We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (237)
Filter reviews
237 results
Traveller rating
77
126
28
4
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
77
126
28
4
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviews portuguese quarter shared balcony minute walk dock area great hotel st michaels short stay within walking distance four nights hotel is located close to the city center good size harbour reeperbahn euros odour airport
Filter
Updating list...
5 - 10 of 237 reviews
Reviewed 29 August 2017 via mobile

I had a wonderful stay at this hotel. The location was ideal for the Elbphilharmonie concert hall. The room was dark and quiet at night and the bathroom was modern but my favourite thing was the breakfast. So much variety and so prettily laid out!

The hotel is a few minutes' walk from the nearest S-train station. This train takes you to the airport for just over 3 euros.

I will definitely stay at this hotel next time I visit Hamburg, too.

Stayed: August 2017
1  Thank RedDuvet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 August 2017

For a low cost hotel, this one is pretty good. The lobby and waiting area is beautifully designed with a seaside theme, reflecting its nearby neighbourhood of Hamburg's dock area. The room, however, was quite plain and basic, but clearance. The major drawback is there's no air conditioning and the hallways had a slight odour. The washroom was surprisingly bright and clean, with a big frosted window that allowed for a lot of natural sunlight. There's a big closet and safe for all your belongings too. The check-in staff was super friendly and professional and the area is really nice - the hotel is located in the Portuguese area with lots of lively restaurants, and you're within walking distance to Reeperbahn and close to the harbour and docks where all the harbour cruises depart. St Michaels cathedral is a 3 minute walk. Highly recommended for budget travellers or a short stay.

Room Tip: Perhaps get a courtyard view room to be away from the streets, because the neighbourhood can be quite lively
  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Albert L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 July 2017

this hotel is an excellent place to go if you want to reach the harbour and the reeperbahn by foot
harbour is 1 street further
reeperbahn is a 5 minutes walk
hotel is quite 'normal': you can leave your suitcases there before or after check-in.
if it is raining: they give you an umbrella ;-)

tip1: test and taste the restaurants in your street: it's the portuguese quarter: excellent food!!

tip2: for all your different devices: ask for a seperate wifi code. [not the strogest connection though]

helpful? don't miss this!!

  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mike w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 June 2017

We arrived at 11:10pm after a really exhausting and difficult journey due to in air flight delays only to find reception shut, lights out and unmanned with no staff. My colleague had told the hotel we would be arriving but no key access was made available and everything was in darkness. We called the emergency number on the front door to see if we could get any help however it just rang and rang - we could clearly hear it ring in the hotel reception area behind the locked doors in an empty room. As a result we had to then spend an hour phoning 12 different other hotels and eventually found a room at 3 times the price at 1215AM.
Arriving back at the Stella Maris reception next morning at 0830 we were met by a very miserable, unfriendly receptionist, who could not even muster a smile and had no sympathy whatsoever for what had happened. Astonishingly she then proceeded to blame us for calling a wrong number (even though we could hear it ring behind the desk)...she said it was all our fault; she was obviously not telling the truth to cover herself. She did not even apologise and to add further insult, she then told us the rooms we had already booked were not ready until 3pm - you could not make this up! This was our worst ever experience of hotel staff ever.
What is extremely worrying is that at night there is NO 'emergency number' as it clearly only rings in an empty reception and guests are entirely on their own should anything bad happen. It should worry anyone staying at this hotel that there is NO SAFETY COVER available at night - you will be on your own and they have no respect for their paying guests.

Stayed: June 2017
2  Thank SSBelleBB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WalterBrandner, Geschäftsführer at Hotel Stella Maris, responded to this reviewResponded 21 July 2017

Dear TravellingGuruRepo,

Thank you for your review of our Hotel Stella Maris as well as for your feedback!
I very much apologize for your miserable situation that night in front of our hotel.
For guests arriving after 11pm we program our key safe at the entrance. Normally all you have to do is to enter your PIN, take your key/chip and use it to open the front door, the corresponding floor door and of course your room; this is how it works.
In case of problems with the doors we always hand out a mobil number as well. It rings in our partner hotel where the front desk is ALWAYS well-staffed at night.
The emergency number on the front door will also ring in our partner hotel.
However, to avoid inconveniences like those mentioned by you we now installed a fix line to our partner hotel. Before, this was done every evening by hand.
Such an incident will not happen again.

I am so very sorry for your experience with the bad quality of service the next morning. This is not the kind of quality the Hotel Stella Maris stands for!

Should you ever be so generous and give us the opportunity to revise your impressions, please contact Maik Pitschula at mp@stellamaris-hamburg.de
Maik is our Hotelmanager at Hotel Stella Maris and it will be his pleasure
to look after you.
Best regards from Hamburg,

Walter Brandner
Managing Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 February 2017

Another nice stay in Stella Maris. This the new Elevator has been set up and was working and was nice as no more walking up and coming down the stairs.

Room was once again nice, clean and spacious. Balcony is a plus as nice to get fresh air or to smoke in the balcony.

Breakfast was nice but as being a regular customer will be nice to see a bit more variety next time.

Intend to come back to Stella Maris next time will come back to Hamburg.

  • Stayed: December 2016, travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ROULA-THANOS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews