We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Value for money!”
Review of Hotel Stella Maris

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Stella Maris
Ranked #78 of 318 Hotels in Hamburg
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Value for money!”
Reviewed 12 December 2011

This hotel is situated really well in the Portuguese part of Hamburg. Surrounded by wonderful and family friendly restaurants it's close to central Hamburg. The rooms were a bit different in size, but let the staff know your wishes when you book. We went with our 1 year old, and the staff was great. Ask for one of the bigger rooms if you need space for a baby crib. However - A lift from the street to the reception area is missing if you are travelling with a baby pram. A quiet hotel in a calm area. And the breakfast is great! We would visit again the next time we're going to Hamburg.

  • Stayed December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Vibing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

192 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    62
    101
    23
    5
    1
See reviews for
28
89
8
33
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 27 February 2011

This neat place is a gem in Hamburg. From around $40 (backpacker - bath share) to around $130 (business). We have stayed there for years to attend AIX show and it is near (taxi) the Hamburg Messe. Near Hamburg Harbor so if you likes shops - this is the real deal. near to water taxi. Note, location tells you that in winter or spring it is cold. THe hotel is warm and friendly and moderately priced, with a good breakfast and Wi-Fi. Last visit, we could not get our Macs to work with it, however, and the mgt said it was because we had Macs - BS. It didn't work and we bugged them revery dat till they had a guy out...it was broken. Germans!
Great place and nice rooms. 4 stories and a working elevator with lots of restaurants near (Try Brazillian Pantera...lotsa meat (all you can eat)) and a greet shwarma stand around the corner. Good deal for a European hotel.

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tjw2551oo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Düsseldorf
Level Contributor
38 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 November 2010

The good: the hotel is nicely situated close to the Speicherstadt and the Landungsbrücken. The service is okay. Now the bad: the room can be very small, the walls thin. You can easily here the night activities of your neighbour, like snorring. There is no telephone in the rooms! and the wifi coverage is poor. So, for one night okay, for business trip it s not enough.

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Guiles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LONDON
Level Contributor
191 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 133 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 November 2010

I stayed here with friends and got a free upgrade to an en-suite room. We where going on a weekend drinking jolly so just booked what we could at the time. The room we got was nice clean and a decent size. large flat screen on the wall and decent bathroom. We didnt make the breakfast as we went to the Fischmarkt and then straight to the airport but it was there if we wanted it. this place is in a great location just near the Landungsbruken pier and a two minute walk from the train/tube station.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Craig P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Veneto
Level Contributor
29 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 May 2010

I stayed in the Stella Maris hotel for 2 nights, just to see the city. I've got to say Hamburg is VERY expensive; so, I wasn't astonished for the price of the hotel. It is a medium price, but in another city you would probably have more! Anyway: the hotel is very clean, the people at desk were very, very kind, explaining what to see, were to go to eat...I loved the position: not in the very centre of Hamburg, but just on the harbour (WOW), 10 minutes walk from the Rathaus, 10 from Sankt Pauli, in the nice portuguese district, full of restaurants and tapas bar, and very lively, but no dangerous at hall, even when coming back during the night. We had a superior class room because the cheapest ones were booked off: there was a hi fi, a large tv, phon, a walk-in closet. Three large windows. The bathroom was nice, very clean and well-kept. There was a wireless internet connection too. Ah, there is free internet for everyone in the hall (very useful, I used it several times to check timetables, restaurants and so on). Nice common space in the hall. The silence was the thing I appreciated most: I had a room on the street, but the road is very small, and almost no cars passed there. I had a wondreful sleeping. I didn't try breakfast because it is very expensive (9 euros) and you can get it in every lovely bar in the centre, normally for the half of the price! I definitely recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank viabadia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aguascalientes
1 review
Reviewed 5 June 2009

I just spent one night in the hotel and it was quite convenient for me to stay at the Stella Maris.

The front desk staff was really nice and polite, the rooms were clean and the bed was comfortable. There was no bathroom inside the room, the bathrooms and showers were clean and private.

It is located in a safe area, close to many elegant restaurants and shops and to 2 of the metro stations. They provide you an electronic card to access the rooms area, it has an elevator and a restaurant.

Really convenience for a budget staying.

  • Stayed October 2008, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Aguascalentense
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Copenhagen
Level Contributor
30 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 June 2009

Around 40 euro for a double room in a decent hotel in Hamburg - if you can accept that the bathroom's in the corridor. That's what you can get at Hotel Stella Maris in Hamburg. The only bad thing about this hotel is that it's often fully booked a long time in advance - at least if you want the above mentioned cheap rates (the zimmers mit Etagenbad). If you're lucky to get a room there (tjek out hamburg-erleben.de), you'll stay in a nice and clean hotel - in a cosy (but quiet in the night) area with a lot of Portugese and Spanish restaurants and cafees just around the corner. We've stayed at Hotel Stella Maris twice and will surely return next time, we need a hotel in Hamburg.

  • Liked — The cheap rate - 43 euro for a double room
  • Disliked — No dislikes
  • Stayed May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank morregard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hamburg hotels
Neustadt
Hanse Clipper Haus
Hanse Clipper Haus
#17 of 318 in Hamburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 363 reviews
Neustadt
Feuerschiff Ship Hotel
Feuerschiff Ship Hotel
#238 of 318 in Hamburg
3.5 of 5 bubbles 32 reviews
Neustadt
The Madison Hamburg
The Madison Hamburg
#3 of 318 in Hamburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 985 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
St. Pauli
Hotel Hafen Hamburg
Hotel Hafen Hamburg
#64 of 318 in Hamburg
4.0 of 5 bubbles 999 reviews
St. Pauli
Jugendherberge Auf dem Stintfang
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Stella Maris? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Stella Maris

Property: Hotel Stella Maris
Address: Reimarusstr. 12, 20459 Hamburg, Germany
Region: Germany > Hamburg > Neustadt
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #78 of 318 Hotels in Hamburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Stella Maris 3*
Number of rooms: 49
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Stella Maris is located at the port of Hamburg, close to the Landungsbrucken underground and "S-Bahn" train station, in the middle of the lively Portuguese quarter. Here you will find the typical Hamburg charm, with numerous quaint pubs and cosy restaurants: maritime and trendy at the same time. The furnishings of this modern hotel with its 49 bright, friendly rooms are based on a maritime theme. The salon with library and the recreation room with tabletop football provide different options for relaxation. The public areas in the hotel provide free WiFi, and the lobby has two Internet terminals that are free to use. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotel.de, Priceline, Hotels.com, Odigeo and HRS so you can book your Hotel Stella Maris reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing