We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“No way!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hotel Fresena Im Dammtorpalais
Ranked #174 of 318 Hotels in Hamburg
Los Angeles, California
1 review
“No way!”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 September 2013

No way! I thought I reserved a room in a 3 star hotel but eventually ended up in an extra small room without private toilet! I never heard of any 3 star hotel in a developed country having rooms without private WC (maybe a 3 star hostel…). The staff told me that it was a very special circumstance due to overbooking, however a colleague of mine reported exactly the same problem some weeks earlier…

Stayed August 2013, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank Mat M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

42 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    7
    15
    11
    3
    6
See reviews for
3
10
5
21
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Ponta Delgada, Portugal
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 April 2013

This Hotel is by far the worst Hotel I've ever been and I cannot understand how it is considered a 3 star hotel on such a developed country as Germany.
It's located in a kind of apartment building and there's no reception at the entrance.
You need to take the elevator to find out that the Hotel is located in one of the floors. If you arrive after 10 p.m. the reception is closed and you will not make the check-in, only collect the key on the porter at the entrance.
The room is awfull. The bed looks like an hospital bed and the room is hardly more than a narrow corridor. The bathroom is so small that I had a difficult time to accomplish small things such as to brush my teeths.
No shampoo or bath gel available.
One good thing I found was that I could access free wi-fi on the room.

Room Tip: Travelled with other colleague and both rooms looked like a corridor...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank RuiAp1975
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Hamburg hotels

Level Contributor
17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 August 2011

Stayed here for 4 nights while at a conference very close to Dammtor station easy access to Airport. Excellent breakfast as long as you like fresh fruit cold meats and cheese, there being a good choice of all of them. All the rooms are different, some appear very modern, others more traditional. Good value for this part of Hamburg, we were surprised to have a hair drier in the room, but no tea/coffee mskimg equipment. Would definateley stay here again.

  • Stayed August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Billthornthwaite
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level Contributor
69 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 June 2011

I stayed here for 3 nights whilst attending a conference at the CCH in Hamburg. Well located - only a 5 minute walk from the conference centre and the Damtor train station. Less than ten minutes away from Alster lake side.

I had a decent sized, light and airy room, nothing fancy - (think Ibis or Travel lodge) - perfectly adequate. The bathroom was small with a shower only, no bath but again perfectly adequate and clean. The room sizes do vary however - my colleague was in a tiny tiny room. There was a wall mounted TV - german channels only. No wifi. The receptionists were friendly and helpful.

They charge 9 euro for breakfast - a pretty basic and standard selection of cheeses, cold meats, bread, cereal, yoghurt etc. And the worst cup of tea ever. Don't bother with breakfast - there is a very nice bakery downstairs in the same building.

This would be a good choice for people going to the conference centre or university nearby.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PocketRocket76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paris, France
Level Contributor
167 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 114 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 December 2009

The hotel lost my reservation for a room with ensuite facilties, and offered a room with the toilet on the other side of the reception desk. They them offered a room in another hotel in the Dammtorpalais--but added that the hotel usually charged by the hour or three hour (not quite appropriate). After much back and forth I eventually wound up with a room with a toilet but with an inadequate curtain. The only advantage--it's across the street from one of the large Hamburg train stations (DeutscheBann).

  • Stayed December 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank seed37
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denmark
Level Contributor
37 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 September 2009

I attended a 4 day long congress, and was away all day. This hotel was just what I needed: A good bed, a clean bathroom, good breakfast, and only 5 minutes walk to congress hall. And all this was for 99 euros pr night.
The hotel is old and oldfasioned. The room was small but quiet. Small, but clean bathroom. Excellant breakfast. Very helpfull english speaking staff.

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FridaPoulsen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta
Level Contributor
61 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 April 2007

We (my wife and I) stayed here for one week in April of 2007. The room was nice, with a small but functional bathroom. The hotel is very quaint, and offers exactly what one would expect for the price: the basic ammenities, with nothing over the top. If you are looking for a clean, friendly place to sleep, without all the bells and whistles of other higher priced hotels, than this is the place for you.

The bathroom had a toilet, sink, a stand-up shower, and one 240V outlet. The room had two windows that open up to a quiet city street, drapes that block some (but not all) of the light in the morning, an armoire for hanging clothes, two single beds pushed together to make a king, a phone, small (13") tv with cable, and a clock radio. Two chairs and a table round out the experience.

We didn't get breakfast, so I can't comment, but it sounded and smelled nice. We could sometimes hear guests in the adjoining rooms, but overall the hotel was very quiet, simple because there weren't that many guests.

The building has an elevator, and there is a night porter. We were also given keys that would open the front door to the hotel, as well as to our room. The hotel has wi-fi, and the cost is reasonable. It was about a 5 minute walk to the Dammtor station, and about a 10 minute walk to the congress center (Messe). The Grand Elysee Hotel, which costs much more per night, is within eyesight (one block east) of this hotel, so you can get your bearings (and most taxis) based on that fact.

Again, this hotel is not for those who are used to staying at the big name chains in the states (Sheraton, Embassy Suites, etc), but if you can handle a La Quinta, Holiday Inn Express, etc, than you will be OK with this one.

  • Liked — The retro atmosphere.
  • Disliked — The pushed-together single beds.
  • Stayed April 2007, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank bubba375
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hamburg hotels
Eimsbüttel
Hotel Preuss
Hotel Preuss
#224 of 318 in Hamburg
3.5 of 5 bubbles 23 reviews
Rotherbaum
Amsterdam Hotel
Amsterdam Hotel
#214 of 318 in Hamburg
3.5 of 5 bubbles 56 reviews
Eimsbüttel
Hotel Wagner im Dammtorpalais
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Rotherbaum
Vorbach Hotel
Vorbach Hotel
#102 of 318 in Hamburg
4.0 of 5 bubbles 156 reviews
Rotherbaum
Hotel Bellmoor im Dammtorpalais
Eimsbüttel
Hotel Heimhude
Hotel Heimhude
#239 of 318 in Hamburg
3.0 of 5 bubbles 30 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Fresena Im Dammtorpalais? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Fresena Im Dammtorpalais

Property: Hotel Fresena Im Dammtorpalais
Address: Moorweidenstrasse 34, 20146 Hamburg, Germany
Region: Germany > Hamburg > Rotherbaum
Amenities:
Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #174 of 318 Hotels in Hamburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Fresena Im Dammtorpalais 3*
Number of rooms: 23
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotel.de, TripOnline SA, HRS, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U., Odigeo and Booking.com so you can book your Hotel Fresena Im Dammtorpalais reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing