hotel that we had read about on trip advisor was booked, but the lady who owned this hotel gave us the Lafayette Hotel phone number. The website looked great, and the people working at the front desk were all very helpful...so we decided to go for it. We had been to Hamburg a few months prior to this trip, but never to this area of town. Although the address does not indicate it, the hotel is situated one block perpendicular to the Reeperbahn district. The area outside of the hotel is very dirty and not our scene, however, entertaining at the very least...but really not the area of town I would have chosen to stay had I known it beforehand (ie, note to self: always "google map" addresses of hotels before booking). I guess I really did not feel secure or safe while staying in this room at night, even with my husband. The walls and doors were thin/flimsy, and due to the location, there were people in the hallways at all hours of the morning and night.

The breakfast was a bit above average, but not one of the greatest German hotel breakfasts that I have eaten. The hotel itself seemed superficially clean, but was old and had a lot of wear and tear showing. The bed linens did not smell nor feel clean. The one set of towels we were given for our 2 days in the hotel was clean, but the sheets definitely were not. The carpet in the room was dark grey, so it had the possibility of hiding a lot of the dirt that could have been lurking on/beneath the floor of the hotel room. The carpet in the hotel room was the same carpet found in the hotel hallways, and it was a type of outdoor carpet that you might see lining decks, etc. The hotel was clearly given 3 stars since it had an elevator and a pool. Otherwise, it would have been given 2 stars at most in my opinion. All in all, I would not choose to stay in this hotel again...but if you are in a bind, then it would have to do.

  • Stayed: March 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank CIAK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 August 2017
Google Translation

Room Tip: It's very central when you wanna go out to party. It's good for short sleeps and showers.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Søren J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 May 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: May 2017, travelled on business
Thank Δημήτρης Κ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 July 2016
Google Translation

  • Stayed: June 2016, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Uli V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hamburg hotels
Altona-Altstadt
Auto-Parkhotel Hamburg
Auto-Parkhotel Hamburg
#138 of 321 in Hamburg
59 reviews
St. Pauli
St. Joseph Hotel
St. Joseph Hotel
#156 of 321 in Hamburg
91 reviews
St. Pauli
Kastanien Hotel
Kastanien Hotel
#265 of 321 in Hamburg
31 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
St. Pauli
Centro Hotel Keese
Centro Hotel Keese
#132 of 321 in Hamburg
104 reviews
St. Pauli
Hotel Monopol
Hotel Monopol
#112 of 321 in Hamburg
162 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lafayette Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lafayette Hotel

Address: Holsten Strasse 3, 22767 Hamburg, Germany
Region: Germany > Hamburg > Altona-Altstadt
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #264 of 321 Hotels in Hamburg
Price Range: £69 - £123 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Lafayette Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 18
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, HotelsClick and Ebookers so you can book your Lafayette Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing