We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel for the price”
Review of Mercedes

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Mercedes
Ranked #288 of 321 Hotels in Hamburg
Reviewed 27 December 2012

We enjoyed our stay here, it is good value for money. Within walking distance to many of the sights around town and for the price it included a very good breakfast. Rooms were clean although the towels could do with an upgrade. Although we discovered this is in the Red Light District there were many women staying by themselves and it did feel very safe when walking around. Downfall was the internet was touch and go, sometimes it worked but many times it did not but this would not stop me returning

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank michele_6169
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (122)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

32 - 38 of 122 reviews

Reviewed 2 December 2012

I was very aware of the high number of poor reviews when I booked a room for two nights in the Hotel Mercedes in November 2012, so I expected some disappointment. However, I was not disappointed at all, and I find the hotel fully adequate for a two-star hotel.

I was allocated a non-smoking room on the third floor which was of a decent standard; see my photos: There were two beds (I booked a single room), two chairs, a table, a TV, built-in wardrobes and a bathroom with a shower. The bathroom was good, the shower worked well, there was a hair-dryer and shower gel and shampoo. The room and the bathroom were clean. The Furniture was admittedly not the newest but was decent and served its purposes more than sufficiently. It is true that the doors would profit from some fresh paint but I am not too concerned about this, as long as everything is clean - which was the case here.

Staff was very friendly and helpful - all of Turkish origin. The breakfast room was very nice and seems to have been newly refurbished. Breakfast was a no-frills buffet which I found entirely satisfactory: There was a choice of different kinds of sliced bread, three different bread rolls, three kinds of jam, Nutella, butter, margarine, fruit, muesli, 2 kinds of corn flakes, milk, yoghurt, two kinds of sliced cheese, Philadelphia fresh cheese, four different kinds of sliced sausages (of average supermarket quality), boiled eggs, coffee, tea, orange and apple juice, and fresh fruit. So fully adequate for a two-star hotel. The buffet was constantly re-filled by a friendly woman.

It is true that there are prostitutes in the streets around the hotel but hey, this is Hamburg! And it's very close to the main station - you have the same in Frankfurt, for example. It's not a problem at all, the prostitutes won't bother you, none of them spoke to me in those two days. They're not too tarted up either. So I guess if I had kids I would be fine there with them. In my view, there is no prostitution in connection with the hotel at all.

I booked with HRS and paid 29 Euros for the night on Friday, and 53 Euros for the night on Saturday, including breakfast. That's basically what you would pay for a youth hostel in Hamburg, with shared bathroom and no breakfast. So one wonders about the expectations of people who complain about the Mercedes here on TripAdvisor.

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Falco1968
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 November 2012

I have stayed 2 nights at this hotel and this was the worst hotel i've ever stayed. Do not believe the photos of this hotel on this page. It was not a modern designed hotel. The room was extra small and two beds positioned vertically in the room. Careless staff. Yes it is close to central station but the area was awful. No need to stay again. Sorry.

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank bakcays
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 September 2012

Having spent 30 years travelling in Europe & having stayed at a wide variety of B&B's/hotels etc I can honestly say this place is up there with the worst.

Rooms are dirty, fixtures & fittings tatty & worn. Rooms are cramped. The bathroom is tiny & not pleasant. We stayed on the second floor which emitted a strange stale smell. All in all a very poor hotel.

Dread to think what those below it in the rankings are like.

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank dave n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 August 2012

Photos online showed this Hotel as sleek, charming and modern. It is not. In fact, it was most deceiving indeed. The rooms are musty and the area is not very desirable as well. Hamburg is a beautiful city but take the time to research better locations and Vacancies...It was also on a very busy street and very noisy...

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank iaco2728
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 January 2012

Keeping the costs low meant that I arrived into Lubeck airport and took the coach transfer to Hamburg. This was smoother than I had imagined. The Mercedes Hotel was just 500 metres from the coach station (as well as the main railway station) and so was central to all my logistical needs. The hotel is squeezed into a block of shops, many offering fruit & vegetables. It is small, relatively clean, beds are comfortable and the room offers toilet and shower facilities. It was not a 'broom cupboard', rather it was a decent size for an economy single. The biggest plus was the fact that my 3 nights, including a modest buffet breakfast, came to less that my colleagues were paying per night excluding breakfast. Add to that the closeness of the city's U-Bahn & S-Bahn networks and you have an ideal, short stay business hotel.

Room Tip: Try for a room with a rear outlook. It is less noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Tim M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 July 2011

The hotel was ok for the price we had breakfast included this was however quit boring the cleaning standard was not as one could desire. The staff was however very nice and helpful.

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ChrisAarhus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hamburg hotels
St. Georg
Novum Hotel Hamburg Stadtzentrum
Hotel Terminus
#129 of 321 in Hamburg
136 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
St. Georg
Novum Hotel Konigshof Hamburg
Hotel Lumen
#270 of 321 in Hamburg
120 reviews
St. Georg
Hotel Kieler Hof
Hotel Kieler Hof
#189 of 321 in Hamburg
57 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mercedes? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercedes

Address: Steindamm 51, 20099 Hamburg, Germany
Region: Germany > Hamburg > St. Georg
Amenities:
Free Breakfast
Hotel Style:
Ranked #288 of 321 Hotels in Hamburg
Price Range: £35 - £120 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Mercedes 3*
Number of rooms: 19
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), HostelWorld, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Evoline ltd, Hotels.com, Cancelon, Ebookers and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Mercedes reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mercedes Hotel Hamburg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing