We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very clean and comfortable but desperately poor Wifi”
Review of Hotel Stella Maris

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Stella Maris
Ranked #86 of 319 Hotels in Hamburg
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 1 November 2012

Staying for four nights we were fortunate to have a spacious "Captain's Class" room with en suite shower on the 4th floor at the back of the hotel.  Whilst not enjoying much of a view it was peaceful and the well-appointed room was also light and airy with a door on to a shared balcony. We found the bed and pillows most comfortable. Some of the nearby rooms were considerably smaller; others may have had a bath - specify your requirements if it matters to you.

The hotel is located in a quiet street close to the Landungsbrücken rail station and Überseebrücke ferry pier, and is surrounded by numerous Hispanic bistros and restaurants here in the Portuguese quarter.  It is a short walk to the fabulous St Michaelis church and 10-15 minutes to the city centre beyond.

On the downside, the hotel Wifi service was appalling, generally slow, dropping out every few minutes and requiring full username and password re-entry. It was also switched off late at night. Equally we found no reliable Wifi in Hamburg city except at Starbucks. Two PCs and a printer are also available in the hotel lounge areas, but they suffered from the same Internet problems. For many travellers, Wifi access has become essential in a foreign country so I mark the hotel down on this - but resist taking off two points!

Elegant nautical decor lends the hotel a boutique air although the restaurant is only open for breakfast. Continental breakfasts were good quality with a moderate range of choices. The busy breakfast manager was very efficient.

The only other visible hotel representative was the duty manager/receptionist who ranged from cheerfully obliging to faintly truculent. Other duties permitting, the manager would also serve coffee and drinks in the lounge area.

In summary, a clean and comfortable hotel let down by very poor Wifi.

Room Tip: We can recommend the 'Captains Class' Room 406 at the back of the hotel. Spacious with a fai...
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Nigel J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (203)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Stella Maris
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

46 - 52 of 203 reviews

Reviewed 20 October 2012

The room was clean, spacious and quite, not luxury but perfect for us to visit the city for a few days. The people are helpful and friendly. Wifi worked. But the best is the location: 5 minutes walk to the harbor promenade with all its possiblities, touristic bus and boat stop, szene bars, subway. Restaurants, Bars, Attractions, everything nearby. We had a very good time, thanks.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank MiriamR711
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 October 2012

The Stella Maris is not in the centre of Hamburg but there are plenty of restaurants, cafes and bars nearby and the U-bahn stop is five minutes away.
My room was relatively quiet and certainly spacious, well maintained and very clean. The bathroom was very well appointed and very new. There's also a nice little lounge area. There's also free wifi!!!! Gold star for that!
Breakfast is good value at about euro 8. It would be nice if the staff were a bit more friendly but overall this is a great hotel.

Room Tip: Try and get one high up
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SimonBrooke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 May 2012

Great small boutiqu-ey hotel located near the river and subways. There is a great number of Portuguese, Spanish and other ethnic restaurants and nautical antique shops nearby. Subway and city tour bus nearby too.

Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
2  Thank moongazer849
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 January 2012

We stayed here for two nights over the new year period (two couples). We stayed in one of the 'Captains rooms' overlooking the front of the hotel which was very spacious, although others of the same type were not so. The rooms were very clean on arrival but we had no shower gel and when we requested some from reception, they had none either and as there doesn't seem to be any other staff (other than reception) they could not help. On day two, our room was not made up when we returned at 5PM, so another trip to reception. This time they had to get staff in to clean while we went down the road for a drink. Not great - I was looking forward to a rest before going out for the evening.

The hotel has no bar so feels a little impersonal and cold. Breakfast is on offer at 9 euros pp but we only had that on the first morning as it was decidedly average with awful coffee. The Crystal cafe on the corner was a much better bet.

On the plus side this area of the city, near to the docks is very Portuguese and the hotel is surrounded by an abundance of restaurants, cafes and bars, mostly Portuguese but some Spanish and Italian, a really good choice. Unlike a lot of other restaurants and bars we saw in the city, all of these were open for business on New Years day.

We did not use the underground but there is a station within a five minute walk from the hotel so no difficulty to get to any other part of the city. We bought a day ticket for the hop on / hop off red line bus (also a stop five minutes from the hotel) and this gave us a really good overview of Hamburg as we had so little time. Taxi's were quite inexpensive - 25 euros to / from the airport.

New Years eve was quite scary in the Reeperbahn area of the city, resembling something from the wild west. Most people were letting off rockets by hand and misiles were fired indiscirminately from cars into crowds of people. At one point we saw someone fire a gun into the air from the passenger window of a moving car. In the UK this would have been classed as a riot - certainly an experience but not one I will be repeating!

Room Tip: If you are staying in a captains room, request one at the front of the building as they are larger
  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Travelbunny011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 December 2011

This hotel is situated really well in the Portuguese part of Hamburg. Surrounded by wonderful and family friendly restaurants it's close to central Hamburg. The rooms were a bit different in size, but let the staff know your wishes when you book. We went with our 1 year old, and the staff was great. Ask for one of the bigger rooms if you need space for a baby crib. However - A lift from the street to the reception area is missing if you are travelling with a baby pram. A quiet hotel in a calm area. And the breakfast is great! We would visit again the next time we're going to Hamburg.

  • Stayed: December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Vibing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 February 2011

This neat place is a gem in Hamburg. From around $40 (backpacker - bath share) to around $130 (business). We have stayed there for years to attend AIX show and it is near (taxi) the Hamburg Messe. Near Hamburg Harbor so if you likes shops - this is the real deal. near to water taxi. Note, location tells you that in winter or spring it is cold. THe hotel is warm and friendly and moderately priced, with a good breakfast and Wi-Fi. Last visit, we could not get our Macs to work with it, however, and the mgt said it was because we had Macs - BS. It didn't work and we bugged them revery dat till they had a guy out...it was broken. Germans!
Great place and nice rooms. 4 stories and a working elevator with lots of restaurants near (Try Brazillian Pantera...lotsa meat (all you can eat)) and a greet shwarma stand around the corner. Good deal for a European hotel.

  • Stayed: March 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tjw2551oo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hamburg hotels
Neustadt
Hanse Clipper Haus
Hanse Clipper Haus
#17 of 319 in Hamburg
458 reviews
Neustadt
Feuerschiff Ship Hotel
Feuerschiff Ship Hotel
#197 of 319 in Hamburg
39 reviews
Neustadt
The Madison Hamburg
The Madison Hamburg
#1 of 319 in Hamburg
1,044 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
St. Pauli
Hotel Hafen Hamburg
Hotel Hafen Hamburg
#70 of 319 in Hamburg
1,061 reviews
Neustadt
Novum Hotel Holstenwall Hamburg Neustadt
St. Pauli
Jugendherberge Auf dem Stintfang
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Stella Maris? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Stella Maris

Address: Reimarusstr. 12, 20459 Hamburg, Germany
Region: Germany > Hamburg > Neustadt
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #86 of 319 Hotels in Hamburg
Price Range: £76 - £135 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Stella Maris 3*
Number of rooms: 49
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Stella Maris is located at the port of Hamburg, close to the Landungsbrucken underground and "S-Bahn" train station, in the middle of the lively Portuguese quarter. Here you will find the typical Hamburg charm, with numerous quaint pubs and cosy restaurants: maritime and trendy at the same time. The furnishings of this modern hotel with its 49 bright, friendly rooms are based on a maritime theme. The salon with library and the recreation room with tabletop football provide different options for relaxation. The public areas in the hotel provide free WiFi, and the lobby has two Internet terminals that are free to use. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Stella Maris reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing