We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hotel am Rothenbaum
Nearby Hotels
US$282
US$139
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$243
US$174
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
US$192
US$149
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$155
US$131
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$183
US$158
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$212
US$195
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$116
US$109
NH Hotels
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Apartment-Hotel Hamburg Mitte(Hamburg)(Great Value!)
US$130
US$101
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Ibis Budget Hamburg City(Hamburg)(Great Value!)
US$103
ibis Budget
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
US$184
US$126
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (74)
Filter reviews
74 results
Traveller rating
18
37
16
2
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
18
37
16
2
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsnice neighborhoodsized bedalster lakeeuros per nightsmall hotelwinebarsubwaybathroomcarpetcity
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
16 - 21 of 74 reviews
Reviewed 17 May 2013

Room and bathroom were small but absolutely spotless. Bed was very comfy. All the hotel staff were really friendly and helpful. Location was great with a station nearby and cafes/restaurants opposite.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank nasserie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 April 2013

This hotel's location is excellent, right next to the city's subway and a 10-minute walk from the nearest S-bahn station. It is located on a very nice and safe neighborhood with lots of cafés and supermarkets. The staff is nice and helpful. The room was very clean and contrary to what I have read in some of the reviews, the room I have stayed in had a very spacious bathroom. The hotel had free Wi-fi overall and the iPod/iPhone dock was a very nice touch. The only detail I did not like was the carpet, which is good in terms of noise, but terrible for allergies, despite appearing rather clean. I would recommend this hotel, but only for a short stay as the rooms were not that cheap; the rate I had (around 70 Euros per night) did not even include breakfast, but there were not too many affordable options at the time I have been in Hamburg.

Room Tip: The room I have stayed in was on the top floor and it was rather comfy and silent
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank izzolda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 April 2013

Nice area to stay in. You can walk around and have a simple dinner in one of the small restaurants in the street.
The room is warm, even with the window open. Bed is very good and the pillow is (German standard) very thin.
The bathroom is a bit impractical... You can't sit on the toilet... You have to sideways, because there isn't room enough for your body. To get in the whower, you have to 'climb' between the toilet and the sink, which are both half in front of the shower...
Breakfast was very nice and service very helpfull.
If the layout of the bathroom was a bit more practical, I certainly would go back. I stayed with a colleague, who had the same layout and issue with it.

Stayed: April 2013, travelled on business
1  Thank RvGeel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 April 2013

Stayed three nights recently at this hotel. Staff were really friendly, nothing was too much trouble. It makes such a difference when the staff look like they like serving guests and they smile at you. Rooms were fresh, clean and well soundproofed from the nearby road. Hotel had a nice wine bar (guests get a voucher for a free welcome glass of wine) which doubled as the breakfast room. Breakfast was good and was a help yourself buffet. Area is full of restaurants , bars , coffee shops and the Hotel is less than 100 meters from an U-Bahn Stop which whisks you into the city in 6 mins or to the airport ( with one change) in around 30 mins. Only ten minutes walk from the Alster lake where you can walk, drink coffee or take a boat ride. A really nice hotel.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank paulgarynixon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 April 2013

We stayed at this hotel during the Easter holidays. The location is perfect -> opposite the U-Bahn that goes into the city. Nearby there are restaurants, bars and bakeries.
Staff were very friendly and helpful! Our room was modern and quite stylish; not big, but we were only there to sleep and shower.
Bath room was clean, had good lighting and just right. Price was OK for this season.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Katzisch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews