We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Dining in the Clouds”

clouds - Heaven's Bar & Kitchen
Ranked #47 of 3,598 Restaurants in Hamburg
Cuisines: French, Bar, European, Grill, Central European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special Occasion Dining, View, Bar Scene, Business meetings, Romantic
Dining options: After-hours, Dinner, Lunch, Drinks, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: A new attraction enriches Hamburg’s gastronomic scene in October 2013. On the top floor of Hadi Teherani`s “Tan-zende Türme“, Reeperbahn No. 1, the highest Restaurant in town celebrates its opening 105 meters above the level of the local river “Elbe”. The east CEOs Christoph Strenger, Marc Ciunis and their crew serve excellent, sophisticated straight cuisine in this extraordinary location.Hostesses are going to welcome you on the ground level before escorting you to the 23rd or 24th floor to clouds Heavens Bar & Kitchen. The building is located next to the Mojo Club and the “Operettenhaus”. The glass-in roof terrace "heaven's nest" houses a bar- and lounge area on the 24th floor, equipped with comfortable daybeds. The location offers a stunning view over Hamburg’s harbour, the river „Elbe” and the St. Michaelis Church.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
33 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Dining in the Clouds”
Reviewed 14 April 2014

This restaurant is located on the 23rd floor of the Dancing Towers, this clean modern interior restaurant provides a relaxed spacious ambience with the sights of the Hamburg skyline. Very friendly staff but at times slightly to attentive.

We attended this restaurant for a Sunday evening meal - after reading the Clouds website I was expecting a more REFINED "Fine Dining" experience. The evening began with cocktails but the Peach Bellini was not very pleasant but the other cocktails with my fellow diners seem to go down well, and the selection of red wines were great.

We shared a rustic parma ham pizza as the starter and the quality could not be faulted. There was quite a waiting time between the starter and the main, the mains that were served was a rotisserie curried whole chicken served with chips & salad with a curried mayo on the side. Then there was the Turbot which had been prepared in a baked pastry case which was served with spinach and potatoes.

I honestly have to say the food was nice but the prices do not justify the standard of the food , the BAR NEEDS to be raised- expensive for a BASIC style of food. Would the style or food be memorable - NO to be honest there's nothing that would encourage me to return to eat - but there is a great bar area with an outside terrace above the restaurant which is due to be completed open shortly.

When making a reservation you are allocated two and a half hours for the dining experience.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank GlassofClicquot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HamburgEast, Guest Relations Manager at clouds - Heaven's Bar & Kitchen, responded to this review, 22 April 2014
Dear GlassofC1,

Thank you very much for choosing clouds-Heavens Bar & Kitchen and for your review on Tripadvisor.
We are happy to hear that you enjoyed the location and it’s ambience but it’s a pity that we didn’t completely meet your expectations.
We regret to hear, that you didn’t feel our value for money was justified like to apologize if any waiting times occurred, which we always try to avoid or arrange as comfortable as possible for our guests.
We are sorry you probably would not like to return but feel glad to get the chance to welcome you soon on our recently opened roof top terrace!

Warm regards

Sara
(Guest Relations)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

513 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    227
    144
    73
    40
    29
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Oxford
Level Contributor
154 reviews
119 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 291 helpful votes
“Nice views poor food service ok- ish”
Reviewed 22 March 2014 via mobile

You have great views from the bar over Hamburg. The service is markedly unhurried but friendly throughout. Foodwise there is a lot to improve on and I think the word 'mediocre' comes to mind. I would probably have a nice dinner elsewhere and come here again for a drink at the bar. To be improved dramatically

Helpful?
1 Thank Jionkan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HamburgEast, Leiter Gästebetreuung at clouds - Heaven's Bar & Kitchen, responded to this review, 23 March 2014
Dear Jionkan,

Thank you very much for choosing clouds - Heaven's Bar & Kitchen and for taking time to give us feedback regarding your experiences.
We are sorry that our service was not to your full satisfaction and really feel sad to get to know that mediocrity comes to your mind, when you think of your last dinner.
We would love to find another opportunity to prove that our good reputation is really based on our excellent food quality and on an attentive professional service.

Receive warm regards,

Sara
(Guest Relations)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Drammen, Norway
Level Contributor
12 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Nice view”
Reviewed 3 January 2014 via mobile

We we're only there for drinks. Great view over Hamburg city in 23. floor with professional bartenders mixing lovely drinks. A little bit pricy, but excellent quality and service.

Helpful?
Thank Eigil M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HamburgEast, Leiter Gästebetreuung at clouds - Heaven's Bar & Kitchen, responded to this review, 13 March 2014
Dear Eigil,

Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review on our place. We are glad that you enjoyed our drinks, quality and service with us. We will be sure to pass along your praise to our team.
We are looking forward to seeing you for a dinner reservation again in the near future.

Best regards,

Sara

(Guest Relations)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hamburg, Germany
Level Contributor
55 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Almost heaven”
Reviewed 30 November 2013

Great service, best view in town,very good value for the money.

I went there shortly after it opened. The service was very professional, knows the wine list and took this time to take the order. Food was tasteful (Flammkuchen as starter and then Iberico pork) however it was a long way from the kitchen to the table and therefore the temparature of the food suffered a little bit. The view is actually incredible. Windows from top to bottom, interrupted by wine shelves.

Recommended ? Yes

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Getgerald
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HamburgEast, Leiter Gästebetreuung at clouds - Heaven's Bar & Kitchen, responded to this review, 13 March 2014
Dear Getgerald,

Thank you for your positive review. We are very glad that you enjoyed your visit at our restaurant Clouds Restaurant and that you were so delighted by the professionalism of our staff, the choice of food and of course the incredible view our place offers across the city of Hamburg.
We are looking forward to giving you a real treat again in the near future.

Best regards,

Sara
(Guest Relations)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hamburg, Germany
Level Contributor
39 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Fulfilling the expectations it is the name of the game!...”
Reviewed 25 November 2013

Have been at the restaurant during the soft opening, less than 10 days from the opening, something that means some mistakes here and there are to be expected...well, was not the case!
Although we have been there with open and critical eye, we did manage to spot only one small thing that needs to be improved!
We have ordered the seafood pan and steak tartar (to be prepared by the table) for starters, and instead of coming first with the tartar and bring the fish pan when the preparation was over, they came with the fish pan and started the preparation of the tartar after. Other than that it was simply perfect!
Great food, perfect interior, impressive views, a real winner!
A little bit pricey, but it is what is expected in such a venue.
It is a great place for special occasions, important business dinners and when you want to pamper yourself, but at the same time it is not heavy! Anything between casual to smart dress code it is well accepted with smart casual to smart being the more appropriate.

Highly recommended.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Pambos S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HamburgEast, Leiter Gästebetreuung at clouds - Heaven's Bar & Kitchen, responded to this review, 14 March 2014
Dear Mishmill0uis,

Thank you so much for staying with us and for taking time to write this wonderful review.
We are always grateful to have guests with open and critical eyes, because that is the best way for us to get to know where to improve.
We are delighted to hear that we were able to convince you with “Great food, perfect interior, impressive views” and that you felt so comfortable with us.
It is a pleasure to read your recommendation for our special preparation of food.
We will be glad to pass along your compliments to our whole team.
Hope to see you again in the near future.

Warm regards,

Sara
(Guest Relations)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed clouds - Heaven's Bar & Kitchen also viewed

 

Been to clouds - Heaven's Bar & Kitchen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing