We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Hotel near Hamburg Congress Centre”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hotel Bellmoor im Dammtorpalais
Ranked #271 of 318 Hotels in Hamburg
County Cork, Ireland
Level Contributor
124 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
“Hotel near Hamburg Congress Centre”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 July 2014 via mobile

Stayed at the Hotel Bellmoor I'm Dammtorpaleis over 4 nights to attend a Fair and Conference. The arrangement of a number of "independent" hotels located over a few floors in the same building is unusual but seems to work. The room was functional and clean - nothing special but matched the rate per night adequately.

Stayed April 2014
Helpful?
Thank Gavin W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

44 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    5
    8
    14
    10
    7
See reviews for
4
10
5
22
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Amersfoort, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
20 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 January 2014

I stayed at the Bellmoor hotel for 5 nights to attend the CCC (Chaos Computer Club) conference in the very nearby CCH (Congress Center Hamburg). The hotel satisfied all my needs (actually bed and breakfast), as most of the day and evening I was busy at the conference, and thus had no time to play around or to sightsee the city. It is located on the 3rd and 4th floor of the Dammtor Palais building, together with 4 other hotels. The age of the building shows in the hallways with cracking floors when one walks along the room on both sides, but no such noises can be heard in the rooms itself. Everything is clean and the usual utensils (soap, towels, hair dryer, etc) are provided.

Earlier reviews about this hotel forewarned my about a tiny bathroom, but I did not have that much problems with it. The shower and the toilet allowed for ample elbowing room (I am 1.85 m), but indeed a bit less than the usual. The washbasin, however, could only be used while leaving the bathroom door open. On one hand a bit inconvenient, but on the other hand cleverly placed. They did the best they could within the space available, in my opinion, given the existing inner walls in the ancient (around 1900) building.

An other uncommon thing, also forewarned by earlier reviewers, was how breakfast was organized. Contrary to the usual buffet with a large assortment of bread and filling, you get a basket with bread and a plate with two slices of cheese and three slices of meat served at your table. As said, it was unusual, but given the available space in the breakfast room, I (again) think it is an efficient setup, maybe not by choice but driven by the constraints of the building. Luckily, staff was very helpful, and had no problems when you asked for some extra.

The only problem I had was Internet access. I happened to have a room far away from the center of the building, and the WiFi signal proved rather weak. As an experienced traveler, I always carry a WiFi extender with me, which I could plug in the hallway and thus solved my problem for most of the time. This was sufficient for web browsing and e-mail. There is room for improvement, while streaming video or music showed hiccups every now and then. Also there were moments that the signal dropped to an unbearable minimum, regardless of my WiFi extender. Signal restored by itself after some time, however. For a new booking I can only recommend to ask for a room nearby the center of the building.

All in all, when comparing with the nearby 5-star Elysee hotel I had a year ago, there is no reason at all to complain. Albeit noticeable that Bellmoor is just a 3-star hotel, for a conference visitor like myself there is no time for playing around in the sauna, gym or similar facilities usually offered by 5-star hotels. Bellmoor's bed-and-breakfast function proved sufficient for me, regardless of the small issues described above. (By the way: WiFi Internet in Elysee was a bit flakey too.) And last but not least, the choice for this hotel saved me EUR 65 per night, compared with the Elysee hotel I had in December 2012, the latter in fact being a waste of money by paying for a lot of 5-star facilities that I didn't need.

Room Tip: When WiFi Internet is important for you, ask for a room nearby the center of the building, otherwise...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JvH48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
239 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 117 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 September 2013

The location was a surprise, as there were several hotels under the same roof, this one with 30+ rooms. We booked at short notice without any expectations except good location. The friendliness of the welcome, very pleasant room,decor, great breakfast all went to make our one night memorable. A charming, pleasant place to stay, well located, free public parking (if you can find it key = patience) We will return, when next in Hamburg. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Paraffle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Granada, Spain
Level Contributor
52 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 September 2013

The hotel was chosen for its location and relatively economic price with a private bath and breakfast. I found the staff to be incredibly friendly and helpful. The room was small but comfortable. Breakfast was also more than adequate for my needs, and the location was perfect for me since it was next to the university as well as near the center of town. My only real complaint was the fact that Internet did not work for most of my stay. Although the manager sincerely tried to fix the problem, he was unable to. The only alternative was to sit in the hallway and use the wifi connection from another nearby hotel.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pamela F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland
Level Contributor
50 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 September 2011

This hotel is pleasant and the staff are firendly but the rooms are a little dated and match the period of the building. The breakfast was nice. It has a very good location, walking distance from the city centre. If you are arriving by car it can be quite difficult to find a carpark around here. The lift is very slow and it's quicker to walk down the stairs.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SeanAuckland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambridge
Level Contributor
35 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 August 2011

- Very good rates at the time of the booking (ca. €70/night including Breakfast)
- Conveniently located close to the congress centre + S-Bahn
- Spacious & Comfortable bedrooms
- Generous German style breakfast
- Very friendly service and helpful
- Wireless internet was temperemental and did not work for most of us staying there
- Would certainly come back

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dominoscript
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LANCASHIRE
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 May 2011

Not a bad hotel given the location in a major city . The rates, although seeming a
little high for the size of the room and rather old bathroom facilities, are probably just
about acceptable. The outstanding feature of the Bellmoor was the attention of the reception staff(special mention for Helen who took time to converse with my son in German which he is studying) who were most helpful which you sometimes do not
find in big city hotels.Certainly would return for short stay trip anyway.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TERRIERS55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hamburg hotels
Eimsbüttel
Hotel Preuss
Hotel Preuss
#224 of 318 in Hamburg
3.5 of 5 bubbles 23 reviews
Eimsbüttel
Hotel Wagner im Dammtorpalais
Rotherbaum
Vorbach Hotel
Vorbach Hotel
#103 of 318 in Hamburg
4.0 of 5 bubbles 158 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Rotherbaum
Amsterdam Hotel
Amsterdam Hotel
#215 of 318 in Hamburg
3.5 of 5 bubbles 56 reviews
Rotherbaum
Hotel Fresena Im Dammtorpalais
Hotel Alster-Hof
#63 of 318 in Hamburg
4.0 of 5 bubbles 274 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Bellmoor im Dammtorpalais? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Bellmoor im Dammtorpalais

Property: Hotel Bellmoor im Dammtorpalais
Address: Moorweidenstr. 34, 20146 Hamburg, Germany
Region: Germany > Hamburg > Rotherbaum
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #271 of 318 Hotels in Hamburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Bellmoor im Dammtorpalais 3*
Number of rooms: 34
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda, Ebookers, Traveltool, S.L.U. and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Bellmoor im Dammtorpalais reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing