We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“das hotel centrum Hamburg” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Novum Style Hotel Hamburg-Centrum

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Novum Style Hotel Hamburg-Centrum
Ranked #89 of 318 Hotels in Hamburg
hastings
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“das hotel centrum Hamburg”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 February 2013

Located within ten minutes walk of the central station in Hamburg, this is a modern, stylish hotel. The rooms are fairly compact but with modern flat screen tv built into the facials on the wall, modern built in furniture makes the rooms pleasing to the eye and comfortable. Spotlessly clean and well maintained, bedding is fresh and white and well presented. En suit is a walk in shower and modern suit with brown tiles, again spotless and liquid soap available free. The hotel offers a good buffet breakfast but at a fairly pricey 9·5€. If on a budget there are places locally to eat at a cheaper rate. The staff were efficient and you can store your luggage for free if you arrive early.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nickysc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

633 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    97
    335
    141
    40
    20
See reviews for
91
282
43
74
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Berlin
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 February 2013

Quite new hotel.
Plus: Central location, close to the main train station, subway, art museums, shopping street Mönckebergstrasse.
Good selection for breakfast in a nice & stylish restaurant area (highly recommended to book unless you want to look desperately for a place in the morning). Rooms are small, but modern and very clean.
Minus: Surrounded by fast food, low quality restaurants, pawn shops, casinos and sex shops (I was traveling with a minor...)
Terrible, very hard mattress (see reviews by other travelers).

Summary: Good value for a good price. Comparable to the MotelOne chain. Not recommended for families with small children.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank laberlin2002
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aylesbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
80 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 January 2013

We stayed here for a weekend break in early December so we could visit the many Christmas markets Hamburg has to offer.
The hotel is only a 5 minute walk from the main train station for the S and U bahn. S bahn provides direct access to Hamburg airport in 30 minutes. Our total transfer from airport to hotel including baggage reclaim, purchasing travel pass for the weekend, S bahn and walk to hotel took only 65 minutes.
Most u bahn lines go through the Hauptbanhof, so getting around the city is easy from here.
We walked to the start of the main shopping area in less than 10 minutes.
As many reviewers have already said, the street the hotel is on does have its fair share of sex shops, but it is hardly the Reeperbahn and we never felt unsafe or intimadated, even late at night.
We arrived at the hotel at about midday and the room wasn't ready, not a problem, we left our cases in the secure left luggage room and explored the City.
We booked a double "style" room which is the medium size and provided enough space for the 2 of us including luggage storage.
Bed was very comfortable, but we did ask for extra pillows (1 each is provided, but they are a little thin) these were delivered to the room in a timely manner. Room is very clean and tastefully decorated in modern light brown hues with lime green accents.
The bathroom again was spotlessly clean and an adequate size, although the shower cubicle is a bit small and larger guests could possibly find this problematic.
We did not have breakfast in the hotel, so cannot make a comment on it. The Turkish restaurant next door serves a good variety of food at reasonable prices.
We did make use of the hotel bar one evening, it has the perfect ambience for chilling out after an exhausting day sightseeing. There are long sofas with lots of cushions and really cool colour changing mood lighting.
There is a computer in the reception which can be used free of charge, very handy for checking in for the flight home, but there isn't a printer, so you will still need to print out at the airport.
Would not hesitate to return if we are ever back in Hamburg.

Room Tip: Worth the extra for a medium size room
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank anjoco69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston
Level Contributor
25 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 January 2013

We made the mistake of looking at the website and seeing modern rooms in a central location and a very cheap rate if booked well in advance. When we arrived the hotel obviously is centrally located (even if not in the best neighborhood) but the room that is advertised at that rate is a shoe box. The room is so small that you can't even store your luggage and barely walk around the bed. The bathroom was tiny. When using the toilet the sink was nearly in the way. Our room also smelled like smoke even though they say all of their rooms are non-smoking. When we mentioned that to the reception they just said "Sorry but it seems somebody did not adhere to the "No Smoking". Well I understand that some people still do, but it should be our problem. When we asked to upgrade to a bigger room, they charged us 25 Euros per night. That room was bigger and the bathroom was bigger too (still not huge but better). The bathroom in this room had a shower curtain but the shower was a little to small for that so that the shower curtain kept sticking to us when showering (and we are both not huge). For the 25 Euros on top of our room rate per night we definately could have booked a better hotel. Parking is expensive as well if you want to use their parking garage (if they even have something available). Parking in the area otherwise is a nightmare.
On the good side: The rooms were quiet even if to the main street (as long as you leave the windows closed. So not sure how that works in the summer time). The WiFi Internet was free and worked well in our second room. When in the economy room the signal was very week and we often had to go into the hallway to get a signal. The little turkish restaurant on the corner was basically open 24/7 with good food and reasonable prices. The rooms were modern and you could walk to the main train station.

Room Tip: If you are on a budget and don't mind tiny rooms, then go for the economy option. If you are pre...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SarahTX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Hamburg hotels

Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 January 2013

We booked this hotel for 4 nights, but left after two. It looks stylish and cool and the rooms were clean, so the first night we were quite happy, although we were wondering about the strange people we saw in the lobby (pimps?) and elevator (clients?). The neighbourhood is definitely unsafe so we felt we had to be careful going outside (especially walking around after dark you can see this is a seedy red light area). The second night we were wondering about the intensive traffic in the room next to us... we heard the sound of the locker opening and closing the whole night and unfortunately that was not the only sound that kept us awake... in the morning we saw the girl leave by herself and although I do not like judging on appearences I will make an exception this time. I think the fact the the reception is completely ignoring you when you walk in or out the hotel shows that they probably realise who they rent there rooms out to. We felt did not feel safe anymore and left: they did not even ask us why we decided to cut our stay short...

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
7 Thank joandjoontour
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St. Petersburg, Russia
Level Contributor
504 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 296 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 January 2013

As many travelers already mentioned, the hotel is situated just 10 min walking away from Central Railway station, which makes it perfect base for those who use Hamburg to explore bigger part of the North Germany!
Our room was cool decorated and comfortable, and if it would half meter wider I could say it was perfect! But the fact that we had to wait till one of us crosses the room and only then other one can do the same (no space for two between the bed and table) does not allow me to rate it with the highest score =)
Beds were good, pillows could be a bit smaller (my personal issue).
In general, I liked the hotel, it worth the price!

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank VasilyMalygin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 December 2012

I found this hotel to be in a great location, in walking distance (or a short taxi ride!) from the train station. I've seen some comments about nearby sex shops, but it wasn't a problem. We found the hotel to be very clean and modern and value for money.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank nicole p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hamburg hotels
St. Georg
Novum Hotel Eleazar Hamburg City Center
St. Georg
Novum Hotel Graf Moltke Hamburg
ARCOTEL Rubin
#62 of 318 in Hamburg
4.0 of 5 bubbles 651 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
St. Georg
Novum Hotel Hamburg Stadtzentrum
Hammerbrook
Novum Hotel Belmondo Hamburg Hauptbahnhof
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Novum Style Hotel Hamburg-Centrum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Novum Style Hotel Hamburg-Centrum

Property: Novum Style Hotel Hamburg-Centrum
Address: Steindamm 68-70, 20099 Hamburg, Germany (Formerly DAS Hotel Hamburg-Centrum)
Region: Germany > Hamburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #89 of 318 Hotels in Hamburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Novum Style Hotel Hamburg-Centrum 3.5*
Number of rooms: 169
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With the concept of "Design and Style Hotel", a new brand was created. Centrally located in the lively St. Georg district-scene, you can expect the low-budget design hotel with 169 rooms. All rooms feature a 32 `` Flat-screen TV, free Wi-Fi, room safe and work desk with seating. The hotel covers 6 floors, which were named after Hamburg's popular districts. For recreation, we offer our guests the sauna with sun terrace. In particular, the hotel offers business and leisure travelers comfort at a fair price. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotel.de, Hotels.com, Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Novum Style Hotel Hamburg-Centrum reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Accord Novum Hotel
Accord Novum Hamburg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing