We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Rocking Out in Berlin”
Review of Kogge Hotel

Kogge Hotel
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Hamburg
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Kogge Hotel
Ranked #218 of 321 Hotels in Hamburg
Reviewed 22 October 2008

Located quite close to the action in the Reeferbahn area, the hotel is ideally located for those who want to go out and experience the seedier side of Hamburg.

The price was quite reasonable and we were all provided with welcome shots in the hotel bar, which doubles as the reception area.

The hotel is NOT to be mistaken for a trendy 3 star ... as it is quite 'rustic' in nature - especially upon entering the hotel. However, the rooms were quite clean, though sparse. The bathroom is shared but due to the limited number of guests it was never overly crowded.

Parking can be an issue, but we were quite lucky to find free parking outside. The bar can be rather loud, but ear plugs are provided though none of us required them to sleep. The main problem was the fact that the heating system was not yet working - though we were fine as it was a pleasant evening in October, you wouldn't want to get too much farther into winter without the heat !

Overall, however, exactly what we expected.

  • Stayed: October 2008, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank fronya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (34)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

16 - 22 of 34 reviews

Reviewed 2 November 2006

It depends what you are looking for as to whether you will like Hotel Kogge. All the rooms are individually decorated, and as we booked the night before it was definitely the worst room as it was the last one left ( the punk one). I peeked at some of the other rooms and they looked great whereas ours was a bit dingy and there was nowhere to hang anything up. It was clean though, as were the communal showers and toilets. Terrible pillows!! The staff seemed helpful and friendly at first, but when we went in the bar in the evening found it to be quite cliquey, like we had crashed their private party. They all spoke excellent English though. if you are looking for somewhere cheap to stay that is in the heart of the reeperbahn then this place is great, and although the reeperbahn is the famous area for going out partying, we found we had more fun out in the more north westerly area of Hamburg. Overall if your looking for a private hotel room at hostel prices but don't want to actually stay in a hostel, this is a good bet!

  • Stayed: October 2006, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
13  Thank Jessie4390
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 August 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: August 2017, travelled with friends
1  Thank Marco B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 July 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Yvonne F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 July 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jörg N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 February 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: February 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Achim K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 October 2016 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: October 2016, travelled with friends
Thank Charlie_Addams
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hamburg hotels
St. Pauli
Hotel Hanseport Hamburg
Hotel Hanseport Hamburg
#135 of 321 in Hamburg
68 reviews
St. Pauli
Hotel Hafen Hamburg
Hotel Hafen Hamburg
#67 of 321 in Hamburg
1,099 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Empire Riverside Hotel
#27 of 321 in Hamburg
1,303 reviews
Bridge Inn Hotel
#223 of 321 in Hamburg
191 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kogge Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kogge Hotel

Address: Bernhard-Nocht-Str. 59, 20359 Hamburg, Germany
Region: Germany > Hamburg > St. Pauli
Hotel Style:
Ranked #218 of 321 Hotels in Hamburg
Price Range: £44 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 12

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing