We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Mercedes
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
If you like this hotel, you might also be interested in
Wikinger Hof(Hamburg)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Bar/Lounge
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Bar/Lounge
ARCOTEL Rubin(Hamburg)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Hotel Astoria(Hamburg)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (126)
Filter reviews
126 results
Traveller rating
3
22
43
28
30
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
3
22
43
28
30
See what travellers are saying:
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
32 - 37 of 126 reviews
Reviewed 27 December 2012

We enjoyed our stay here, it is good value for money. Within walking distance to many of the sights around town and for the price it included a very good breakfast. Rooms were clean although the towels could do with an upgrade. Although we discovered this is in the Red Light District there were many women staying by themselves and it did feel very safe when walking around. Downfall was the internet was touch and go, sometimes it worked but many times it did not but this would not stop me returning

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank michele_6169
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 December 2012

I was very aware of the high number of poor reviews when I booked a room for two nights in the Hotel Mercedes in November 2012, so I expected some disappointment. However, I was not disappointed at all, and I find the hotel fully adequate for a two-star hotel.

I was allocated a non-smoking room on the third floor which was of a decent standard; see my photos: There were two beds (I booked a single room), two chairs, a table, a TV, built-in wardrobes and a bathroom with a shower. The bathroom was good, the shower worked well, there was a hair-dryer and shower gel and shampoo. The room and the bathroom were clean. The Furniture was admittedly not the newest but was decent and served its purposes more than sufficiently. It is true that the doors would profit from some fresh paint but I am not too concerned about this, as long as everything is clean - which was the case here.

Staff was very friendly and helpful - all of Turkish origin. The breakfast room was very nice and seems to have been newly refurbished. Breakfast was a no-frills buffet which I found entirely satisfactory: There was a choice of different kinds of sliced bread, three different bread rolls, three kinds of jam, Nutella, butter, margarine, fruit, muesli, 2 kinds of corn flakes, milk, yoghurt, two kinds of sliced cheese, Philadelphia fresh cheese, four different kinds of sliced sausages (of average supermarket quality), boiled eggs, coffee, tea, orange and apple juice, and fresh fruit. So fully adequate for a two-star hotel. The buffet was constantly re-filled by a friendly woman.

It is true that there are prostitutes in the streets around the hotel but hey, this is Hamburg! And it's very close to the main station - you have the same in Frankfurt, for example. It's not a problem at all, the prostitutes won't bother you, none of them spoke to me in those two days. They're not too tarted up either. So I guess if I had kids I would be fine there with them. In my view, there is no prostitution in connection with the hotel at all.

I booked with HRS and paid 29 Euros for the night on Friday, and 53 Euros for the night on Saturday, including breakfast. That's basically what you would pay for a youth hostel in Hamburg, with shared bathroom and no breakfast. So one wonders about the expectations of people who complain about the Mercedes here on TripAdvisor.

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Falco1968
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 November 2012

I have stayed 2 nights at this hotel and this was the worst hotel i've ever stayed. Do not believe the photos of this hotel on this page. It was not a modern designed hotel. The room was extra small and two beds positioned vertically in the room. Careless staff. Yes it is close to central station but the area was awful. No need to stay again. Sorry.

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank bakcays
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 September 2012

Having spent 30 years travelling in Europe & having stayed at a wide variety of B&B's/hotels etc I can honestly say this place is up there with the worst.

Rooms are dirty, fixtures & fittings tatty & worn. Rooms are cramped. The bathroom is tiny & not pleasant. We stayed on the second floor which emitted a strange stale smell. All in all a very poor hotel.

Dread to think what those below it in the rankings are like.

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank dave n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 August 2012

Photos online showed this Hotel as sleek, charming and modern. It is not. In fact, it was most deceiving indeed. The rooms are musty and the area is not very desirable as well. Hamburg is a beautiful city but take the time to research better locations and Vacancies...It was also on a very busy street and very noisy...

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank iaco2728
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews