We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“wrong choice”
Review of Mercedes

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Mercedes
Ranked #289 of 321 Hotels in Hamburg
Reviewed 3 November 2012

I have stayed 2 nights at this hotel and this was the worst hotel i've ever stayed. Do not believe the photos of this hotel on this page. It was not a modern designed hotel. The room was extra small and two beds positioned vertically in the room. Careless staff. Yes it is close to central station but the area was awful. No need to stay again. Sorry.

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank bakcays
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (121)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

34 - 40 of 121 reviews

Reviewed 28 September 2012

Having spent 30 years travelling in Europe & having stayed at a wide variety of B&B's/hotels etc I can honestly say this place is up there with the worst.

Rooms are dirty, fixtures & fittings tatty & worn. Rooms are cramped. The bathroom is tiny & not pleasant. We stayed on the second floor which emitted a strange stale smell. All in all a very poor hotel.

Dread to think what those below it in the rankings are like.

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank dave n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 August 2012

Photos online showed this Hotel as sleek, charming and modern. It is not. In fact, it was most deceiving indeed. The rooms are musty and the area is not very desirable as well. Hamburg is a beautiful city but take the time to research better locations and Vacancies...It was also on a very busy street and very noisy...

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank iaco2728
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 January 2012

Keeping the costs low meant that I arrived into Lubeck airport and took the coach transfer to Hamburg. This was smoother than I had imagined. The Mercedes Hotel was just 500 metres from the coach station (as well as the main railway station) and so was central to all my logistical needs. The hotel is squeezed into a block of shops, many offering fruit & vegetables. It is small, relatively clean, beds are comfortable and the room offers toilet and shower facilities. It was not a 'broom cupboard', rather it was a decent size for an economy single. The biggest plus was the fact that my 3 nights, including a modest buffet breakfast, came to less that my colleagues were paying per night excluding breakfast. Add to that the closeness of the city's U-Bahn & S-Bahn networks and you have an ideal, short stay business hotel.

Room Tip: Try for a room with a rear outlook. It is less noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Tim M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 July 2011

The hotel was ok for the price we had breakfast included this was however quit boring the cleaning standard was not as one could desire. The staff was however very nice and helpful.

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ChrisAarhus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 January 2011

rooms are very old fashioned and a bit smelly. we had no warm water in the shower for our whole stay.... can not recommend it.

  • Stayed: December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mr_maier
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 January 2007

The pictures of this hotel that you find online are tricky. It seems like a well-valued hotel that has remodeled rooms... The truth of the matter is that the rooms are tiny and half remodeled. Our room was so small we couldn't pass each other - one of us would have to go over the bed to move around this room. The bathroom was clean a newly tiled, but the shower was so small my husband was basically bathing half in and half out! The room key is on a this huge heavy metal thing which was too heavy to carry around the town - and the front desk wanted to always hold the key for you - kind of shady in my opinion.
The beds were clean (which was a releif) but the entire night I could here a pipe dripping above us in the roof and the street noise was also loud. I couldn't sleep but my husband did. I wasn't comfotable and really couldn't wait to leave. But we were only in Hamburg for one night so I was able to survive.

  • Stayed: December 2006, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank PearlieLupita
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hamburg hotels
Hotel Lumen
#270 of 321 in Hamburg
119 reviews
Hotel Terminus
#127 of 321 in Hamburg
134 reviews
St. Georg
Novum Hotel Norddeutscher Hof Hamburg
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
St. Georg
Novum Hotel Hamburg Stadtzentrum
St. Georg
Hotel Polo Hamburg
Hotel Polo Hamburg
#266 of 321 in Hamburg
285 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mercedes? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercedes

Address: Steindamm 51, 20099 Hamburg, Germany
Region: Germany > Hamburg > St. Georg
Amenities:
Free Breakfast
Hotel Style:
Ranked #289 of 321 Hotels in Hamburg
Price Range: £37 - £118 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Mercedes 3*
Number of rooms: 19
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, HostelWorld, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Mercedes reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mercedes Hotel Hamburg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing