We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location for a night out, helfpful staff”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Budapester Hof
Ranked #136 of 321 Hotels in Hamburg
Reviewed 22 October 2009

The price is definately a bit steep for what you get in terms or the room comfort. But on a plus side hotel staff is very friendly and eager to help you and a location is perfect for a night out at St. Pauli area. If you are into football and there is a game during your visit St.Pauli's football stadium is literally just on the other side of a street.

  • Stayed: October 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Johan54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (151)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

52 - 58 of 151 reviews

Reviewed 4 August 2009

This was my first stay in a hostel, and was sharing a room with three other friends prior to a festival. Wasn't too impressed with the climb up stairs to the room with 20kg's on my back! Once in the room i was pleasantly surprised, comfortable beds, fairly clean, nice bathroom and far larger than i was expecting. Pillows are the only thing I found a bit weird. Decor was modern, floors could have done with a sweep.

My only complaint about this hostel was the location. It seemed like a rough area, a 10 minute or so walk to the nearest U-bahn station and 10-15 minutes from the Reeperbahn. The area just seemed generally run down and tired.

  • Stayed: July 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Shortbread1015
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 August 2008

I stayed here on a stag night in a private room for four people with an en-suite bathroom. It was a lot better inside than I expected, as the room was reasonable and clean. There was a TV but little other furniture.

Good points:
1) Good location for bars/the Reeperbahn
2) Fairly cheap
3) Staff were helpful (and speak English if that's an issue)
4) The beds were reasonably comfortable
5) The room and bathroom were clean
6) There was an amazing fair over the road when we went, and although it looks fairly fixed, I don't think it's there all year round

Bad points:
1) The area is pretty rough, but didn't feel dangerous - just keep your eyes open
2) It's difficult to park nearby
3) It's fairly difficult to find - note that the address is 16-18 Paulinenstrasse, NOT 16-18 Budapestersrasse (look out for the swimming bath over the road)
4) The room was REALLY hot, with no air conditioning or fan or anything
5) The shower was average, at best, and it's difficult to get water that isn't either boiling or freezing

  • Stayed: August 2008, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
1  Thank lollo2304
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 June 2008

Ok this place should only be considered if you have

a) a limited budget (although we paid 95 euros per night)
b) a tolerance to noise and low comfort levels
c) are fit enough to climb lots of stairs

As stated in the title there was a problem with the booking. There were 23 of us on a stag party and the best man had booked this place with the explicit instructions that they had twin rooms not doubles. But guess what when we got there they did not have enough twin rooms so they expected guys to sleep together in double beds.
Although the very young receptionist was apologetic obviously they had made a mistake. She admitted that they had noticed this the day before but had made no effort to contact anyone to let them know so other arrangements could be made.
Anyway there were no other rooms available so a few guys had to make do and get to know each other quite a bit better. We did negotiate free breakfast (although the chances of anyone making breakfast on a Stag are pretty negligible it’s the principle I suppose) and a couple of cases of free beer but that was after some negotiation.

Aside that the rooms were clean enough as was the bathroom. They vary quite a lot in size and comfort so if you do stay here and are not happy with the one you are given then try to get moved. Also this place is a bit of a rabbit warren. It probably has been built bit by bit and there are stairs everywhere so be prepared for a climb.

Weirdly there is a small bar in reception but no toilet, you have to go to your room to pee! Our room was also not cleaned while we were there (2 nights) even though we were out all day. Not even clean towels.

Location is ok. Its 10-15 minutes to the Reeperbahn and the Hamburger Strasse is on the way there. Dunno about getting into town proper apart from to the main station where a taxi was less than 10 euros. Taxis are cheap in Hamburg but then I live in Amsterdam where the minimum charge is 7.50 euros and the taxis are officially the most expensive in the world apparently.

It seems this hotel is mainly used for stag parties etc so if you are looking at a romantic weekend break then go elsewhere. If it’s just a place to rest your weary drunken head then go for it. Its definitely not the best run hotel in the world.

  • Stayed: June 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank RonaldoC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 February 2008

aside from the really great location, our stay here was awful from start to finish. Firstly, after 2 nights we had to go to another hotel because they had booked the room (a 3 person room) for one person for one night. When we checked back in we were put in a smaller room.
We told them prior to arrival that we did not want breakfast, however they told us we had paid for it and could have it. So we went tobreakfast only to be told in front of other guests that we hadn't paid. We then had to speak (in german) to explain what they had told us and that it wasn't our fault. There was a lot of whispering that we couldn't understand which was also very rude.
Then our shower broke and flooded our room, we told them but nobody came so we kept using the shower and blocked the door with a towel. When they finally came to fix the problem (one day after telling them) it was only because it was leaking downstairs. Finally, to embed the fact that the hotel was so bad, they tried to make us check out a day early. They hadn't written down our extra night that we had booked a day before, so we ended up having to spend the last of our holiday money paying for an extra night.
Don't go here.

  • Stayed: September 2007, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank ruthindia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 December 2007

Having read the reviews below, I was a bit nervous booking the Budapesterhof but the location and price were the deciding factors. And.....I'm glad I booked it. Overall, I think you'd struggle to find a hotel as good as this, for an average of £20 per night. Yes, there were a couple of small irritating issues - the laminated flooring really doesn't provide any sound insulation, there was no telephone in the room etc.
But, for the most part, the room was just fine. Beds were comfortable, shower was great (hot water all the time, but may take a while to work its way through the pipes to your room), we couldn't hear much road noise. We were in a room towards the back of the hotel, looking out to the side road - room B3 - so it might be worth requesting one of these if outside noise bothers you.
The location is great, 5 mins walk to the nearest U-bahn stop, or you can walk into town in about 20 mins or so. There are decent restaurants and bars within a couple of minutes walk, and the Reeperbahn is 10 minutes away. One word of warning - do take a decent map with you, the roads are not particularly logical and quite often bend unexpectedly so you may find yourself (as we did) very lost in the pouring rain, as a road we thought would take us back to the hotel, didn't!

Stayed: December 2007
1  Thank kicki21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 October 2007

My friend and I stayed at the Budapester Hof Hotel for three nights. It's located in a nice area, about 20mins walkin from the main city centre - nice scenery along the way!
We stayed in a twin-private room. We found our room to be clean, neat and tidy on arrival. Bedding and towels provided. All facilities in room worked well. e.g. hot shower. Room cleaning service/changing of towels available. Staff were very helpul and friendly. Breakfast each morning was fabulous.
Overall we had a great stay - no problems. Great value for money!
Would definantly come back again!

Stayed: August 2007
1  Thank kazam1927
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hamburg hotels
St. Pauli
Hotel 66
Hotel 66
#172 of 321 in Hamburg
61 reviews
St. Pauli
St. Joseph Hotel
St. Joseph Hotel
#157 of 321 in Hamburg
93 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
St. Pauli
Hotel Imperial
Hotel Imperial
#149 of 321 in Hamburg
97 reviews
St. Pauli
Commodore
Commodore
#177 of 321 in Hamburg
112 reviews
St. Pauli
Holiday Inn Express Hamburg - St. Pauli Messe
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Budapester Hof? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Budapester Hof

Address: Budapester Str. 43, 20359 Hamburg, Germany
Region: Germany > Hamburg > St. Pauli
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #136 of 321 Hotels in Hamburg
Price Range: £50 - £114 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Budapester Hof 2*
Number of rooms: 45
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Hotel Budapester Hof.Our unique hotel is located in the heart of Hamburg with various cafes, bars and restaurants in the immediate area. Attractions such as the world famous harbor of Hamburg, the church St. Michaelis, the Reeperbahn and the exhibition halls are also within walking distance. The city center with its beautiful lake is a few metro stops away.We offer comfortable single rooms, double rooms and spacious apartments. The rooms are provided with shower or bathtub, toilet and hairdryer. Our guests can benefit from free Wireless LAN in the hotel lobby.To get the day started we offer at the Budapester Hof a rich breakfast buffet with a variety of cheese and assorted cold cuts, eggs, cereals, fresh fruit, juices and much more. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), HostelWorld, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Budapester Hof reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Budapester Hof Hotel
Budapester Hof Hamburg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing