We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Two nights in Hamburg”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Novum Style Hotel Hamburg-Centrum
Ranked #106 of 321 Hotels in Hamburg
Reviewed 30 August 2014

My son and I decided on a few days away on our own.
We stayed in this Hotel.
The room was clean but very small. At the bottom of the bed the wardrobe doors couldn't open fully for the bed. The room was boiling hot. Two windows but no air conditioning. A real miss in the circumstances. Breakfast was very nice and staff very helpful.
A wee warning, a bottle of water was on the bedroom table with a large 'Welcome' sign. Unfortunately for us we didn't see the note below -€4.
Outside our window was an area used for a communal get together until about 2.00am each morning.
From the hotel back to the railway station is not the best area in the world where we were addressed by prostitutes.
However, crossing the street in front of the hotel and walking ahead for about 5 minutes brought us to a lovely area with many bars and restaurants. Very nice indeed.

Room Tip: High room away from railway side.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Tourist01Escocia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (686)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

105 - 111 of 686 reviews

Reviewed 23 August 2014

I stayed on this hotel for 3 nights during a business trip to Hamburg. The service was very friendly and kind , good enough English to understand each other. the room itself was a little small but very clean and functional. the design is modern and nice.

two things you should take into consideration:

1. the location of the hotel is central and close to the main train station which is good. taking a taxi to the touristic attractions want cost you much (and you can take the underground as well). BUT - the neighborhood in which the hotel resides is problematic. in-front of the hotel there's a casino , and not of the fancy kind.
another issue - this is a Muslim area so the street is not very friendly to Jews or Israelis, We got non-friendly looks after silently speaking Hebrew right outside of the hotel.

2. As stated in the web site there is no air conditioning. I don't know when is it relevant since we visited the hotel in August and it was already cold outside.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Shachar_B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 August 2014 via mobile

This is a really good hotel. I am saying this because it is a new hotel, with new furniture, flat screen TV, what else could you want in a 3 star hotel? Electric kettle is also provided, alongwith double glazed, soundproofed windows.
The location, I would say was good, on the basis of distance to the main tourist attractions and the Hamburg Hbf. It also has excellent restaurants, most of which are Halal, which would be of a concern to Muslim tourists. However, it is also true that the location is not 'clean', as it has many adult shops. But it should also be noted that it is not really a problem, and personally to me it was totally not a trouble. (By the way, the area was not worse than that in Paris, not even close, so it shouldn't be a problem).
On the other hand, however, one person of the staff was rude. The quality of the pillows was just average. Yet, this was an excellent hotel, and I would recommend it. Hope this helps!

Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
Thank Sara U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 July 2014

I chose this hotel due to its proximity to the central station and my lack of knowledge of Hamburg. I was visiting to see Miniatur Wunderland and in Hamburg for only three days so we wanted to have a quick walk to the metro etc.
The neighbourhood could be a little off putting to the solo traveller, the reserved or a family. However if you like Turkish food or the 'adult' entertainment industry, you will be fine!
The hotel is smart, the room was clean and the bathroom nice.
The main disappointment was the lack of air conditioning or alternative ventilation.
We were on the third floor and the road was very noisy. Had the windows open all day to try and ventilate the room but the heat became unbearable by the end.
The lack of air conditioning was very difficult to adapt to and a fan in the room would have been welcome.
It's a shame as there is the potential there but for the amount I paid, I am disappointed.

Room Tip: Ask for a room facing away from the road and possibly on a higher floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank lozzi47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 June 2014

stayed over for a night. clean and beautiful room, stylish decoration. very close to the central railway station, can go on foot. kind receptionists. unfortunately I had to leave early in the morning before breakfast.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ola w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 June 2014

DAS Hotel is located right in St. Georg quarter, which used to be (in)famous for drugs. Well, the situation got better, but still you might walk past passed out persons.
I only spent a night here, which was ok. The only thing that bothered me, was the missing AC. My room faced the street and it would have been too loud to leave the window open.
The shower is quite small, but since I´m rather slim, I just fitted in, without having to touch the shower curtains too much.
Breakfast is basic, but ok for the price of under 10 Euro.

Room Tip: if you want a quit room, try to get one in the back
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Marchlewski
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 June 2014

Was perhaps expecting more based on the reviews and website and the relatively high price at the time of my booking.
Rooms are nicely decorated, but are far from being perfect.
- No air con (noisy if windows opened)
- No fridge (so cannot keep any beverages cool)
- Amenities unexisting. (Just a soap dispenser. Tissus papers are even not provided)
- Room is not functionnal. The desk is very narrow and the seat is squezzed between bed and desk.
- Shower very narrow. Can't move or bend in there without touching the curtain. Since I assume the curtain is not washed after each guest, I can't imagine on how many other customers body this curtain has been sticking to!!!
- Pillows are flat and useless.
- Did not like the fact that my stay had to be paid in full and upfront during the check in. Not very friendly practice... Are many customers running away without paying their stay??
- Breakfast comes extra, although it's decent food and choice for the price paid.
(the lady there monitoring the entrance is very friendly)
Overall not a bad choice but perhaps too expensive and not welcoming enough.
For a bit less money, the Motel 1 rooms are more practical and functionnal.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cabbagetowntoronto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hamburg hotels
St. Georg
Novum Hotel Hamburg Stadtzentrum
ARCOTEL Rubin
#58 of 321 in Hamburg
740 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
St. Georg
Best Western Plus Hotel St. Raphael
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Novum Style Hotel Hamburg-Centrum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Novum Style Hotel Hamburg-Centrum

Address: Steindamm 68-70, 20099 Hamburg, Germany (Formerly DAS Hotel Hamburg-Centrum)
Region: Germany > Hamburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #106 of 321 Hotels in Hamburg
Price Range: £27 - £133 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Novum Style Hotel Hamburg-Centrum 3.5*
Number of rooms: 169
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With the concept of "Design and Style Hotel", a new brand was created. Centrally located in the lively St. Georg district-scene, you can expect the low-budget design hotel with 169 rooms. All rooms feature a 32 `` Flat-screen TV, free Wi-Fi, room safe and work desk with seating. The hotel covers 6 floors, which were named after Hamburg's popular districts. For recreation, we offer our guests the sauna with sun terrace. In particular, the hotel offers business and leisure travelers comfort at a fair price. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Agoda, Ebookers, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Novum Style Hotel Hamburg-Centrum reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Accord Novum Hotel
Accord Novum Hamburg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing